Archives
Current Year

Competition

'The Most Beautiful Swiss Books' competition was established to promote and reward top-quality book design in Switzerland. It was established at the behest of the famous typographer and designer Jan Tschichold in 1943. The competition is open to graphic designers, publishers and printers. Annually, the Federal Office of Culture receives around 400 submissions. A five-member, internationally staffed jury, currently chaired by Cornel Windlin, selects the most beautiful Swiss books each year.

What qualifies as a Swiss book?
A book is considered a Swiss book when it fulfils at least one of the following three criteria: the book was designed by a Swiss designer, the publisher has its headquarters in Switzerland, or the printer has its headquarters in Switzerland.

The jury's criteria
In judging the submissions to the competition, the jury takes into account each book's overall concept, graphic design and typography, and pays particular attention to innovation and originality. Further criteria include the quality of the printing and the cover, the binding and the materials used. The award is conceived as a distinction and no prize money is conferred. There is no hierarchy among the prize-winning books.

Catalogue and exhibitions
The results of the jury's verdict are published annually in a catalogue, containing the jury reviews and various data on the prize-winning books. In addition, a number of exhibitions are mounted annually in Switzerland, while the books are also presented in several smaller exhibitions abroad. Catalogue and exhibitions not only lend the award greater visibility, they also promote the exchange of ideas among designers, printers and publishers.

Response to the competition
The competition has in fact become a seismograph of current trends and tendencies in contemporary book design and production, while also looking back on a substantial and significant history. The Most Beautiful Swiss Books also belong to the frontrunners in the international competition 'Best Book Design from all over the World' of the Stiftung Buchkunst in Leipzig, Germany. In February 2011, three Swiss books won a silver and bronze medal as well as an honourary diploma, which goes to prove the high quality and tradition of Swiss book design, which sets standards internationally and enjoys an excellent reputation.

The competition's history
In 1998 the Federal Office of Culture took on the coordination of 'The Most Beautiful Swiss Books' competition, which had previously been organised by the Swiss Association of Booksellers and Publishers. Since then, the competition has undergone a reassessment of its strategy and content, factors which still apply today. Since the professional and design expertise of the jury members has top priority, greater emphasis is therefore placed on the aspect of design. Taking into account globally changing conditions of production, the competition now allows for a more international outlook.


Participating in the competition

At the end of January 2013, the most beautiful Swiss books will be judged by the jury of the competition. The submission date for books from the year 2012 is Thursday, 10. January 2013 (postmark). Later submissions will not be considered. The registration form for participation in the competition can be downloaded from this site from October 2012 onwards. Kindly note: Do not submit books without the registration form.

Catalogue

Impressum 
The Most Beautiful Swiss Books 2011
Texts: German, English, French, Italian
ISBN: 978-3-9522700-9-7

Publisher:
Federal Office of Culture, Bern
Concept and design: Aude Lehmann

Publication date:
June 2012

Swiss distribution:
Buchzentrum Olten, order no. 12504837

Distribution Germany, Austria:
Verlag Hermann Schmidt Mainz,
info@typografie.de, www.typografie.de

International distribution:
Idea Books, Amsterdam,
idea@ideabooks.nl, http://www.ideabooks.nl/

Jury


Manuel Krebs, 1970, Bern [Jury Chair]
Studied graphic design at the School of Applied Arts in Biel-Bienne. Established the graphic design studio Norm together with Dimitri Bruni in 1999, with a focus on designing and publishing books and typefaces. Book design includes self-commissioned research in the field of type and graphic design, the most relevant being 'Norm: Introduction' (2000) and 'Norm: The Things' (2002). Commissions include numerous collaborations with museums (TATE Modern; Kunsthaus Zurich; Museum for Design Zurich) and artists (Fischli & Weiss; Simon Starling; Dieter Roth). Examples for type design include the 'Simple' typeface for Cologne airport (2003), the corporate typeface for OMEGA watches, the typeface 'Replica' (2008) and the corporate typeface for Swatch (2010). In 2005, Norm won first prize in the Swiss National Bank's competition for the new banknote series. In 2011, Norm was awarded the Grand Prix Design by the Swiss Government. Norm is currently working with the Louvre Paris on the signage and communication of the Louvre-Lens, which will open in winter 2012. 

Will Holder, 1969, Hatfield (UK)
Trained in typography, Will Holder's practice encompasses authorship, editorial, typesetting, photographic printing and distribution. He is editor of F.R.DAVID, a journal concerned with reading and writing in the arts, published by de Appel, Amsterdam, and is currently editing and designing a biography of American composer Robert Ashley in the form of musical notation (together with Alex Waterman), and rewriting William Morris' 'News from Nowhere (An epoch of rest)' (1876) into a guide for design education and practice set in 2135. In May 2009, Holder curated 'Talk Show' at the ICA, an exhibition and month-long event programme concerning speech and conversation as a model for production. He has been teaching at the Rietveld Academie, Amsterdam, since 1999, and ran the research project 'The Tomorrow Book' at the Jan van Eyck Academie, Maastricht. He lives in London.

Christina Reble, 1950, Zürich
Trained in the domain of publishing and das a type designer. From 1973-1985, she worked as an editor at the Institute for the History and Theory of Architecture (gta) at the ETH Zurich; collaboration with Hans-Rudolf Lutz. Independent publishing projects. At the Museum of Design Zurich since 1986 as Head of Publications, with emphasis on visual communication, design and architecture. Collaborations with designers, printers and publishing partners. Consulting and teaching activities at the Zurich University of the Arts (ZHdK).

Christoph Schifferli, 1950, Ascona
Studied sinology, economic history and computer science in Paris; earned a doctorate in Chinese economic history in 1980. From 1981, research assignments in Asia, as well as various commissions in the areas of publishing and technology; since 1983 active in the domains of multimedia and internet, with a special emphasis on the arts, culture and education. Collector of photography as well as art and photography books since the 1980s.

Lex Trüb, 1971, Horgen
Studied graphic design at the Schule für Gestaltung, Zurich. In 2001, co-founded Nieves with Benjamin Sommerhalder, where he remained active until 2003. Art direction at the Schauspielhaus Zürich from 2002-04. Since 2005, collaborating with Urs Lehni as Lehni-Trueb in the fields of book design, exhibition design, identity work and workshops for various institutions, museums, artists and architects in Switzerland and abroad. Established 'Bookhorse' in 2008 as a vehicle for diverse publishing activities/collaborations with artists and writers. Currently working with Lytle Shaw on 'The Moiré Effect', a book about the mysterious life of the Swiss photographer Ernst Moiré.

Archives
Année courante

Concours

En organisant le concours Les plus beaux livres suisses, la Confédération se dote d'un instrument de soutien au design, qui récompense et encourage le graphisme de qualité dans le domaine du livre. Le concours a été établi à l'initiative du typographe Jan Tschichold en 1944. Il est ouvert aux concepteurs graphiques, éditeurs et imprimeurs. L'Office fédéral de la culture reçoit annuellement près de 400 livres pour ce concours. Un jury international de cinq membres, actuellement sous la présidence de Cornel Windlin, sélectionne chaque année les plus beaux livres suisses.

Qu'est-ce que c'est un livre suisse?
Est considéré comme livre suisse l'ouvrage qui remplit au moins l'un des critères suivants: le livre a été conçu par un ou une graphiste suisse, la maison d'édition a son siège principal en Suisse ou l'imprimerie a son siège principal en Suisse.

Critères du jury
Le jury évalue la conception, le graphisme et la typographie des ouvrages en privilégiant l'innovation et l'originalité. D'autres critères le guident encore: la qualité de l'impression et de la reliure ainsi que les matériaux utilisés. Cette distinction se veut honorifique, aucun prix en espèces n'est attribué. Aucune hiérarchie n'est instaurée entre les récompenses, le même traitement est réservé à tous les plus beaux livres suisses primés chaque année.

Médiation du prix 
Le catalogue présente les livres primés au travers des rapports du jury et fait office de plateforme où débattre les questions d'actualité en rapport avec le livre. Des expositions présentent les livres primés en Suisse ; des présentations plus modestes à l'étranger leur succèdent.  Les expositions et le catalogue font connaître ce prix au public et stimulent les échanges entre les représentants des divers secteurs: conception graphique, impression et édition.

Echo du concours 
Le concours s'apparente à un véritable séismographe: il enregistre les tendances et identifie les courants contemporains de la conception graphique et de la production de livres tout en disposant d'une ample mémoire historique. Tous les ans, les plus beaux livres suisses figurent parmi les lauréats internationaux participant au concours des plus beaux livres du monde entier organisé par la Fondation de l'art du livre de Leipzig (Stiftung Buchkunst). C'est ainsi qu'en 2010, quatre ouvrages suisses ont gagné une médaille d'or, une d'argent et une de bronze ainsi qu'un diplôme d'honneur ; pour l'édition 2011, le bilan se monte à une médaille d'argent, une de bronze et un diplôme d'honneur. Ces résultats témoignent, s'il en était encore besoin, de l'excellence du design du livre en Suisse, pays qui a une longue tradition dans ce domaine, et dont les réalisations servent de références et jouissent d'un grand prestige dans le monde entier.

Histoire du concours
En 1998, l'Office fédéral de la culture (OFC) a pris le relais de l'association suisse alémanique des libraires et des éditeurs (Schweizer Buchhändler- und Verlegerverband) et depuis, il organise le concours. Ce passage de témoin s'est accompagné d'une réorientation de la stratégie et du contenu du concours, qui conserve aujourd'hui encore toute sa validité. Seule une expérience professionnelle de la réalisation de livres est nécessaire pour faire partie du jury, ce qui fait la part belle à la créativité. L'ouverture du concours vers l'étranger a permis de tenir compte des changements intervenus dans la production sur le marché du livre.

Participation au concours

Le jury se prononcera en janvier 2013 sur les plus beaux livres suisses 2012. Dernier délai pour envoyer vos ouvrages : jeudi 10 janvier 2013 (le cachet postal fait foi). Les livres arrivés après cette date ne seront plus pris en compte. Le formulaire d'inscription et les directives régissant la participation au concours peuvent être téléchargés sur le site dès octobre 2012. NB : Vous êtes prié de ne pas envoyer de livre sans son formulaire !

Catalogue

Impressum
Les plus beaux livres suisses 2011
Textes en allemand, français, italien et anglais
ISBN : 978-3-9522700-9-7

Edité par :
l'Office fédéral de la culture, Berne
Conception et design : Aude Lehmann

Parution :
juin 2012

Livraison :
Buchzentrum Olten, numéro de commande : 12504837

Distribution Allemagne, Autriche :
Verlag Hermann Schmidt, Mainz
info@typografie.de, www.typografie.de

Distribution internationale :
Idea Books, Amsterdam
idea@ideabooks.nl, http://www.ideabooks.nl/

Jury


Manuel Krebs, 1970,  Berne [Président du jury]

Études de graphisme à l'école d'Arts visuels de Bienne. En 1999 à Zurich, fondation avec Dimitri Bruni du bureau de graphisme Norm, qui crée et édite des livres et des polices typographiques. Le design de livres comprend des propres recherches dans les domaines typographiques et du design, en particulier 'Norm: Introduction' (2000) et 'Norm: The Things' (2002). Entre autres, collaborations avec divers musées (TATE Modern; Kunsthaus Zürich; Museum für Gestaltung Zürich) et des artistes (Fischli & Weiss; Simon Starling; Dieter Roth). Comme exemples typographiques, on peut citer la police 'Simple' de l'aéroport de Köln (2003); la police créée pour l'entreprise de montres OMEGA, la police  'Replica' (2008) et celle créée pour Swatch (2010). En 2005, Norm remporte le premier prix du concours d'idées de la Banque Nationale Suisse pour la nouvelle série de billets de banque. En 2011, Norm reçoit le Grand Prix Design de la Confédération suisse. Actuellement, Norm travaille avec le Louvre à Paris sur la signalétique et la communication du Louvre-Lens qui ouvre ses portes en hiver 2012.

Will Holder, 1969, Hatfield (UK)
Typographe de formation, Will Holder est auteur, éditeur, concepteur visuel et distributeur de livre. Il édite F.R. DAVID, une revue consacrée à la lecture et à l'écriture dans les arts, publiée par de Appel, Amsterdam. Il travaille actuellement à la rédaction et au design d'une biographie consacrée au compositeur américain Robert Ashley sous la forme de notation musicale (avec Alex Waterman) et remanie 'News from Nowhere (An epoch of rest)' (1876) de William Morris pour le transformer en un guide d'enseignement et de pratique du design en 2135. En mai 2009, Holder a monté 'Talk Show' au ICA, une exposition et un programme de manifestations d'un mois sur le thème du discours et de la conversation comme modèle pour la production. Depuis 1999, il enseigne à la Rietveld Academie, Amsterdam, et a dirigé le projet de recherche 'The Tomorrow Book' à la Jan van Eyck Academie, Maastricht. Will Holder vit à Londres.

Christina Reble, 1950, Zurich
Formation dans l'édition et comme typographe. De 1973 à 1985, rédactrice à l'Institut pour l'histoire et la théorie de l'architecture à l'EPFZ. Collaboration avec Hans-Rudolf Lutz. Projets de petites maisons d'édition. Depuis 1986, Cheffe des publications au Museum für Gestaltung Zürich avec comme points forts la communication visuelle, le design et l'architecture. Coopérations avec des graphistes, des producteurs et des maisons d'édition partenaires. Activités de conseil et d'enseignement à la ZHdK.

Christoph Schifferli, 1950, Ascona
Etudes de sinologie, d'histoire économique et d'informatique à Paris; thèse de doctorat sur l'histoire économique de la Chine, en 1980. Dès 1981, plusieurs mandats de recherche en Asie et diverses activités dans le domaine de l'édition et de la technologie; travaille, depuis 1983, dans les domaines du multimédia et d'Internet où ses priorités vont à l'art, à la culture et à l'enseignement. Collectionne, depuis les années quatre-vingt, des œuvres photographiques ainsi que des livres d'artistes et de photos.

Lex Trüb, 1971, Horgen
Etudes de graphisme à l'école d'Arts visuels de Zurich. Fonde 'Nieves Verlag' en 2001 avec Benjamin Sommerhalder et y travaille jusqu'en 2003. De 2002 à 2004, direction artistique pour la communication visuelle du Schauspielhaus de Zurich. Depuis 2005, sous le nom de Lehni-Trueb avec Urs Lehni, actif dans divers domaines : conception de livres, design d'expositions, identité visuelle et ateliers ; travaux sous mandat pour des institutions, des musées, des artistes et des architectes au niveau national et international. En 2008, création de la maison d'édition Bookhorse, comme dispositif servant différents projets de publications en collaboration avec des artistes et des écrivains. Travaille actuellement avec Lytle Shaw à un livre intitulé 'The Moiré Effect' sur la vie mystérieuse du photographe suisse Ernst Moiré.