Archives
Current Year

The Most Beautiful Swiss Books

`The Most Beautiful Swiss Books 2013`, Helmhaus Zürich, Photo: Oliver Sutter © BAK

Competition

The competition charts current trends and tendencies in contemporary book design and production, while also looking back on a substantial and significant history.

The judging criteria
In judging the submissions to the competition, the jury takes into account each book's overall concept, graphic design and typography, and pays particular attention to innovation and originality. Further criteria include the quality of the printing and the cover, the binding and the materials used. The award is conceived as a distinction and no prize money is conferred. There is no hierarchy among the prizewinning books.

Catalogue and exhibitions
The results of the jury's verdict are published annually in a catalogue, containing the jury reviews and various data on the prizewinning books. In addition, a number of exhibitions are mounted annually in Switzerland, while the books are also presented in several smaller exhibitions abroad. Catalogue and exhibitions not only lend the award greater visibility, they also promote the exchange of ideas among designers, printers and publishers.

History of the competition
In 1998, the Federal Office of Culture took over the coordination of 'The Most Beautiful Swiss Books' competition, which had previously been organized by the Swiss Association of Booksellers and Publishers. Since then, the competition has undergone a reassessment of its strategy and content, factors which still apply today. Since the professional and design expertise of the jury members has top priority, greater emphasis is therefore placed on the aspect of design. Taking into account globally changing conditions of production, the competition now allows for a more international outlook.

Jury

Manuel Krebs, 1970, Bern [Chair of the Jury]
Studied graphic design at the Schule für Gestaltung in Biel-Bienne. Established the graphic design studio NORM together with Dimitri Bruni in 1999, with a focus on designing and publishing books and typefaces. Book design includes self-commissioned research in the field of type and graphic design; commissions include numerous collaborations with museums (Tate Modern, Kunsthaus Zürich, Museum für Gestaltung Zürich) and artists (Fischli/Weiss, Simon Starling, Christian Marclay) – most recently, the nine-volume collection of David Weiss’s early works, ‘Nine Books, 1973–1979’. Examples for type design include the Simple typeface for Cologne airport (2003), the corporate typeface for Omega watches, the typeface Replica (2008) and the corporate identity and typeface for Swatch (2012). NORM was commissioned by SANAA to create the signage of the Louvre-Lens, which opened in late 2012. In 2005, NORM won first prize at the Swiss National Bank’s competition for the new banknote series. In 2011, NORM was awarded the Grand Prix Design by the Swiss Government.

 

Géraldine Beck, 1988, Genève
Géraldine Beck works in the domain of selling and distributing books since 2008. She first worked for Motto Books in Berlin and then moved to Zurich where she opened her own company, BECKBOOKS. Today, she is based in Geneva, where she studies comparative literature and English. She runs the web-series BOOK TV, a project aimed at presenting diverse art book publications as seen by individual specialists. She undertakes various collaborations with artists such as exhibitions, events and publications. She is particularly interested in the circulation of ideas and the diffusion of printed material in the realm of the arts.

 

David Bennewith, 1977, Takapuna (New Zealand)
A graphic designer and design researcher based in Amsterdam, David works on both research-oriented and commissioned projects under the name 'Colophon' – with particular interest and focus on the disciplines of type-design and typography. David is a professor in the Communication Design Department of the Staatliche Hochschule für Gestaltung Karlsruhe in Germany and also teaches typography at the Gerrit Rietveld Academie in Amsterdam.

 

Markus Dressen, 1971, Münster (Deutschland)
Markus Dressen is a graphic designer, publisher and professor based in Leipzig. He studied graphic design at the Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst, Leipzig under Hildegard Korger, Günter Karl Bose, Ruedi Baur and Volker Pfüller. Together with Anne König and Jan Wenzel he publishes the magazine 'Spector cut+paste' (since 2000), and co-founded the publishing house 'Spector Books' (since 2008). Admission into Alliance Graphique Internationale (2004). Professorship in graphic design at HGB Leipzig (since 2006). Book design for artists (Olaf Nicolai, Cyprien Gaillard, Tal R, Neo Rauch, Ilya Kabakov, Christine Hill, Ramon Haze). Creation of visual identities (Schauspiel Stuttgart, Galerie für Zeitgenössische Kunst Leipzig, Kulturstiftung des Freistaates Sachsen).

 

Kurt Eckert, 1948, Aarau (Switzerland)
Typesetter, Vorkurs, 'Form und Farbe' (F+F) in Zurich. Worked under Hans-Rudolf Lutz. Assistant to Peter Jenny at the design department of the architecture school at ETH Zurich. Teacher at the photography specialisation (1984–87); professor for design and typography at the Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst Zürich (1987–2013), now Zurich University of the Arts. Conducted the 'Typoklub' in said place, among others with Manuel Krebs and Marco Walser (2000–05), and ran the Master for Editorial Design, Development and Practice, together with Matthias Michel and others (2007–13). Alongside runs an own design practice, cooperations with architects, film makers, editors, artists, curators.

Participating in the competition

At the end of January 2016, the most beautiful Swiss books of 2015 will be judged by the jury of the competition. The submission date for books from the year 2015 is Monday, 14. December 2015 (post-mark). Later submissions will not be considered. Applications for the competition can be submitted on-line via the this platform:


https://www.gate.bak.admin.ch/fpf/public/announcement?id=855

Catalogue

The Most Beautiful Swiss Books 2014
Concept and design: Studio NOI, Simone Koller & Corina Neuenschwander, Zürich
ISBN: 978-3-909928-30-9
Texts: German, English, French, Italian
Publisher: Federal Office of Culture, Bern
Launch date: June 2015
Swiss distribution: Edition Hochparterre,
www.edition.hochparterre.ch 
International distribution:
Idea Books, Amsterdam,
idea@ideabooks.nl, www.ideabooks.nl

Archives
Année courante

Les plus beaux livres suisses

« Les plus beaux livres suisses 2013 », Helmhaus Zürich, Photo: Oliver Sutter © BAK

Concours

Le concours enregistre les tendances et identifie les courants contemporains de la conception graphique et de la production de livres tout en disposant d'une ample mémoire historique.

Critères du jury
Le jury évalue la conception, le graphisme et la typographie des ouvrages en privilégiant l'innovation et l'originalité. D'autres critères le guident encore: la qualité de l'impression et de la reliure ainsi que les matériaux utilisés. Cette distinction se veut honorifique, aucun prix en espèces n'est attribué. Aucune hiéarchie n'est instaurée entre les récompenses, le même traitement est réservé à tous les plus beaux livres suisses primés chaque année.

Médiation du prix
Le catalogue présente les livres primés au travers des rapports du jury et fait office de plateforme où débattre les questions d'actualité en rapport avec le livre. Des expositions présentent les livres primés en Suisse ; des présentations plus modestes à l'étranger leur succèdent. Les expositions et le catalogue font connaître ce prix au public et stimulent les échanges entre les représentants des divers secteurs: conception graphique, impression et édition.

Histoire du concours

En 1998, l'Office fédéral de la culture (OFC) a pris le relais de l'association suisse alémanique des libraires et des éditeurs (Schweizer Buchhändler- und Verlegerverband SBVV) et depuis, il organise le concours. Ce passage de témoin s'est accompagné d'une réorientation de la stratégie et du contenu du concours, qui conserve aujourd'hui encore toute sa validité. Seule une expérience professionnelle de la réalisation de livres est nécessaire pour faire partie du jury, ce qui fait la part belle à la créativité. L'ouverture du concours vers l'étranger a permis de tenir compte des changements intervenus dans la producion sur le marché du livre.

Jury

Manuel Krebs, 1970, Berne [Président du jury]
Études de graphisme à l’école d’Arts visuels de Bienne. En 1999 à Zurich, fondation avec Dimitri Bruni du bureau de graphisme NORM, qui crée et édite des livres et des polices typographiques. Le design de livres comprend des propres recherches dans les domaines typographiques et du design. Entre autres, collaborations avec divers musées (Tate Modern; Kunsthaus Zürich; Museum für Gestaltung Zürich) et des artistes (Fischli & Weiss; Simon Starling; Christian Marclay) – plus récemment, le livre sur David Weiss, ‘Nine Books, 1973–1979’. Comme exemples typographiques, on peut citer la police 'Simple' de l’aéroport de Köln (2003); la police créée pour l’entreprise de montres OMEGA, la police 'Replica' (2008) et l’identité et police créée pour Swatch (2012). NORM était mandaté par SANAA pour créer la signalétique du Louvre-Lens qui a ouvert ses portes à la fin de 2012. En 2005, NORM remporte le premier prix du concours d’idées de la Banque Nationale Suisse pour la nouvelle série de billets de banque. En 2011, NORM reçoit le Grand Prix Design de la Confédération suisse.

 

Géraldine Beck, 1988, Genève
Géraldine Beck travaille dans le domaine de la vente et distribution de livres depuis 2008. Elle passe trois ans à Berlin à travailler pour Motto Distribution et s’installe à Zurich en 2011 pour ouvrir sa propre librairie un an plus tard, BECKBOOKS. Aujourd’hui basée à Genève, elle poursuit des études en Littérature Comparée et Anglais. Elle organise la web-serie BOOK TV, un projet visant à présenter diverses publications d'art sous l’oeil d’un spécialiste. À travers ses projets elle entreprend différentes formes de collaborations avec des artistes telles que des expositions, conférences, publications etc. Elle s’interesse particulièrement à la circulation des idées et la dispersion du matériel imprimé dans le domaine des arts.

 

David Bennewith, 1977, Takapuna (Nouvelle-Zélande)
David Bennewith travaille à Amsterdam et ses domaines d’activité sont le design graphique et la recherche en design. Sous le nom de ‘Colophon’, il traite aussi bien des travaux de recherche que de commande. Il s’intéresse plus particulièrement à des disciplines comme la typographie et la création de polices. Il est professeur en design de la communication à la Staatliche Hochschule für Gestaltung de Karlsruhe et enseigne la typographie à la Gerrit Rietveld Academie d’Amsterdam.

 

Markus Dressen, 1971, Münster (Deutschland)
Markus Dressen est graphiste, éditeur et professeur à Leipzig. Il a complétée ses études à la Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst (HGB), Leipzig chez Hildegard Korger, Günter Karl Bose, Ruedi Baur et Volker Pfüller. Avec Anne König et Jan Wenzel, il est co-éditeur du journal 'Spector cut+paste' (depuis 2000), et a fondé, avec eux, l’édition 'Spector Books' en 2008. Admission à l’Alliance Graphique Internationale (2004). Professorat en design graphique à la HGB Leipzig depuis 2006. Conception graphique pour livres d’artistes (Olaf Nicolai, Cyprien Gaillard, Tal R, Neo Rauch, Ilya Kabakov, Christine Hill, Ramon Haze). Création des identités visuelles (Schauspiel Stuttgart, Galerie für Zeitgenössische Kunst Leipzig, Kulturstiftung des Freistaates Sachsen).

 

Kurt Eckert, 1948, Aarau (Switzerland)
Compositeur d’imprimerie, cours préliminaire ‘Form und Farbe’ (F+F) à Zurich. Collaboration auprès de Hans-Rudold Lutz. Assistant à la chaire de ‘Bildnerisches Gestalten’ à la section d’architecture de l’EPF de Zurich chez Peter Jenny. Enseignant à la classe de photographie (1984-1987). Professeur de conception visuelle et de typographie à la Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst de Zurich (1987-2013). Y a animé le ‘Typoclub’ notamment avec Manuel Krebs et Marco Walser (2000-2005) et le master de design éditorial, développement et pratique, avec Matthias Michel notamment (2007-2013). Mène en parallèle des activités de création, des collaborations avec des architectes, des cinéastes, des éditeurs, des artistes et des curateurs.

Participation au concours

Le jury se prononcera en janvier 2016 sur les plus beaux livres suisses 2015. Dernier délai pour envoyer vos ouvrages : lundi 14 décembre 2015 (le cachet postal fait foi). Les livres arrivés après cette date ne seront plus pris en compte. L’inscription pour la participation au concours s’effectue online par cette plateforme :


https://www.gate.bak.admin.ch/fpf/public/announcement?id=855

 

Catalogue

Les plus beaux livres suisses 2014
Conception et design : Studio NOI, Simone Koller & Corina Neuenschwander, Zürich
ISBN: 978-3-909928-30-9
Textes : allemand, français, italien et anglais
Edité par l’Office fédéral de la culture, Berne
Parution : juin 2015
Distribution : Edition Hochparterre,
www.edition.hochparterre.ch 
Distribution internationale :
Idea Books, Amsterdam
idea@ideabooks.nl, www.ideabooks.nl