Archives
Current Year

The Most Beautiful Swiss Books of the year 2004

Louis Khan Dhaka. Construction / Raymond Meier (2 Bde.). Photography: Raphael Hefti
© FOC

365: Aiga Year in Design 24. Photography: Raphael Hefti
© FOC

Aggressivität, Zärtlichkeit und Sexualität. Photography: Raphael Hefti
© FOC

Auf der Hochebene und andere Orte (Werkausgabe). Photography: Raphael Hefti
© FOC

Aura/ Glamour. Photography: Raphael Hefti
© FOC

Beauty and the Book. Photography: Raphael Hefti
© FOC

Blendwerk. Photography: Raphael Hefti
© FOC

Buchstaben, Bilder, Bytes. Das Projekt Wahrnehmung. Photography: Raphael Hefti
© FOC

Die Chinesische Wespe. Geschichte einer Liebe, die ihren Fortgang nimmt. Photography: Raphael Hefti
© FOC

Design und Architektur: Studium und Beruf. Photography: Raphael Hefti
© FOC

Diplom 04. Photography: Raphael Hefti
© FOC

Drei Umbaustrategien- Die Zürcher Verwaltungsbauten von Gustav Gull. Photography: Raphael Hefti
© FOC

Ecal Graphic Design. Photography: Raphael Hefti
© FOC

Felice Varini- Points of View. Photography: Raphael Hefti
© FOC

Frische Schriften. Photography: Raphael Hefti
© FOC

Die Geborene. Photography: Raphael Hefti
© FOC

Globus Cassus. Photography: Raphael Hefti
© FOC

Im Rausch der Dinge. Photography: Raphael Hefti
© FOC

Intersection: 4 cities/ 360 people. Photography: Raphael Hefti
© FOC

Liberté à quatre sous. Photography: Raphael Hefti
© FOC

Mark Leckey, 7 Windmill Street W1. Photography: Raphael Hefti
© FOC

Nicht bei Trost- a never ending Haiku. Photography: Raphael Hefti
© FOC

O.T. Ein Ersatzbuch / Das Schauspielhaus Zürich 2000-2004. Photography: Raphael Hefti
© FOC

Oh, No, No... – The Crystal Series. Photography: Raphael Hefti
© FOC

Olafur Eliasson. Minding the world. Photography: Raphael Hefti
© FOC

Parkett – 20 years of artists' collaborations. Photography: Raphael Hefti
© FOC

Produktionsweisen. Photography: Raphael Hefti
© FOC

Schwarz auf Weiss. Zeichnerischer Realismus - zeitgenössische Positionen. Photography: Raphael Hefti
© FOC

SILEX No. 20 – This is the end. Photography: Raphael Hefti
© FOC

Starving for embarrassing architecture. Photography: Raphael Hefti
© FOC

Swiss Design 2004. Photography: Raphael Hefti
© FOC

Vom Letten bis Rimini. Geschichte und Gegenwart der Zürcher See-und Flussbäder. Photography: Raphael Hefti
© FOC

Waldi. Photography: Raphael Hefti
© FOC

About the awarded year

Mirjam Fischer

 

There was a gratifyingly high number of books consisting of text among the 33 entries selected as The most beautiful Swiss books published in 2004. This year, 400 publications were received by the Swiss Federal Office of Culture, more than ever before. Thus the book design competition, which has been held every year since 1999 by the Art and Design Section of the BAK under the auspices of the Swiss Federal Department of the Interior (EDI), has once again established a new record. Under the presidency of François Rappo, of Lausanne, this year the seven-member jury again consisted of competent professionals from different branches of book design. The jury judged the entries on the basis of their concept, graphic design and typography, the technical level of the printing and binding, and the quality of the bookbinding and materials used. Consideration was also given to originality and innovation.

 

Independently of the books entered in the competition, the jury also awarded the Jan Tschichold Prize. With this prize the EDI has the opportunity every year to honour a person, group or institution for outstanding achievement in the field of book design. This year the Jan Tschichold Prize in the amount of CHF 15,000 was awarded to Elektrosmog (Valentin Hindermann and Marco Walser) in Zurich. They have been comitted for a number of years in the field of book design, and with their exceptional book projects they constantly give proof of the independent and brilliant language of their graphic art. The jury members also selected a ‘Book of the Jury’, which this year was a book of photography entitled Louis Kahn Dhaka, Construction – Raymond Meier (20), published by Edition Dino Simonett, a volume which presents and portrays the government building of Dhaka in Bangladesh in an impressive manner.

 

It is especially gratifying that this year three Swiss contributions were awarded a prize at the international design competition ‘The Most Beautiful Books in the World’ in Leipzig. An international jury judged 638 books from 31 countries and awarded the ‘Golden Letter’, a gold medal, two silver medals, five bronze medals and five diplomas of honour. One of the bronze medals went to the book entitled Vom Letten bis Rimini (32), a specialised book about the history and present of the lake and river bathing areas of Zurich, and one of the 5 diplomas of honour was awarded to Olafur Eliasson – Minding the World (25), an exhibition and artist’s catalogue produced with remarkable fresh-ness of design and outstanding printing. And to crown all, the gold medal was won by Christian Waldvogel – Globus Cassus (16), an unconventional exhibition catalogue about a visionary architecture for expanding the earth. The book convinced the jury by the choice of binding material, the typography, the colours and the illustrations, both as to its contents and design.

 

With the present catalogue, The most beautiful Swiss books 2004, you are now receiving an exceptional product, which could not have been produced without the generous support of the producers of all the prize-winning books: the bookbinder firm of Burkhardt, the paper firms Arctic Paper Schweiz AG, Antalis AG, Inapa Switzerland AG, Sihl+Eika AG and Fischer Papier AG, as well as the printing firm of Odermatt.

 

This catalogue, which is appearing at the opening of the exhibition, was formulated and designed this year for the first time by Laurent Benner (Reala). The design concept is intended to thematise the books, particularly in respect of their printing and materiality, thus accentuating and visualising certain very specific aspects of book production. For this purpose we have worked closely together with the printers and paper suppliers, and have been able to assemble and include eight (original) pages from all the prize-winning books from their corresponding printers in Switzerland, Germany, the Czech Republic and Lebanon in this unique publication.

 

We have had great pleasure in the wide interest and generous support which has been given to us from all sides with the presentation of ‘The most beautiful Swiss books 2004’, and we wish you the same great pleasure in reading them.

Jan-Tschichold Award

Jan Tschichold Prize awarded to Elektrosmog:
Valentin Hindermann and Marco Walser

 

Already during their time of study (1994-1998) at the School of Art and Design Zurich (HGKZ), Valentin Hindermann (b.l966) and Marco Walser (b.l973) produced projects of their own in the field of commercial art design. After the completion of their training they founded a joint studio and named it Elektrosmog. Their work focuses on assignments in the field of the visual arts. One important project in Elektrosmog's history where both designers gained experience with booklet formats was the re-designing of the art magazine material of the Migros Museum in Zurich. Each of the three issues of this publication designed by Elektrosmog for presenting international contemporary art was distinguished for the innovative use of pictorial material; the designers undertook hold experiments in the field of typefaces, which made this publication - unfortunately now discontinued - a treasure trove of creative richness.

 

With Argovian Sun, a book devoted to the work of Andreas Dobler, Elektrosmog presented an artist's book for the first time in 2002. Patrick Frey, a dedicated publisher of numerous art publications, gave the order for this project. Argovian Sun, in which texts, newspaper clippings, photos and pictures of Dobler are combined, affered Elektrosmog the opportunity to include inspirational material from Dobler's archives and treat it in the same way as the artist's finished pictures. A year later, the book Supercritical Fluids, designed by Elektrosmog, in which the pictorial work of the painter Hanspeter Hofmann is shown, was awarded a prize in the competition 'The most beautiful Swiss books'. At the same time it received the rating 'Book of the Jury'. In this project, their second artist's book, the designers succeeded in presenting Hoffmann's exceptionally rich and subtle artistic work despite small picture formats. Dobler's and Hoffmann's works have both been exhibited in the Glarus Art Museum, for whose design presence Elektrosmog has been responsible for several years in a convincing fashion, despite limited financial means.

 

In the framework of a competition, Elektrosmog was able to assist the Swiss Federal Office of Culture in creating a new, variable concept for information materials to accompany its supportive measures in the field of design: Elektrosmog developed a system of transparent plastic folders which are differently designed, colour and text-wise, yet are recognizable as an overall system. The transparent folders each contain the relevant, updated rules and instructions that are also graphically worked on by other designers. In the course of its collaboration with the SFOC, Elektrosmog succeeded in developing the design concept of a newly created publication in the field of design and produced the yearbook of the 'Swiss Federal Design Competition' for three consecutive years. Twice in succession (2003 and 2004) Elektrosmog's catalogue for the competition 'The most beautiful Swiss books' was awarded a prize. Designed in the same format three times, the aim was to treat the theoretical and the catalogue sections according to different criteria. In the middle of the volumes entitled Swiss Design the products developed by young designers are included in a way permitting them each time to appear with other means of design and with different photo concepts.

 

Another award was won by Elektrosmog in 2004 with its design for the book published on the occasion of the 20th jubilee of the renowned art periodical Parkett. The history and importance of this important international journal induced the two designers to give the book a dense design in a witty and at the same time informative fashion. Elektrosmog succeeded in harmonizing different graphically playful forms also from outside the field of book design. In fact, its design language is always open to new solutions. Both designers attempt to develop products for the defined subject in an appropriately new way, each time approaching and getting the feel for an area or the work of an artist anew, from project to project.

 

With this year's Jan Tschichold Prize, the Jury is honouring a designer team that has attracted notice for a number of years with various exceptional book design projects. Elektrosmog has become especially distinguished for the extremely many-sided and undogmatic language of its graphic designs in each of its projects.

Archives
Année courante

Les plus beaux livres suisses de l'année 2004

Louis Khan Dhaka. Construction / Raymond Meier (2 Bde.). Photographie: Raphael Hefti
© OFC

365: Aiga Year in Design 24. Photographie: Raphael Hefti
© OFC

Aggressivität, Zärtlichkeit und Sexualität. Photographie: Raphael Hefti
© OFC

Auf der Hochebene und andere Orte (Werkausgabe). Photographie: Raphael Hefti
© OFC

Aura/ Glamour. Photographie: Raphael Hefti
© OFC

Beauty and the Book. Photographie: Raphael Hefti
© OFC

Blendwerk. Photographie: Raphael Hefti
© OFC

Buchstaben, Bilder, Bytes. Das Projekt Wahrnehmung. Photographie: Raphael Hefti
© OFC

Die Chinesische Wespe. Geschichte einer Liebe, die ihren Fortgang nimmt. Photographie: Raphael Hefti
© OFC

Design und Architektur: Studium und Beruf. Photographie: Raphael Hefti
© OFC

Diplom 04. Photographie: Raphael Hefti
© OFC

Drei Umbaustrategien- Die Zürcher Verwaltungsbauten von Gustav Gull. Photographie: Raphael Hefti
© OFC

Ecal Graphic Design. Photographie: Raphael Hefti
© OFC

Felice Varini- Points of View. Photographie: Raphael Hefti
© OFC

Frische Schriften. Photographie: Raphael Hefti
© OFC

Die Geborene. Photographie: Raphael Hefti
© OFC

Globus Cassus. Photographie: Raphael Hefti
© OFC

Im Rausch der Dinge. Photographie: Raphael Hefti
© OFC

Intersection: 4 cities/ 360 people. Photographie: Raphael Hefti
© OFC

Liberté à quatre sous. Photographie: Raphael Hefti
© OFC

Mark Leckey, 7 Windmill Street W1. Photographie: Raphael Hefti
© OFC

Nicht bei Trost- a never ending Haiku. Photographie: Raphael Hefti
© OFC

O.T. Ein Ersatzbuch / Das Schauspielhaus Zürich 2000-2004. Photographie: Raphael Hefti
© OFC

Oh, No, No... – The Crystal Series. Photographie: Raphael Hefti
© OFC

Olafur Eliasson. Minding the world. Photographie: Raphael Hefti
© OFC

Parkett – 20 years of artists' collaborations. Photographie: Raphael Hefti
© OFC

Produktionsweisen. Photographie: Raphael Hefti
© OFC

Schwarz auf Weiss. Zeichnerischer Realismus - zeitgenössische Positionen. Photographie: Raphael Hefti
© OFC

SILEX No. 20 – This is the end. Photographie: Raphael Hefti
© OFC

Starving for embarrassing architecture. Photographie: Raphael Hefti
© OFC

Swiss Design 2004. Photographie: Raphael Hefti
© OFC

Vom Letten bis Rimini. Geschichte und Gegenwart der Zürcher See-und Flussbäder. Photographie: Raphael Hefti
© OFC

Waldi. Photographie: Raphael Hefti
© OFC

Au sujet de l'année primée

Mirjam Fischer

 

Parmi les 33 plus beaux livres suisses distingués en cette année du livre 2004, on trouve un nombre réjouissant de livres de texte. Cette année, 400 publications ont été déposées auprès de l’Office fédéral de la culture (OFC): un nombre encore jamais atteint. Ainsi donc, la Section Art et Design de l’OFC, pour le concours qu’elle organise chaque année autour de l’art du livre, sur mandat du Département fédéral de l’intérieur (DFI), enregistre un nouveau record. Sous la présidence de François Rappo (Lausanne), le jury, qui compte sept membres, est constitué cette année encore de spécialistes compétents, venus des différentes disciplines de l’art du livre. Le jury évalue les envois en fonction de leur conception, de leur réalisation graphique et de leur typographie, mais aussi de leur réussite technique (qualité de l’impression et de la reliure, travail du relieur, matériaux utilisés). L’originalité et l’innovation sont des facteurs non moins importants.

 

Indépendamment des livres en lice pour le concours, le jury a décerné le prix Jan-Tschichold. Avec ce prix, le DFI trouve cette année encore l’occasion de distinguer une personnalité, un groupe ou une institution pour une réalisation de qualité supérieure dans le domaine de l’art du livre. Le prix Jan-Tschichold, d’un montant de 15?000 francs, va cette année à Elektrosmog (Valentin Hindermann et Marco Walser) à Zurich. Ces deux créateurs s’engagent depuis quelques années dans le domaine de l’art du livre, où leurs projets, qui sortent de l’ordinaire, donnent des preuves sans cesse renouvelées de l’indépendance et de la souveraineté de leur langage graphique. Les jurés ont également choisi un ‹livre du jury›. Il s’agit de Louis Kahn Dhaka, Construction – Raymond Meier (20), un album de photo-graphies publié aux Editions Dino Simonett, qui réalise de manière impressionnante la mise en scène et la description du bâtiment du gouvernement à Dhaka, au Bangladesh.

 

Un fait nous réjouit particulièrement: dans le concours international de design de Leipzig de cette année, ‹Les plus beaux livres du monde›, trois contributions suisses ont obtenu un prix. Un jury international, auquel étaient soumis 638 livres en provenance de 31 pays, attribuait la ‹lettre d’or›, une médaille d’or, deux médailles d’argent, cinq médailles de bronze et cinq diplômes d’honneur. Une des médailles de bronze est allée au titre Vom Letten bis Rimini (32) et distingue ainsi un livre consacré aux bains zurichois du passé et du présent, sur la rivière et sur le lac; un ouvrage réalisé avec beaucoup de finesse, dans sa typographie et son matériau. Un des diplômes d’honneur a récompensé le catalogue d’exposition et catalogue d’artiste Olafur Eliasson – Minding the World (25) dont la compo sition est d’une grande fraîcheur, et l’impression remarquable. Pour couronner le tout, Christian Waldvogel – Globus Cassus (16), un catalogue d’exposition non conventionnel consacré à l’architecture visionnaire d’une Terre élargie, a remporté la médaille d’or. Le livre a convaincu le jury international par le matériau de sa reliure, sa typographie, la qualité de ses couleurs et le choix de ses images; le contenu comme la forme ont emporté l’adhésion.

 

Avec le présent catalogue, Les plus beaux livres suisses 2004, vous avez entre les mains un produit exceptionnel, qui n’aurait pu être réalisé sans le généreux soutien des imprimeurs de tous les livres primés, du relieur Burkhardt, des entreprises Arctic Paper Schweiz AG, Antalis AG, Inapa Schweiz AG, Sihl+Eika AG et Fischer Papier AG, ainsi que de l’imprimerie Odermatt.

 

C’est la première fois, cette année, qu’une telle publication paraît, pour l’ouverture de l’exposition. Elle a été conçue et réalisée par Laurent Benner (Reala). Son concept graphique vise d’abord à thématiser le livre en tant qu’objet imprimé et objet matériel. Il s’agit de mettre au premier plan et de visualiser certains aspects très spécifiques de la réalisation d’un livre. À cette fin, nous avons travaillé en étroite collaboration avec les imprimeries et les fournis-seurs de papier, et nous avons pu réunir pour cette publication unique en son genre huit pages (originales) de chacun des livres primés, en provenance d’imprimeries de la Suisse, de l’Allemagne, de la République tchèque et du Liban.

 

Nous sommes extrêmement heureux du large intérêt suscité par cette entreprise, et du soutien généreux qu’elle a reçu de toutes parts. C’est maintenant à notre tour de vous souhaiter, chère lectrice, cher lecteur, la plus agréable des lectures.

Prix Jan-Tschichold

Prix Jan-Tschichold pour Elektrosmog:
Valentin Hindermann et Marco Walser

 

Dès leur période de formation à la Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst de Zurich (HGKZ), de 1994 à 1998, Valentin Hindermann (né en 1966) et Marco Walser (né en 1973) ont réalisé leurs premiers projets autonomes dans le domaine du design graphique. Lorsque leur formation fut terminée, ils fondèrent en commun un atelier qu'ils baptisèrent Elektrosmog. Leurs travaux sont voués, de manière prépondérante, au domaine des arts plastiques et du design. Un projet important dans l'histoire d'Elektrosmog, grâce auquel les deux graphistes purent expérimenter le format cahier, ce fut le nouveau design du magazine d'art material, du Musée Migros à Zurich. Chacune des trois éditions de cette publication consacrée à l'art international contemporain, réalisée par Elektrosmog, se distingua par un emploi innovateur de l'illustration. Et chacune d'elles tenta des expériences dans le domaine des caractères d'écriture, si bien que cette revue, malheureusement disparue entre-temps, devint une mine de richesse créative.

 

En 2002, avec Argovian Sun, un livre consacré à l'oeuvre d'Andreas Dobler, Elektrosmog présenta pour la première fois un livre d'artiste. Patrick Frey, l'éditeur engagé de nombreuses publications d'art, passa la commande de ce projet. Argovian Sun, dans lequel des textes, des coupures de journaux, des photos et des tableaux de Dobler se trouvent réunis, offrit à Elektrosmog l'occasion d'embrasser le matériau riche et évocateur des archives de l'artiste et de le traiter à l'égal de ses tableaux achevés. Une année plus tard, le livre que cet atelier réalisa, Supercritical Fluids, une présentation de l'oeuvre plastique du peintre Hanspeter Hofmann, fut primé dans le concours . En même temps, il fut distingué par la mention de . Ce deuxième ouvrage d'artiste réussit, malgré le petit format des illustrations, à mettre en valeur l'oeuvre extrêmement riche et subtile de Hofmann. Les oeuvres de Dobler et de Hofmann furent toutes deux exposées au Kunsthaus de Glaris, dont la présentation graphique est assurée par Elektrosmog depuis plusieurs années, d'une manière convaincante et constamment variée, malgré des moyens financiers limités.

 

Dans le cadre d'un concours, Elektrosmog put aider l'Office fédéral de la culture (OFC) à créer un concept nouveau et modulable pour ses moyens d'information sur les mesures d'encouragement dans le domaine du design: Elektrosmog développa un système de classeurs en plastique transparent, dont les couleurs et les caractères changent en fonction du domaine d'aide concerné, mais qui néanmoins peuvent être perçus comme un ensemble. Les dossiers transparents contiennent les règlements et les instructions, régulièrement actualisés, et dont d'autres graphistes peuvent également être chargés. Au cours de sa collaboration avec l'OFC, Elektrosmog put développer une nouvelle création dans le domaine du design et réaliser, durant trois années consécutives, l'annuaire du . À deux reprises consécutives (en 2003 et 2004), le catalogue fut primé au concours des . Trois fois réalisé dans le même format, il avait pour tâche de traiter la partie théorique et la partie catalogue selon des critères différents. Au centre des volumes, sous le titre Swiss Design, se trouvent les produits développés par de jeunes designers, qui ont la possibilité à chaque fois de se présenter avec des moyens graphiques singuliers et des concepts photographiques différents.

 

Le livre réalisé en 2004 par Elektrosmog pour l'anniversaire des vingt ans de la célèbre revue d'art Parkett, fut également primé. Les deux artistes parvinrent à raconter sous une forme dense, à la fois plaisante et riche en information, l'histoire marquante de cette revue d'importance internationale. Elektrosmog réussit également à harmoniser, hors du domaine de l'art du livre, différentes formes graphiques, et à les faire jouer entre elles. Le langage d'Elektrosmog est toujours ouvert à de nouvelles solutions. Les deux graphistes essaient de développer des projets neufs, correspondant à la thématique qui leur est proposée. De travail en travail, ils entrent en relation et en résonance, de manière chaque fois nouvelle, avec tel domaine ou telle oeuvre d'artiste.

 

Le jury honore, avec le prix Jan-Tschichold, une équipe de designers qui depuis quelques années a retenu l'attention par divers projets de livres exceptionnels. Elektrosmog se distingue en particulier par un langage extrêmement diversifié, et libre de tout dogmatisme, dans chacune de ses réalisations graphiques.