Archives
Current Year

The Most Beautiful Swiss Books of the year 2008

Linus Bill. Tu m'as volé mon vélo. Photography: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© FOC

Casco Issues XI. An Ambiguous Case. Photography: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© FOC

Ceau. Photography: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© FOC

Celebration at Persepolis. Photography: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© FOC

Centre culturel suisse Paris. 2006 2007 2008. Photography: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© FOC

Chants exploratoires. Minotaure. La revue d'Albert Skira 1933–1939. Photography: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© FOC

Adrian Frutiger. Schriften. Das Gesamtwerk. Photography: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© FOC

Fucking Good Art. The Swiss Issue. Photography: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© FOC

Gravures néoclassiques d'après François-Gédéon Reverdin. Quand la copie devient modèle. Photography: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© FOC

Hardau. Claro que si, c'est comme ça, c'est la vie. Photography: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© FOC

Herzog & de Meuron. 1997–2001. Das Gesamtwerk. Band 4. Photography: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© FOC

Cécile Hummel – Bildreisen. Zeichnung, Fotografie. Photography: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© FOC

Christian Jankowski. Frankenstein Set. Photography: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© FOC

Las Vegas Studio. Bilder aus dem Archiv von Robert Venturi und Denise Scott Brown. Photography: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© FOC

Adolf Loos. Die Kultivierung der Architektur. Photography: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© FOC

Neues Bauen in den Alpen. Architekturpreis 2006. Photography: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© FOC

Henrik Olesen. Some Faggy Gestures. Photography: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© FOC

Valerio Olgiati. Photography: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© FOC

Walter Pfeiffer. In Love with Beauty. Photography: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© FOC

Ringier. Annual Report 2007. Photography: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© FOC

Shifting Identities. (Schweizer) Kunst heute. Photography: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© FOC

Vladimir Shinkarev. Gloomy Paintings/Cinema Paintings. Photography: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© FOC

Skeletons: London's Buried Bones. Photography: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© FOC

Sonntagsfreuden. Photography: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© FOC

Die St. Galler Buchkunst vom 8. bis zum Ende des 11. Jahrhunderts. Photography: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© FOC

Simon Starling. Cuttings [Supplement]. Photography: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© FOC

Technik und Architektur 1958–2008. Festschrift Hochschule Luzern. Photography: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© FOC

Theft Is Vision. Photography: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© FOC

Die totale Aufklärung. Moskauer Konzeptkunst 1960–1990. Photography: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© FOC

Transfer. Weiterbildung an der Schnittstelle von Kunst und Management. Photography: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© FOC

Christian Vetter. 50 Works on Paper. Photography: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© FOC

Wädenswil 001–555. Photography: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© FOC

About the awarded year

The most beautiful Swiss books competition was established to promote and reward top-quality book design in Switzerland. In the spirit of effective design promotion, the award is invested with a number of measures that lend it extra weight. A catalogue of the prize-winning books is published, featuring the jury reviews and essays on current conditions in the practice of book design. In addition, two exhibitions are mounted annually at the Museum für Gestaltung Zürich and at mudac Musée de design et d’arts appliqués contemporains in Lausanne, while the books are also presented in several smaller exhibitions abroad. Catalogue and exhibitions not only lend the award greater visibility, they also promote the exchange of ideas among designers, printers and publishers.

 

In 1998 the Federal Office of Culture took on the coordination of The most beautiful Swiss books competition, which had previously been organised by the Swiss Association of Booksellers and Publishers. Since then, the competition has undergone a reassessment of its strategy and content, factors which still apply today. The regulations stipulate that the jury must include representatives from three fields - design, production and publishing - while various institutions and associations with a vested interest in Swiss books do not delegate representatives. Since the professional and design expertise of the jury members has top priority, greater emphasis is therefore placed on the aspect of design. Taking into account globally changing conditions of production, the competition now allows for a more international outlook. Since 1998, my predecessor Mirjam Fischer had successfully established the reputation of the award well beyond the borders of Switzerland. I have been in charge of the competition since autumn 2008 and look forward to further consolidating the competition’s high reputation both at home and abroad.

 

The competition has in fact become a seismograph of current trends and tendencies in contemporary book design and production, while also looking back on a substantial and significant history. Two new members have joined the international jury chaired by Cornel Windlin: Lars Müller (publisher) and Piär Amrein (bookbinder and lecturer). Of the 395 titles submitted to the 2008 competition, 32 books were selected on the basis of idea and concept, graphic design, typography, quality of the printing and binding, use of materials, and overall impression. The jury reviews (see p.92) offer more background and provide reasons for their selection.

 

The theme of this year’s catalogue is the present, since it forms the second in the trilogy ‘Past/Present/Future', planned and designed by Laurenz Brunner and Tan Wälchli. By focusing on theoretical and practical aspects of book design, the publication is the outcome of a selection procedure concerned with questions of aesthetics and production. On the other hand, it also serves as a forum for debate on relevant and vital concerns in the wider field of book design. The catalogue is divided into three sections. The interview, conducted after the jury session, addresses issues crucial to this year’s competition. The essays elaborate on a number of these issues, such as the relationship between art and the relevance of that distinction within the framework of book design, changing conditions of production from print-on-demand publications to individually handmade books, the marketing of art books in an age of declining sales, and the role of the designer as author versus service provider. The third section of the catalogue contains the detailed jury reviews in words and pictures, providing not only a concise presentation of the jury’s verdict but also offering conceptual background from the designer's point of view as well as technical details of the award-winning books.

 

The issues raised by the catalogue will be further elaborated in the exhibitions at the Museum für Gestaltung Zürich and mudac in Lausanne. Not only will the award-winning books be on display but, for the first time ever, all the other submissions as well - a total of 395 books. Florian Kräutli and Katharina Ludwig have developed the exhibition design, in which all the titles are presented in a kind of elliptic domino of books. The competition is thus choosing to ‘go public', inviting visitors to form their own opinions of the wide spectrum of submissions, to debate questions of quality and to explore the award-winning books within a wider context.

 

Several smaller exhibitions will be mounted abroad this year, in Paris, Berlin, London, Birmingham, Amsterdam, Brussels and Riga amongst others. Most of these presentations have been initiated by local professionals and institutions, including universities, cultural organisations, designers and printers. In this way, we are able to reach an interested audience of local and networked professionals, and we are especially pleased that The most beautiful Swiss books can act as ambassadors abroad and elicit such a positive response.

 

Anisha Imhasly
In charge of the competition The most beautiful Swiss books
Federal Office of Culture, Berne

Jan-Tschichold Award

Nieves

 

1:46 pm, Sunday, March 15, 2009: Today is my deadline for writing this essay. As usual, I am late; but the persistence of the publishers has made it clear that this essay must arrive by tomorrow, early morning. And so I set out to record my relation to Nieves, as an artist, publisher, bookseller, and collector of books.

 

When I saw my first Nieves zines, I was charmed, of course, as everyone is. The sweet but humble format, the consistency of the product, and the editorial choreography, which is so nimble and so modern, took me first of all by surprise, and then brought a smile to my face.

 

At Printed Matter, the artists’ bookstore in New York City, we have some 15,000 titles by artists at any given moment. And so we are always hesitant to order too much. And zines, as we all know, get damaged, or slip between books and disappear. So we began by ordering small quantities of a few zines here and there, in a careful kind of way.

 

But we soon discovered that our staff was buying most of the zines as they came in the door, and people were beginning to ask after Nieves. It is a grassroots, grapevine kind of publisher - if you will excuse the mixed metaphor - and a young, hip and very smart audience were soon salivating after the Nieves products. Thus, Printed Matter placed a standing order for every Nieves zine and book, and I began collecting every zine as well.

 

Although I have collected artists’ books for several decades, this is the first time that I have trusted a publisher’s tastes and program to intersect so completely with my own. Perhaps this is because Benjamin Sommerhalder, who is Nieves itself, is not so much a publisher as someone taking pleasure in artists' zines and in the act of publishing itself. The zines are each published in an identical format, each in a numbered edition of only 150, and Benjamin produces the zines in a casual but very precise kind of way - absolutely Swiss! - on a copier, first at home, then at the local copy shop. The domestic aspect to this production is somehow very clear, and crucial to the charm and intimacy of the individual zines. The expression ‘a labor of love’ may be a platitude, but it is absolutely suitable here.

 

I respond to the do-it-yourself aesthetic of Nieves. In the mid-sixties, I was one of a group of people who founded a commune, and a free school, and published an underground newspaper improbably titled The Loving Couch Press. Our newspaper took advantage of the web offset press, the invention that first allowed short-run newspapers and spawned the explosion of underground newspapers - and hence underground culture - that appeared across North America and Europe. A newspaper became something you could cook up in your kitchen, and everyone did. A few years later, I found myself part of the artists’ group ‘General Idea’, a kind of mini-commune if you will. And in 1972 we began FILE Megazine, which was essentially a tabloid newspaper wrapped in a glossy verisimilitude of LIFE Magazine, at once glamorous and of the proletariat. Through FILE we first met John Armleder and his gang of friends in Geneva, who kept a mimeograph in the back room of Ecart, and occasionally pumped out little artists' chapbooks and passed them out to their friends. Those chapbooks, which we now call zines, are the obvious progenitor of Nieves. I am also reminded - and this seems to me a crucial ingredient - of the posters on the streets of Paris in the riots of 1968, printed by artists in their studios and in the art schools with whatever technologies were available to them. This moment announced the beginning of self-publishing, a movement in opposition to capitalism, a movement which only became truly self-evident with the intense flowering of punk zines ten years later.

 

The do-it-yourself aspect of Nieves carries within it a memory of a history that spans more than four decades, and yet manages to be absolutely fresh, and, in a highly improbable way, as consistent as a Swiss watch. The three monthly zines are salted with the occasional book, which adds meat to the program without losing the essential flavor.

 

In the last few years, a number of small publishers have mimicked the Nieves model: Utrecht in Tokyo and Islands Flow in Canada come to mind. Nieves has transformed the world of publishing, not through marketing or savvy dealmaking, but through the simple means of developing a model that exactly matches both the technological means and the spirit of today. In this time of economic recession, it is a model that accomplishes much with modest means, and it will flourish despite the difficulties of the day. While Nieves appears to represent a kind of alternative economy, it is now evident - amidst the decline of the large publishing houses and the rise of Amazon - that what was once seen as 'self-publishing' is in fact the beginnings of a new more diffuse economy, in which publishing, and many other forms of production, will be controlled from the bottom up, in a more democratic way. Joseph Beuys would be pleased! With humility and intelligence, Nieves points the way to the future, and a method of sustainable economic development that escapes the hubris of money and power.

 

Not only that, but Nieves does all of this by publishing unique artists’ publications in a mix that creates a conversation between peers. Each month I add three new zines to my box of Nieves zines and that makes me happy.

 

AA Bronson
Artist and Director, Printed Matter
New York City, USA

Archives
Année courante

Les plus beaux livres suisses de l'année 2008

Linus Bill. Tu m'as volé mon vélo. Photographie: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© OFC

Casco Issues XI. An Ambiguous Case. Photographie: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© OFC

Ceau. Photographie: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© OFC

Celebration at Persepolis. Photographie: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© OFC

Centre culturel suisse Paris. 2006 2007 2008. Photographie: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© OFC

Chants exploratoires. Minotaure. La revue d'Albert Skira 1933–1939. Photographie: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© OFC

Adrian Frutiger. Schriften. Das Gesamtwerk. Photographie: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© OFC

Fucking Good Art. The Swiss Issue. Photographie: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© OFC

Gravures néoclassiques d'après François-Gédéon Reverdin. Quand la copie devient modèle. Photographie: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© OFC

Hardau. Claro que si, c'est comme ça, c'est la vie. Photographie: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© OFC

Herzog & de Meuron. 1997–2001. Das Gesamtwerk. Band 4. Photographie: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© OFC

Cécile Hummel – Bildreisen. Zeichnung, Fotografie. Photographie: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© OFC

Christian Jankowski. Frankenstein Set. Photographie: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© OFC

Las Vegas Studio. Bilder aus dem Archiv von Robert Venturi und Denise Scott Brown. Photographie: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© OFC

Adolf Loos. Die Kultivierung der Architektur. Photographie: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© OFC

Neues Bauen in den Alpen. Architekturpreis 2006. Photographie: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© OFC

Henrik Olesen. Some Faggy Gestures. Photographie: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© OFC

Valerio Olgiati. Photographie: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© OFC

Walter Pfeiffer. In Love with Beauty. Photographie: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© OFC

Ringier. Annual Report 2007. Photographie: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© OFC

Shifting Identities. (Schweizer) Kunst heute. Photographie: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© OFC

Vladimir Shinkarev. Gloomy Paintings/Cinema Paintings. Photographie: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© OFC

Skeletons: London's Buried Bones. Photographie: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© OFC

Sonntagsfreuden. Photographie: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© OFC

Die St. Galler Buchkunst vom 8. bis zum Ende des 11. Jahrhunderts. Photographie: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© OFC

Simon Starling. Cuttings [Supplement]. Photographie: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© OFC

Technik und Architektur 1958–2008. Festschrift Hochschule Luzern. Photographie: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© OFC

Theft Is Vision. Photographie: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© OFC

Die totale Aufklärung. Moskauer Konzeptkunst 1960–1990. Photographie: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© OFC

Transfer. Weiterbildung an der Schnittstelle von Kunst und Management. Photographie: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© OFC

Christian Vetter. 50 Works on Paper. Photographie: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© OFC

Wädenswil 001–555. Photographie: Ian Brown, Oslo / Bibliothek Rijksakademie, Amsterdam
© OFC

Au sujet de l'année primée

En organisant le concours Les plus beaux livres suisses, la Confédération se dote d’un instrument de soutien au design qui récompense et encourage le graphisme de qualité dans le domaine du livre. Dans l’esprit d’une pratique durable d’encouragement, d’autres mesures confèrent à ce prix davantage de poids encore. Ainsi, le catalogue: il présente les livres primés au travers des rapports du jury et fait office de plateform e où débattre les questions d’actualité en rapport avec le livre. De plus, tous les ans, deux expositions présentent les livres primés au Museum für Gestaltung de Zurich et au mudac Musée de design et d’arts appliqués contemporains de Lausanne, suivies par des présentations de livres plus modestes à l’étranger. Les expositions et le catalogue font connaître ce prix au public et stimulent les échanges entre les représentants des divers secteurs: conception graphique, impression et édition.

 

En 1998, l’Office fédéral de la culture (OFC) a pris le relais de l’Association suisse alémanique des libraires et des éditeurs (Schweizer Buchhändler- und Verlegerverband) et il organise depuis le concours Les plus beaux livres suisses. Ce passage de témoin s’est accom pagné d'une réorientation de la stratégie et du contenu du concours qui conserve aujourd’hui encore toute sa validité. Conformément au règlement, les membres du jury représentent les trois secteurs du graphisme, de la production et de l’édition - en revanche, les différentes institutions et associations intéressées au livre suisse ne peuvent envoyer de représentants au sein du jury. Seule une expérience professionnelle de la réalisation de livres est nécessaire pour participer au jury, ce qui confère une haute valeur à la créativité. L’ouverture du concours vers l’étranger a permis de tenir compte des changements intervenus dans la production sur le marché du livre. Ces dernières années, sous la direction de Mirjam Fischer, qui m’a précédée à ce poste, le prix a acquis une solide renommée par-delà les frontières de notre pays. J’ai repris l’organisation du concours en automne 2008, et je me réjouis de contribuer à son développement et de poursuivre sur la même voie.

 

Le concours s’apparente à un véritable séismographe: il enregistre les tendances et identifie les courants contemporains de la conception graphique et de la production de livres tout en disposant d’une ample mémoire historique. Cette année, le jury, composé de personnalités internationales, a été présidé par Cornel Windlin et a accueilli deux nouveaux membres: Lars Müller (éditeur) et Piär Amrein (relieur et enseignant). Parmi les 395 livres qui ont été présentés au concours, il en a sélectionné 32 en tout, à qui il a attribué le titre de plus beaux livres de suisse pour l’année 2008. L’évaluation des livres s’est fondée sur les critères suivants: idée et conception, présentation graphique, typographie, qualité de l’impression et de la reliure, matériaux utilisés et impression d’ensemble. Le jury a fait le choix de la transparence et explicite ses décisions dans son rapport (à partir de la page 92).

 

Conçu et élaboré pour la deuxième fois par Laurenz Brunner et Tan Wälchli dans le cadre de Past/Present/Future , leur trilogie programmée sur trois années, le catalogue est consacré cette fois au présent. En se concentrant sur les aspects théoriques et pratiques du graphisme, cette publication reflète d’une part un processus de sélection au cours duquel sont discutés à fond des problèmes esthétiques et de production, d’autre part, c’est une plateforme discursive où débattre des éléments pertinents du concours dans un contexte plus large. Le catalogue s’articule en trois parties. L'Interview a été réalisée lorsque le jury a eu fini d’examiner les livres; elle reprend les sujets et les points les plus épineux de la discussion du concours. La partie Essai approfondit plusieurs de ces questions - pour n’en citer que quelques-unes: celle du rapport entre le design et l’art, celle de la nécessité de maintenir cette distinction lorsqu’on parle de conception graphique des livres, celle du changement des modes de production - de l'impression à la demande aux livres fabriqués à la main en autoproduction - celle de la commercialisation du livre d’art à une époque où les perspectives de vente s’amoindrissent ou celle du rôle du designer - auteur ou prestataire de services en tout genre. La troisième partie du catalogue se compose des Appréciations du jury: elle restitue et explique, le plus brièvement possible, les décisions du jury, en mots et en images, mais elle donne également la parole aux graphistes et fournit des informations sur l'arrière-plan conceptuel et technique des livres primés.

 

La discussion engagée dans le catalogue sera reprise et poursuivie dans l’exposition du Museum für Gestaltung Zürich et du mudac à Lausanne: pour la première fois, celle-ci montrera, outre les titres primés, tous les autres livres envoyés cette année - 395 en tout. Florian Kräutli et Katharina Ludwig ont conçu la scénographie de l’exposition où les livres seront présentés sur une ellipse, rappelant un grand domino de livres. De cette façon, le concours affronte le public et invite les visiteurs à se faire eux-mêmes une idée des envois, à discuter les questions de qualité et à replacer les livres primés dans un contexte plus général.

 

En outre, plusieurs expositions plus modestes sont prévues à l’étranger, en particulier à Paris, Berlin, Londres, Birmingham, Amsterdam, Bruxelles et Riga. La plupart de ces expositions sont organisées à l’initiative d’acteurs locaux, comme les écoles supérieures, les instituts culturels, les designers et les imprimeurs. Cela nous permet de toucher un public de spécialistes intéressés ayant accès aux réseaux locaux, et nous sommes particulièrement heureux de voir Les plus beaux livres suisses partir en ambassadeurs dans le monde entier et susciter un écho aussi positif.

 

Anisha Imhasly
Responsable du concours Les plus beaux livres suisses
Office fédéral de la culture, Berne

Prix Jan-Tschichold

Nieves

 

Dimanche 15 mars 2009, 13:46: c’est aujourd’hui que je dois boucler cet essai. Comme d’habitude, je suis en retard, mais l’éditeur a bien insisté sur le fait que l’article doit lui parvenir au plus tard demain matin à la première heure. Je m’attelle donc à la tâche d’évoquer mon rapport à Nieves, en tant qu’artiste, éditeur, libraire et collectionneur de livres.

 

Lorsque j’ai découvert mes premiers fanzines Nieves, je suis tombé sous le charme, bien sûr, comme tout le monde. Le format plaisant mais discret, la cohérence du produit et la chorégraphie éditoriale, si vive et si moderne, m’ont d’abord surpris, avant de faire naître un sourire sur mon visage. Chez Printed Matter, la librairie des artistes à New York, nous avons en permanence quelque 15 000 titres d’artistes, ce qui fait que nous hésitons toujours à commander trop d’ouvrages. Or les fanzines, c’est bien connu, s’abîment ou glissent entre les livres et disparaissent. Nous avons donc commencé par commander de petites quantités de fanzines par-ci, par-là, avec beaucoup de prudence.

 

Mais nous avons vite constaté que notre personnel achetait la plupart des fanzines dès qu’ils arrivaient, et que les gens commençaient à réclamer Nieves. C’est un éditeur populaire, du genre dont la réputation se propage de bouche à oreille - et un public jeune, branché et très intelligent s’est bientôt mis à convoiter les produits Nieves. Printed Matter a donc passé une commande automatique pour tout nouveau fanzine et livre Nieves, et j’ai moi-même commencé à collectionner tous les fanzines.

 

Bien que je collectionne des livres d'artistes depuis déjà plusieurs décennies, c’est la première fois que j’ai pu me fier aux goûts et au programme d’un éditeur tant ils concordent avec les miens. C’est peut-être parce que Benjamin Sommerhalder, qui est synonyme de Nieves, est moins un éditeur que quelqu’un pour qui les fanzines d’artistes et l’acte d’éditer en tant que tel sont une source de plaisir. Les fanzines sont tous publiés dans un format identique, en édition limitée à 150 exemplaires numérotés. Benjamin produit ces fanzines d’une manière décontractée, mais extrêmement précise - tout à fait suisse! - sur une photocopieuse, d’abord chez lui, puis au copy shop local. Le côté de cette production qui, d’une certaine façon, saute aux yeux, contribue pour beaucoup au charme et au caractère privé de chacun de ces fanzines. Sans doute, l’expression «travail fait avec amour» est-elle une platitude, mais elle s’applique parfaitement ici.

 

Je suis sensible à l’esthétique do-it-yourself de Nieves. Vers le milieu des années 1960, je faisais partie d’un groupe qui avait fondé une communauté et une école libre et qui publiait un journal underground portant le titre invraisemblable The Loving Couch Press. Notre journal avait profité des possibilités de la rotative offset, l’invention qui avait pour la première fois permis de fabriquer des journaux à petit tirage et favorisé l’explosion de la presse - et donc de la culture - underground en Amérique du Nord et en Europe. Le journal était devenu quelque chose que l’on pouvait confectionner dans sa cuisine, et tout le monde le faisait. Quelques années plus tard, je me suis retrouvé dans le groupe d’artistes , sorte de mini-communauté, si l’on veut. Et en 1972, nous avons lancé FILE Megazine: c’était essentiellement un tabloïde dont la couverture en papier glacé rappelait LIFE Magazine, à la fois glamour et prolétarien. C’est par le biais de FILE que nous avons fait la connaissance de John Armleder et de son groupe d’amis à Genève. Ces derniers avaient une ronéo dans l’arrière-salle de la galerie Ecart, sur laquelle ils tiraient de temps à autre de petits carnets d’artistes qu’ils distribuaient à leurs amis. Ces carnets, que nous appelons aujourd’hui , sont de toute évidence les précurseurs de Nieves. Ils me rappellent également - ce qui me paraît un élément essentiel - les affiches dans les rues de Paris pendant les événements de mai 1968 qui étaient imprimées par des artistes dans leurs ateliers et dans les écoles d’art avec les moyens du bord. Ce phénomène annonçait le début de l’auto-édition, un mouvement s’opposant au capitalisme, un mouvement qui n’allait éclater au grand jour qu’avec la prolifération des fanzines punk dix ans plus tard.

 

Avec son aspect , Nieves véhicule le souvenir d’une histoire s’étendant sur plus de quarante ans, tout en réussissant à garder une fraîcheur absolue et, de façon tout à fait incroyable, une cohérence aussi fiable qu’une montre suisse. Occasionnellement, les trois fanzines mensuels sont assaisonnés d’un livre, ce qui ajoute à la substance du programme sans en altérer la saveur essentielle.

 

Ces dernières années, quelques petits éditeurs ont imité le modèle Nieves: je songe à Utrecht à Tokyo et à Islands Flow au Canada. Nieves a transformé le monde de l’édition, non pas par le biais du marketing ou en concluant des affaires juteuses, mais en développant simplement un modèle qui correspond exactement à la fois aux moyens techniques et à l’esprit d'aujourd’hui. En ces temps de récession économique, c'est un modèle qui va loin avec peu de moyens et que les difficultés actuelles ne vont pas empêcher de prospérer. Alors que Nieves semble constituer une sorte d’économie alternative, il est désormais clair - face au déclin des grandes maisons d’édition et à l’essor d’Amazon - que ce que l’on considérait autrefois comme marque en fait le début d'une nouvelle économie plus diffuse, dans laquelle l’édition, comme bien d’autres formes de production, sera contrôlée de bas en haut, de façon plus démocratique. Joseph Beuys aurait apprécié! Avec humilité et intelligence, Nieves montre la voie de l’avenir et une méthode de développement économique durable qui échappe à l’hybris de l’argent et du pouvoir.

 

Qui plus est, Nieves réalise tout cela en éditant des publications d'artistes exceptionnels, dont le mélange crée un dialogue entre pairs. Tous les mois, j’ajoute trois nouveaux fanzines à ma boîte de fanzines Nieves et j’en suis heureux.

 

AA Bronson
Artiste et directeur, Printed Matter
New York City, USA