Archives
Current Year

The Most Beautiful Swiss Books

`The Most Beautiful Swiss Books 2013`, Helmhaus Zürich, Photo: Oliver Sutter © BAK

Competition

'The Most Beautiful Swiss Books' competition was established to promote and reward top-quality book design in Switzerland. It was established at the behest of the famous typographer and designer Jan Tschichold in 1943. The competition is open to graphic designers, publishers and printers. Annually, the Federal Office of Culture receives around 400 submissions. A five-member, internationally staffed jury, currently chaired by Manuel Krebs, selects the most beautiful Swiss books each year. The competition charts current trends and tendencies in contemporary book design and production, while also looking back on a substantial and significant history..


What qualifies as a Swiss book?
A book is considered a Swiss book when it fulfils at least one of the following three criteria: the book was designed by a Swiss designer, the publisher has its headquarters in Switzerland, or the printer has its headquarters in Switzerland.

The judging criteria
In judging the submissions to the competition, the jury takes into account each book's overall concept, graphic design and typography, and pays particular attention to innovation and originality. Further criteria include the quality of the printing and the cover, the binding and the materials used. The award is conceived as a distinction and no prize money is conferred. There is no hierarchy among the prize-winning books.

Catalogue and exhibitions
The results of the jury's verdict are published annually in a catalogue, containing the jury reviews and various data on the prize-winning books. In addition, a number of exhibitions are mounted annually in Switzerland, while the books are also presented in several smaller exhibitions abroad. Catalogue and exhibitions not only lend the award greater visibility, they also promote the exchange of ideas among designers, printers and publishers.

History of the competition
In 1998, the Federal Office of Culture took over the coordination of 'The Most Beautiful Swiss Books' competition, which had previously been organized by the Swiss Association of Booksellers and Publishers. Since then, the competition has undergone a reassessment of its strategy and content, factors which still apply today. Since the professional and design expertise of the jury members has top priority, greater emphasis is therefore placed on the aspect of design. Taking into account globally changing conditions of production, the competition now allows for a more international outlook.

Jury

Manuel Krebs, 1970, Bern [Chair of the Jury]
Studied graphic design at the Schule für Gestaltung in Biel-Bienne. Established the graphic design studio NORM together with Dimitri Bruni in 1999, with a focus on designing and publishing books and typefaces. Book design includes self-commissioned research in the field of type and graphic design; commissions include numerous collaborations with museums (Tate Modern, Kunsthaus Zürich, Museum für Gestaltung Zürich) and artists (Fischli/Weiss, Simon Starling, Christian Marclay) – most recently, the nine-volume collection of David Weiss’s early works, ‘Nine Books, 1973–1979’. Examples for type design include the Simple typeface for Cologne airport (2003), the corporate typeface for Omega watches, the typeface Replica (2008) and the corporate identity and typeface for Swatch (2012). NORM was commissioned by SANAA to create the signage of the Louvre-Lens, which opened in late 2012. In 2005, NORM won first prize at the Swiss National Bank’s competition for the new banknote series. In 2011, NORM was awarded the Grand Prix Design by the Swiss Government.

 

David Bennewith, 1977, Takapuna (New Zealand)
A graphic designer and design researcher based in Amsterdam, David works on both research-oriented and commissioned projects under the name 'Colophon' – with particular interest and focus on the disciplines of type-design and typography. David is a professor in the Communication Design Department of the Staatliche Hochschule für Gestaltung Karlsruhe in Germany and also teaches typography at the Gerrit Rietveld Academie in Amsterdam.

 

Sara De Bondt, 1977, Leuven (B)
Trained in graphic design at Sint-Lukas, Brussels and Jan van Eyck academie, Maastricht. Set up her own studio in London in 2005. The studio’s approach is research and idea driven, with strong emphasis on visual clarity and typographic detailing. It actively seeks out collaboration, both with its clients and colleagues, which has led to a wide range of projects from international clients such as Guggenheim, WIELS Brussels, Tate, ICA, V&A, Artissima Turin, Camden Arts Centre, Liverpool Biennial, Kunsthal Charlottenborg and others. Sara is a Visiting Professor at School of Arts, Ghent, and previously taught at Central Saint Martins School of Arts and Design and the Royal College of Art, London. In 2008, she founded Occasional Papers together with Antony Hudek.

 

Kurt Eckert, 1948, Aarau
Typesetter, Vorkurs, 'Form und Farbe' (F+F) in Zurich. Worked under Hans-Rudolf Lutz. Assistant to Peter Jenny at the design department of the architecture school at ETH Zurich. Teacher at the photography specialisation (1984–87); professor for design and typography at the Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst Zürich (1987–2013), now Zurich University of the Arts. Conducted the 'Typoklub' in said place, among others with Manuel Krebs and Marco Walser (2000–05), and ran the Master for Editorial Design, Development and Practice, together with Matthias Michel and others (2007–13). Alongside runs an own design practice, cooperations with architects, film makers, editors, artists, curators.

 

Markus Schmutz, 1964, Zurich
Bookseller since 1986. Specialized in art, design and architecture from 1994 onwards. Started his own bookshop Kunstgriff in Zurich in 1996, with an emphasis on contemporary art and photography.

Participating in the competition

At the end of January 2015, the most beautiful Swiss books of 2014 will be judged by the jury of the competition. The submission date for books from the year 2014 is Saturday, 10. January 2015 (postmark). Later submissions will not be considered. Applications for the competition can be submitted online from 1st november 2014 onwards:

https://www.gate.bak.admin.ch/fpf/public/announcement?id=850

Catalogue

The Most Beautiful Swiss Books 2013

Concept and design: Maximage, David Keshavjee, Julien Tavelli, Lausanne/Zurich
ISBN: 978-3-9524209-1-1
Texts: German, English, French, Italian
Publisher: Federal Office of Culture, Bern
Launch date: June 2014
Swiss distribution: Buchzentrum Olten
Distribution Germany, Austria: Verlag Hermann Schmidt Mainz, info@typografie.de, www.typografie.de
International distribution: Idea Books, Amsterdam, idea@ideabooks.nl, www.ideabooks.nl

Archives
Année courante

Les plus beaux livres suisses

« Les plus beaux livres suisses 2013 », Helmhaus Zürich, Photo: Oliver Sutter © BAK

Concours

En organisant le concours ‘Les plus beaux livres suisses', la Confédération se dote d'un instrument de soutien au design, qui récompense et encourage le graphisme de qualité dans le domaine du livre. Le concours a été établi à l'initiative du typographe Jan Tschichold en 1944. Il est ouvert aux concepteurs graphiques, éditeurs et imprimeurs. L'Office fédéral de la culture reçoit annuellement près de 400 livres pour ce concours. Un jury international de cinq membres, actuellement sous la présidence de Manuel Krebs, sélectionne chaque année les plus beaux livres suisses. Le concours enregistre les tendances et identifie les courants contemporains de la conception graphique et de la production de livres tout en disposant d'une ample mémoire historique.


Qu'est-ce que c'est un livre suisse?
Est considéré comme livre suisse l'ouvrage qui remplit au moins l'un des critères suivants: le livre a été conçu par un ou une graphiste suisse, la maison d'édition a son siège principal en Suisse ou l'imprimerie a son siège principal en Suisse.

Critères du jury
Le jury évalue la conception, le graphisme et la typographie des ouvrages en privilégiant l'innovation et l'originalité. D'autres critères le guident encore: la qualité de l'impression et de la reliure ainsi que les matériaux utilisés. Cette distinction se veut honorifique, aucun prix en espèces n'est attribué. Aucune hiérarchie n'est instaurée entre les récompenses, le même traitement est réservé à tous les plus beaux livres suisses primés chaque année.

Médiation du prix
Le catalogue présente les livres primés au travers des rapports du jury et fait office de plateforme où débattre les questions d'actualité en rapport avec le livre. Des expositions présentent les livres primés en Suisse ; des présentations plus modestes à l'étranger leur succèdent. Les expositions et le catalogue font connaître ce prix au public et stimulent les échanges entre les représentants des divers secteurs: conception graphique, impression et édition.

Histoire du concours
En 1998, l'Office fédéral de la culture (OFC) a pris le relais de l'association suisse alémanique des libraires et des éditeurs (Schweizer Buchhändler- und Verlegerverband SBVV) et depuis, il organise le concours. Ce passage de témoin s'est accompagné d'une réorientation de la stratégie et du contenu du concours, qui conserve aujour¬d'hui encore toute sa validité. Seule une expérience professionnelle de la réalisation de livres est nécessaire pour faire partie du jury, ce qui fait la part belle à la créativité. L'ouverture du concours vers l'étranger a permis de tenir compte des changements intervenus dans la production sur le marché du livre.

Jury

Manuel Krebs, 1970, Berne [Président du jury]
Études de graphisme à l’école d’Arts visuels de Bienne. En 1999 à Zurich, fondation avec Dimitri Bruni du bureau de graphisme NORM, qui crée et édite des livres et des polices typographiques. Le design de livres comprend des propres recherches dans les domaines typographiques et du design. Entre autres, collaborations avec divers musées (Tate Modern; Kunsthaus Zürich; Museum für Gestaltung Zürich) et des artistes (Fischli & Weiss; Simon Starling; Christian Marclay) – plus récemment, le livre sur David Weiss, ‘Nine Books, 1973–1979’. Comme exemples typographiques, on peut citer la police 'Simple' de l’aéroport de Köln (2003); la police créée pour l’entreprise de montres OMEGA, la police 'Replica' (2008) et l’identité et police créée pour Swatch (2012). NORM était mandaté par SANAA pour créer la signalétique du Louvre-Lens qui a ouvert ses portes à la fin de 2012. En 2005, NORM remporte le premier prix du concours d’idées de la Banque Nationale Suisse pour la nouvelle série de billets de banque. En 2011, NORM reçoit le Grand Prix Design de la Confédération suisse.

 

David Bennewith, 1977, Takapuna (Nouvelle-Zélande)
David Bennewith travaille à Amsterdam et ses domaines d’activité sont le design graphique et la recherche en design. Sous le nom de ‘Colophon’, il traite aussi bien des travaux de recherche que de commande. Il s’intéresse plus particulièrement à des disciplines comme la typographie et la création de polices. Il est professeur en design de la communication à la Staatliche Hochschule für Gestaltung de Karlsruhe et enseigne la typographie à la Gerrit Rietveld Academie d’Amsterdam.

 

Sara De Bondt, 1977, Leuven (B)
Formation de designer graphique à Sint-Lukas à Bruxelles et à la Jan van Eyck Academie de Maastricht. Sarah de Bondt fonde son propre studio en 2005 à Londres. Ses travaux se caractérisent par la recherche, la clarté visuelle et la précision typographique. Le studio démarche activement les mandants et les collègues et peut se targuer de posséder un portfolio très huppé avec des noms tels que le Guggenheim Museum, WIELS Brüssel, Tate, ICA, Victoria & Albert Museum, Artissima Turin, Camden Arts Centre, Liverpool Biennial, Kunsthal Charlottenborg et beaucoup d’autres. Sarah de Bondt est professeur invité à la School of Arts de Gand, occupation qu’elle a déjà exercée à la Central Saint Martins School of Arts and Design et au Royal College of Art de Londres. En 2008, elle fonde avec Antony Hudek les éditions Occasional Papers.

 

Kurt Eckert, 1948, Aarau
Compositeur d’imprimerie, cours préliminaire ‘Form und Farbe’ (F+F) à Zurich. Collaboration auprès de Hans-Rudold Lutz. Assistant à la chaire de ‘Bildnerisches Gestalten’ à la section d’architecture de l’EPF de Zurich chez Peter Jenny. Enseignant à la classe de photographie (1984-1987). Professeur de conception visuelle et de typographie à la Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst de Zurich (1987-2013). Y a animé le ‘Typoclub’ notamment avec Manuel Krebs et Marco Walser (2000-2005) et le master de design éditorial, développement et pratique, avec Matthias Michel notamment (2007-2013). Mène en parallèle des activités de création, des collaborations avec des architectes, des cinéastes, des éditeurs, des artistes et des curateurs.

 

Markus Schmutz, 1964, Zurich
Libraire depuis 1986. Spécialisation en art, design et architecture depuis 1994. Fondation et exploitation de la librairie ‘Kunstgriff’ à Zurich à partir de 1996, spécialisée dans l’art contemporain et la photographie.

Participation au concours

Le jury se prononcera en janvier 2015 sur les plus beaux livres suisses 2014. Dernier délai pour envoyer vos ouvrages : samedi 10 janvier 2015 (le cachet postal fait foi). Les livres arrivés après cette date ne seront plus pris en compte. L’inscription pour la participation au concours s’effectue online à partir du 1 novembre 2014 :

https://www.gate.bak.admin.ch/fpf/public/announcement?id=850

Catalogue

Les plus beaux livres suisses 2013
Conception et design : Maximage, David Keshavjee, Julien Tavelli, Lausanne/Zürich
ISBN: 978-3-9524209-1-1
Textes : allemand, français, italien et anglais
Edité par l’Office fédéral de la culture, Berne
Parution : juin 2014
Livraison : Buchzentrum Olten
Distribution Allemagne, Autriche : Verlag Hermann Schmidt, Mainz, info@typografie.de, www.typografie.de
Distribution internationale : Idea Books, Amsterdam, idea@ideabooks.nl, www.ideabooks.nl