Archives
Current Year

The Most Beautiful Swiss Books of the year 2007

Allan Kaprow. 18 Happenings in 6 Parts. Photography: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© FOC

Archäologie der Zukunft. Photography: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© FOC

Arosa – Die Moderne in den Bergen. Photography: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© FOC

Barkow Leibinger. Reflect. Building in the Digital Media City Seoul, Korea. Photography: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© FOC

Bernhard Willhelm. Het Totaal Rappel. Photography: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© FOC

Carsten Nicolai. Static Fades. Photography: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© FOC

Casco Issues, #X: The Great Method. Photography: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© FOC

Christian Marclay. Crossfire. Photography: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© FOC

Dieter Roth. Drawings – Zeichnungen. Photography: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© FOC

Freibad Letzigraben. Von Max Frisch und Gustav Ammann. Photography: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© FOC

Gary Hume. American Tan. Photography: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© FOC

Hanspeter Hofmann. Bonheur Automatique. Photography: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© FOC

Jim Shaw. Distorted Faces & Portraits 1978-2007. Photography: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© FOC

Johannes Wohnseifer. Werkverzeichnis 1992-2007. Photography: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© FOC

Linus Bill. Meistens macht man die im Haus, aber im Sommer gehts auch draussen. Photography: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© FOC

Lyon Biennal. oos – The History of a Decade that Has not Yet Been Named. Photography: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© FOC

Marc Camille Chaimowicz. The World of Interiors. Photography: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© FOC

Die Mitte des Volkes. Photography: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© FOC

Ofoffjoff – One to One. Photography: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© FOC

Peter Saville. Estate. Photography: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© FOC

Projekt Vitra. Orte, Produkte, Autoren, Museum, Sammlungen, Zeichen; Chronik, Glossar. Photography: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© FOC

Rirkrit Tiravanija. A Retrospective (tomorrow is another fine day). Photography: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© FOC

Ein Tag im Leben von. Photography: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© FOC

It's Time for Action (There's No Option). About Feminism. Photography: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© FOC

Umsichten. Jahrbuch des Departements Lehrberufe für Gestaltung und Kunst 2006. Photography: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© FOC

Vitra. The Home Collection 2007/08. Photography: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© FOC

Wouldn't it be nice... Photography: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© FOC

About the awarded year

With the competition inspired by Jan Tschichold back in the '40s en titled The Most Beautiful Swiss Books, the Swiss Publishers Association initially and for more than 30 years the Federal Office for Culture created a tool for selecting the best produced books each year. In the beginning the aim was to increase book production, but nowadays the com petition aims to promote the quality of book creation in Switzerland and to introduce the award-winning books to a broad public at home and abroad. The award-winning books are the result of a jury’s decision based on guidelines, entry requirements and jury criteria that are fixed both with regard to inclusions and exclusions. The annual selection thus reflects the changing quality requirements and framework conditions of the competition very exactly. Not only has the manner in which the jury is put together changed over the years, but also the number of people on the selection committee. Since the beginning of the year the jury for the competition has been largely reselected and now comprises five members, which is the same as the very first jury in 1944. The committee in the '70s comprised up to 15 members. The reduction from seven to five members and the abolition of the special jury was made as part of the Federal Council’s call for and approval of the abolition of a number of extra-parliamentary commissions and juries and led to the merging of the Federal Design Commission with the jury for The Most Beautiful Swiss Books.

 

The five-person, international jury, under the new chairmanship of Cornel Windlin, selected 27 publications as The Most Beautiful Swiss Books from the 408 entries submitted. The books were judged based on their graphic form and typography, the technical composition in the quality of the print and the book covers, the workmanship of the bookbinding and the materials used. The relevant jury reports reveal what makes a book worthy of an award. An interview with the members of the jury, specialists from the different disciplines of book creation, book production and sales gives an enlightening first insight into the criteria used in making the selection and also into current trends. The focus of the assessment this year was on innovation and originality, or, to use the words of the chairman of the jury, on the ’authenticity’ and 'appropriateness' of the graphic conception. Every year the books selected as the Most Beautiful Swiss Books find a positive resonance on the international stage. This year, more Swiss books than ever before were honoured at the Leipzig competition The Most Beautiful Books in the World. Honours in the shape of one gold medal (Walter Keller (Ed.), Ein Tag im Leben von), two bronze medals (Fabian Biasio, Margrit Sprecher, Die Mitte des Volkes and Vitra AG, Vitra. The Home Collection) as well as an honorary diploma (Dorothea Strauss (Ed.), Carsten Nicolai. Static Fades) were awarded to Swiss books. Switzerland was the only country to receive four medals.

 

As well as exhibitions and supporting events at home and abroad, this catalogue forms an important platform for considering critically current questions and problems in the art of book creation. What can the books selected show us and how are they representative of Swiss book creation? What has happened to the passionate debate that was raging on and off the pages of distinguished specialist journals in the '60s about Swiss graphics and book creation? The current catalogue The Most Beautiful Swiss Books 2007 is the first of a trilogy to be spread over three years and is seen as the impulse for a renewed and active discourse. The publication that appeared at the opening of the exhibition in the Museum für Gestaltung in Zurich was conceived and designed this year for the first time by Laurenz Brunner. He was responsible for the overall editorial work together with the literary specialist Tan Wälchli. If production-specific aspects took centre stage in the last three years, this tim e the contents - in the form of a rich selection of fascinating essays - focus on relevant themes and observations to do with the book per se and book creation. We can look forward to its sequels in the years to come with keen anticipation. The target is to create a lively and stimulating debate about the medium of the book, its creation and the conditions for its representation and production in all their many facets.

 

After nine years of being responsible for the organisation of the competition The Most Beautiful Swiss Books I am leaving the Federal Office for Culture with a tear in my eye to go on to pastures new. However, I can pass on the baton with confidence and wish my successor just as much enrichment, interest, enthusiasm and scope for influence as I have been lucky enough to enjoy in the last years.

 

Mirjam Fischer, art historian
In charge of the competition The Most Beautiful Swiss Books
Federal Office of Culture, Berne

Jan-Tschichold Award

Aude Lehmann

 

A first glance at Aude Lehmann’s design work encourages the impression of an almost neutral, signature-free visual language. The designer seems to retreat as author behind the task of providing a service, as befits modernist or neo-modernist ideas. This is a deliberate decision. And it is not made in a spirit of giving something up. On the contrary, it is based on an interest in taking a more integrated view of design that resists visual language as a pure logo. This view does not reduce design to the surface, to the level of appearance. So formal decisions can be taken that tend towards the general and non-individual. This could be called Aude Lehmann’s non-mannerist approach. What shifts into the foreground instead is a committed examination of how the project com municates as a whole: this extends to the integrity of the individual components and can also include conceptual and editorial aspects.

 

It is therefore not surprising that as well as various commissioned works - many of which are in the field of art and culture - Aude Lehmann has also taken on and realized a publication project of her own (working with the literary historian Tan Wälchli): in 2004, Wälchli and Lehmann launched a three-part publication called Whyart. The first two volumes, Aura and Glamour, have already appeared; the Mode (Fashion) volume will be published soon. The two co-authors are responsible for form and content. One symptomatic detail: Lehmann has conceived a fashion feature and designed a fashion line for it that corresponds with her own ideas in this area. This is another modernist impulse, but the claim to be absolute is relativised to the extent that the fashion feature was created primarily to make a fiction possible or - put in a different way - to initiate a game that asks questions about the place of design. This topological interest identifies Lehmann as a designer who has internalised postmodern construction principles such as sampling, quotation, mise en abîme etc. The interesting tension this creates lies somewhere between the historical project of com municating Modernism authentically and a design epistemology of more recent date, directed at fiction.

 

What is the place of design? How does design locate itself? This question can be taken literally, and of course seen in a transferred sense as well. Taken literally, design is always just surface. When working with books, Lehmann’s primary medium, this means the individual page, its form at and its internal structure consisting of text, image, area, material quality, but also the narrative structure, the sequence of parts, chronology and ’parataxis’ for the flow of reading and perceiving. In the transferred sense it means aspects of publication formats, their history and their coded nature. This is how the ‘intellectual’ aspect of Lehmann's work is expressed.

 

One instructive example of this is Album - On And Around Urs Fischer, Yves Netzhammer, Ugo Rondinone und Christine Streuli, Participating at the 52nd Venice Biennial, 2007 (a project for which I served as editor-at-large). The process started by analysing the context - an international art exhibition - before discussing possible publication formats. And of course this included the question of how publications are deployed and used in such contexts: are they essentially a more or less stylish promotion device, or do they actually have a discursive function to fulfil? Whatever the answer was, it was clear that we were not just asking about the best choice here, but working towards examining the symbolism of functions that probably affect everyone in a communication society and are familiar to most of us, that is to say a statement on the level of codes.

 

The question that insisted on an answer in the case of an integral design concept was: how should we address the standards and customs relating to publications? The process came down to choosing a format that would legitim ize the heterogeneous nature of the content, or make it obvious, even on the level of form, in this case a kind of 'reader'. As a reader, the publication also represented a form al quotation of a publication form that favours discourse, in other words: art examined through argument. As well as this, the inherent heterogeneity allowed some additions in terms of subject matter that went beyond the four central individual artistic positions to address the exhibition context and some of the present day’s obsessions of the art world on the plane of cultural analysis.

 

It is precisely in this sense that the idea of design acquires a conceptual dimension for Lehmann. Design means the obvious solution to a set problem, including historical reflection and potentials for different formal and visual codes. This reflection relates strictly to the present, to present conventions, routines and standards, to trends, to the Zeitgeist, to fashions. Here Aude Lehmann’s position, as far as I can say, is not to fulfil or imitate these standards, but to offer an intelligent, highly individual and - however paradoxical this may sound - compliant form of resistance. Perhaps this has something to do with her understanding of communication, which cannot function as a subjective act, but more as a reinvestment of conventions, including the reactivation of historical codes (history as an impulse, as a potential). Precisely this reactivation of historical code implies that there is room here for some things that are unforeseen, intellectual and strategic potentials, relevant for a more profound view of design. Aude Lehmann realizes all this - permeated by the integral approach of modernistic and neo-modernistic design, which strives to achieve a compelling interplay between the material qualities of paper, print, typography, colour, finish etc. - as language communicating materially, i.e. as language realized physically, through contact with eye and hand.

 

Daniel Kurjakovic
Art historian, free-lance curator, Zurich

Archiv
laufendes Jahr

Die Schönsten Schweizer Bücher des Jahres 2007

Allan Kaprow. 18 Happenings in 6 Parts. Fotografie: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© BAK

Archäologie der Zukunft. Fotografie: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© BAK

Arosa – Die Moderne in den Bergen. Fotografie: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© BAK

Barkow Leibinger. Reflect. Building in the Digital Media City Seoul, Korea. Fotografie: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© BAK

Bernhard Willhelm. Het Totaal Rappel. Fotografie: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© BAK

Carsten Nicolai. Static Fades. Fotografie: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© BAK

Casco Issues, #X: The Great Method. Fotografie: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© BAK

Christian Marclay. Crossfire. Fotografie: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© BAK

Dieter Roth. Drawings – Zeichnungen. Fotografie: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© BAK

Freibad Letzigraben. Von Max Frisch und Gustav Ammann. Fotografie: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© BAK

Gary Hume. American Tan. Fotografie: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© BAK

Hanspeter Hofmann. Bonheur Automatique. Fotografie: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© BAK

Jim Shaw. Distorted Faces & Portraits 1978-2007. Fotografie: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© BAK

Johannes Wohnseifer. Werkverzeichnis 1992-2007. Fotografie: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© BAK

Linus Bill. Meistens macht man die im Haus, aber im Sommer gehts auch draussen. Fotografie: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© BAK

Lyon Biennal. oos – The History of a Decade that Has not Yet Been Named. Fotografie: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© BAK

Marc Camille Chaimowicz. The World of Interiors. Fotografie: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© BAK

Die Mitte des Volkes. Fotografie: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© BAK

Ofoffjoff – One to One. Fotografie: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© BAK

Peter Saville. Estate. Fotografie: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© BAK

Projekt Vitra. Orte, Produkte, Autoren, Museum, Sammlungen, Zeichen; Chronik, Glossar. Fotografie: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© BAK

Rirkrit Tiravanija. A Retrospective (tomorrow is another fine day). Fotografie: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© BAK

Ein Tag im Leben von. Fotografie: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© BAK

It's Time for Action (There's No Option). About Feminism. Fotografie: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© BAK

Umsichten. Jahrbuch des Departements Lehrberufe für Gestaltung und Kunst 2006. Fotografie: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© BAK

Vitra. The Home Collection 2007/08. Fotografie: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© BAK

Wouldn't it be nice... Fotografie: Marianne Vierø, Amsterdam
© BAK

Über den Jahrgang

Mit dem in den 40er Jahren durch Jan Tschichold angeregten Wettbewerb Die schönsten Schweizer Bücher schuf sich zu Beginn der schweizerische Verlegerverband und seit mehr als 30 Jahren das Bundesamt für Kultur ein Instrument, um alljährlich die besten Buchproduktionen auszuwählen. Ging es in den Anfängen vor allem darum, die Buchproduktion zu steigern, stellt sich der Wettbewerb heute zur Aufgabe, die Qualität der Buchgestaltung in der Schweiz zu fördern und die prämierten Bücher einem breiten Publikum im In- und Ausland vorzustellen. Prämierte Bücher sind das Resultat einer Jurierung, abhängig von Richtlinien, Zulassungsbestimmungen und Jurykriterien, die unweigerlich auch für Ein- und Ausschlüsse stehen. Die alljährliche Selektion widerspiegelt dadurch sehr genau die wechselnden Qualitätsanforderungen und Rahmenbedingungen des Wettbewerbs. Nicht nur der Modus der Juryzusammensetzung hat sich mit den Jahren geändert, sondern auch die Anzahl der Mitglieder des Auswahlgremiums. Seit Anfang Jahr ist die Wettbewerbsjury weitgehend neu besetzt und zählt erneut fünf Mitglieder, gleich viel wie die allererste im Jahre 1944 eingesetzte Jury. Bis zu 15 Juroren umfasste das Gremium in den 70er Jahren. Die Reduktion von sieben auf fünf Mitglieder und die Aufhebung der Spezialjury geschah im Rahmen des vom Bundesrats geforderten und beschlossenen Aufhebung etlicher ausserparlamentarischer Kommissionen und Jurys und führte zu einer Verschmelzung der Eidgenössischen Designkommission mit der Jury Die schönsten Schweizer Bücher.

 

Die fünfköpfige, international besetzte Jury unter dem neuen Vorsitz von Cornel Windlin hat aus den 408 Einsendungen 27 Publikationen als Die schönsten Schweizer Bücher ausgezeichnet. Die Bücher wurden hinsichtlich grafischer Gestaltung und Typografie, ihrer technischen Beschaffenheit in der Qualität des Druckes und des Einbandes, der buchbinderischen Verarbeitung sowie den verwendeten Materialien begutachtet. Was ein Buch zu einem auszeichnungswürdigen Buch macht, ist in den jeweiligen Juryberichten nachzulesen. Ein Interview mit den Jurymitgliedern, Spezialisten aus den verschiedenen Disziplinen der Buchgestaltung, Buchherstellung und Vertrieb, gibt erstmals einen erhellenden Einblick in die bei der Auswahl berücksichtigten Kriterien sowie über die aktuellen Trends. Der Schwerpunkt der Bewertung lag in diesem Jahr auf der Innovation und Originalität oder, um es in den Worten des Jurypräsidenten zu sagen, auf der und der grafischen Konzeption. Alljährlich finden die gekürten schönsten Schweizer Bücher auch auf dem internationalen Parkett eine erfolgreiche Bestätigung. Am Wettbewerb Schönste Bücher aus aller Welt in Leipzig sind dieses Jahr so viele Schweizer Bücher wie noch nie ausgezeichnet worden. Mit einer Goldmedaille (Walter Keller [Hg.], Ein Tag im Leben von), zwei Bronzemedaillen (Fabian Biasio, Margrit Sprecher, Die Mitte des Volkes und Vitra AG, Vitra. The Home Collection) sowie einem Ehrendiplom (Dorothea Strauss (Hg.), Carsten Nicolai. Static Fades) gehen gleich vier Würdigungen an Schweizer Bücher. Damit hat die Schweiz als einziges Land vier Medaillen geholt.

 

Neben Ausstellungen und Rahmenveranstaltungen im In- und Ausland bildet der Katalog eine wichtige Plattform, um über aktuelle Fragen und Probleme im buchgestalterischen Schaffen kritisch nachzudenken. Was können uns die prämierten Bücher zeigen, und wie repräsentieren sie die schweizerische Buchgestaltung? Was ist mit den leidenschaftlichen Debatten passiert, die innerhalb und ausserhalb profilierter Fachzeitschriften in den '60er Jahren über die Schweizer Grafik und Buchgestaltung geführt worden sind? Der vorliegende Katalog Die schönsten Schweizer Bücher 2007 bildet den Anfang einer auf drei Jahre angelegten Trilogie und versteht sich als Impulsgeber für die Wiederbelebung eines neuen und aktiven Diskurses. Die zur Ausstellungseröffnung im Museum für Gestaltung Zürich erscheinende Publikation wurde in diesem Jahr zum ersten Mal von Laurenz Brunner konzipiert und gestaltet. Für die gesamte editorische Arbeit zeichnet er gemeinsam mit dem Literaturwissenschafter Tan Wälchli verantwortlich. Lagen in den letzten drei Jahren produktionsspezifische Aspekte im Vordergrund, so richtet diesmal eine reichhaltige Palette an spannenden Essays den inhaltlichen Fokus auf relevante Themen und Beobachtungen rund um das Buch und die Buchgestaltung. Wir dürfen auf die Fortsetzung in den nächsten Jahren gespannt sein.

 

Ziel ist es, eine lebendige und anregende Auseinandersetzung mit dem Medium Buch, seiner Gestaltung, seinen Representations- und Produktionsbedingungen in allen Facetten zu führen.

 

Nach neun Jahren organisatorischer Betreuung des Wettbewerbs Die schönsten Schweizer Bücher verlasse ich das Bundesamt für Kultur mit einem lachenden und weinenden Auge und breche auf zu neuen Ufern. Ich darf den Stab aber weitergeben und wünsche meiner Nachfolge genauso viel Begeisterung, Interesse, Bereicherung und Wirkungskraft, wie ich sie während der letzten Jahre erleben durfte.

 

Mirjam Fischer, Kunsthistorikerin
Verantwortlich für den Wettbewerb Die schönsten Schweizer Bücher
Bundesamt für Kultur, Bern

Jan-Tschichold-Preis

Aude Lehmann

 

Der erste Blick auf die gestalterische Arbeit von Aude Lehmann nährt den Eindruck einer quasi neutralen, signaturlosen visuellen Sprache. Ganz gemäss modernistischen oder neomodernistischen Vorstellungen scheint die Gestalterin als Autorin hinter die Dienstleistungsaufgabe zurückzutreten. Dieser Entscheid ist bewusst. Und er ist kein Verzicht. Vielmehr geht er auf das Interesse für eine integralere Auffassung von Gestaltung zurück, die sich gegen eine visuelle Sprache als pures Logo kehrt. Diese Auffassung reduziert die Gestaltung nicht auf die Oberfläche, auf die Erscheinungsebene. So können hier formale Entscheidungen stattfinden, die in die Nähe des Allgemeinen und Nichtindividuellen tendieren. Das könnte man den nicht-manieristischen Ansatz von Aude Lehmann nennen. Was stattdessen in den Vordergrund rückt, ist eine engagierte Auseinandersetzung mit der Kommunikation des gesamten Projekts: Dies reicht hinein in die Integrität der einzelnen Bestandteile und kann auch konzeptionelle und redaktionelle Aspekte umfassen.

 

Es erstaunt deshalb nicht, dass Aude Lehmann neben den diversen Auftragsarbeiten - wovon viele im Bereich von Kunst und Kultur liegen - auch ein eigenes Publikationsprojekt in Angriff genommen und (zusammen mit dem Literaturwissenschaftler Tan Wälchli) realisiert hat: 2004 begannen Wälchli und Lehmann eine dreiteilige Publikation mit dem Namen Whyart, wovon die ersten beiden Bände Aura und Glamour bereits erschienen sind; in Bälde folgt die Veröffentlichung des Bandes Mode. Für Inhalt und Form sind die Koautoren verantwortlich. Symptomatisches Detail: Für diesen dritten Band hat Lehmann eine Modestrecke konzipiert und dafür kurzerhand eine Modelinie entworfen, die den eigenen Vorstellungen davon gerecht wird. Erneut ein modernistischer Impuls, doch ist der Absolutheitsanspruch insofern relativiert, als die Modestrecke primär entstanden ist, um eine Fiktion zu ermöglichen oder - anders gesagt - um ein Spiel zu initiieren, das nach dem Ort von Gestaltung fragt. Dieses topologische Interesse weist Lehmann denn auch als Gestalterin aus, die postmoderne Konstruktionsprinzipien wie Sampling, Zitat, mise en abîme etc. verinnerlicht hat. Die interessante Spannung, die dadurch entsteht, liegt irgendwo zwischen dem historischen Projekt einer authentischen Kommunikation der Moderne und einer auf Fiktion ausgerichteten gestalterischen Epistemologie jüngeren Datums.

 

Was ist der Ort der Gestaltung? Wie verortet sich Gestaltung? Die Frage hat einen buchstäblichen Sinn und natürlich einen übertragenen. Buchstäblich gesehen, ist Gestaltung immer nur Oberfläche. Bei Büchern, dem primären Medium von Lehmann, bedeutet dies: die einzelne Seite, ihr Format und ihre Binnenstruktur, bestehend aus Text, Bild, Fläche, Materialität, aber auch die narrative Struktur, die Abfolge der Teile, Chronologie und des Lese- und Blick-Flusses. Im übertragenen Sinn bedeutet es: Aspekte der Formate von Publikationen, ihre Geschichte und ihre Codiertheit. Hierin kommt der Aspekt von Lehmanns Arbeit zum Ausdruck.

 

Ein instruktives Beispiel dafür ist Album - On And Around Urs Fischer, Yves Netzhammer, Ugo Rondinone und Christine Streuli, Participating at the 52nd Venice Biennale, 2007 (ein Projekt, bei dem ich Herausgeber war). Das Vorgehen bestand zunächst darin, eine Analyse des Kontextes - eine internationale Kunstausstellung - zu leisten, bevor mögliche Publikationsformate diskutiert wurden. Und natürlich auch die Frage, wie in solchen Kontexten Publikationen eingesetzt und gebraucht w erden: Laufen sie primär auf eine mehr oder weniger noble Form von Promotion hinaus oder erfüllen sie tatsächlich diskursive Funktionen? Wie auch immer die Antwort ausfiel, klar war, dass man hier nicht nur nach der besten Wahl fragte, sondern eine Auseinandersetzung mit der Symbolik von Funktionen evozierte, die in der Kommunikationsgesellschaft alle betreffen und vielen geläufig sind, nämlich als Aussage auf der Ebene von Codes.

 

Die Frage, die sich bei einem integralen Konzept von Gestaltung aufdrängte: Wie sollte man sich zu Standards und Gewohnheiten von Publikationen in diesem Kontext stellen? Wie die gleichzeitige Nähe und Distanz zum Standard definieren? Der Prozess lief darauf hinaus, ein Format zu wählen, das die Heterogenität des Inhalts bereits auf der Ebene der Form legitim ierte bzw. sinnfällig machte, in diesem Fall eine Art Reader. Als Reader stellte die Publikation zugleich ein formales Zitat einer Publikationsform dar, die den Diskurs privilegiert, mit anderen Worten: eine argum entative Auseinandersetzung mit Kunst. Darüber hinaus erlaubte die inhärente Heterogenität einige inhaltliche Zusätze, die über die vier zentralen künstlerischen Einzelpositionen hinaus auch den Ausstellungskontext sowie einige kulturwissenschaftliche Obsessionen der Gegenwart thematisierten.

 

Genau in diesem Sinn gewinnt der Begriff der Gestaltung bei Lehmann seine konzeptionelle Dimension. Gestaltung ist die sinnfällige Lösung einer Aufgabe einschliesslich einer Reflexion der Geschichte und Potenziale unterschiedlicher formaler und visueller Codes. Diese Reflexion bezieht sich streng auf die Gegenwart, auf gegenwärtige Konventionen, Routinen und Standards, auf Trends, auf den Zeitgeist, auf die Moden. Die Position von Aude Lehmann ist dabei, soweit ich das sagen kann, nicht Erfüllung oder gar Imitation dieser Standards, sondern eine intelligente, eigenwillige und - wenn dies auch paradox klingen mag - komplizitäre Form von Widerstand. Vielleicht hat dies mit ihrem Verständnis von Kommunikation zu tun, die nicht als subjektiver Akt wirksam werden kann, sondern eher als eine Neu-Investition der Konventionen einschliesslich der Reaktivierung historischer Codes (Geschichte als Impuls und Korrektiv). Gerade diese Reaktivierung historischer Codes beinhaltet, da ja einiges an Unvorhergesehenem Platz darin hat, intellektuelle und strategische Potenziale, die für eine tiefer gehende Auffassung von Gestaltung relevant sind. All dies realisiert Aude Lehmann - durchdrungen vom integralen Ansatz modernistischer und neomodernistischer Gestaltung, der eine zwingende Interaktion der Materialitäten von Papier, Druck, Typografie, Farbe, Ausrüstung etc. anstrebt - als materiell kommunizierende Sprache, das heisst als eine Sprache, die sich körperlich, in der Berührung durch Auge und Hand, realisiert.

 

Daniel Kurjakovic
Kunsthistoriker, freier Kurator, Zürich