The Most Beautiful Swiss Books of the year 2015 (awarded in January 2016)

About the awarded year

The Swiss Federal Office of Culture organizes the competition ‘The Most Beautiful Swiss Books’ on an annual basis. It thereby recognizes excellence in the field of book design and production, as well drawing attention to remarkable and contemporary books by Swiss designers, printers and publishers.

The five-member jury, chaired for the first time by Gilles Gavillet, appraised all the submissions and selected 18 titles as the Most Beautiful Swiss Books of 2015.

The Most Beautiful Swiss Books of 2015 will be on display to the public at the Helmhaus Zurich from 12 to 16 May 2016. The catalogue of this year’s competition will be published at the same time. The winner of the Jan Tschichold Award will be honoured at the vernissage. Further events at the weekend will examine key issues related to the subject of books.

The books will be on show for the first time in Ticino (Villa dei Cedri, Bellinzona), as well as in Basel and Lausanne, in autumn 2016. As in previous years, all the books entered in the competition will be displayed alongside the award-winning titles.

The award-winning publications are also shown abroad each year in exhibitions hosted by various institutions and local organisers. Presentations at venues including Copenhagen, Oslo, Paris (Centre culturel suisse), Venice and Vienna are planned.

Helmhaus Zurich
Vernissage: Thursday 12 May 2016
Exhibition: Thursday 12 to Monday 16 May 2016
Limmatquai 31, 8001 Zurich
www.helmhaus.org

Museo Civico Villa dei Cedri, Bellinzona
Vernissage: Saturday 27 August 2016
Exhibition: Sunday 28 August to Sunday 25 September 2016
Piazza San Biagio 9
6500 Bellinzona TI
www.villacedri.ch

Kunsthalle Basel
Exhibition: Thursday 6 October to Sunday 16 October 2016
Steinenberg 7, 4051 Basel
www.kunsthallebasel.ch

Ecole cantonale d’art de Lausanne ECAL
Vernissage: Wednesday 2 November 2016
Exhibition: Thursday 3 to Friday 25 November 2016
5, avenue du Temple
1020 Renens
www.ecal.ch

Jan-Tschichold Award

Organised by the FOC since 1997, the Jan Tschichold Award recognises outstanding achievements in book design by an individual, group or institution. It is bestowed independently of the competition. This year’s award, which is endowed with CHF 15,000, goes to the designer and typographer Ludovic Balland, who was born in Basel in 1973 and grew up in Geneva. In its commendation, the jury noted that Balland has developed a unique graphic methodology that has found applications in a range of fields, from publishing and typography to academia. By reformulating the credo of the Basel School for the modern day, with a particular emphasis on formal and typographical research, he has successfully combined this heritage with current graphic design practice. In the field of architecture, Balland’s book design conveys a coherent graphic portrait of contemporary Switzerland. His numerous monographs on leading architects (Herzog & de Meuron, Buchner Bründler, Meili, Peter, etc.) and books on specialist subjects (such as ‘Teaching and Research in Architecture’) testify to his obsessive and ambitious approach, which has influenced book design far beyond Switzerland’s borders (see short biography in ‘Downloads’).

Die Schönsten Schweizer Bücher des Jahres 2015 (juriert im Januar 2016)

Über den Jahrgang

Das Bundesamt für Kultur (BAK) führt jährlich den Wettbewerb 'Die schönsten Schweizer Bücher' durch. Zum einen würdigt das BAK mit dieser Auszeichnung hervorragende Leistungen im Bereich der Buchgestaltung und -produktion. Zum andern richtet der Wettbewerb den Blick auf besonders beachtenswerte und zeitgemäss umgesetzte Bücher.

Im Januar prämierte eine fünfköpfige Jury insgesamt 18 Bücher des Buchjahrgangs 2015.
Vom 12. bis 16. Mai 2016 werden 'Die schönsten Schweizer Bücher' des Jahrgangs 2015 im Helmhaus Zürich der Öffentlichkeit präsentiert, zeitgleich erscheint der Katalog zum diesjährigen Wettbewerb. Im Rahmen der Ausstellungs-Vernissage wird zudem der diesjährige Jan-Tschichold-Preisträger, Ludovic Balland, geehrt.

Im Herbst 2015 werden die Bücher erstmals im Tessin gezeigt (Villa dei Cedri, Bellinzona), ebenso in Basel (Kunsthalle Basel) und in Lausanne (ECAL Ecole cantonale d’art de Lausanne). Jedes Jahr werden sämtliche beim Wettbewerb eingereichten Bücher zusammen mit den prämierten Büchern ausgestellt. Die Daten und Veranstaltungsorte können dem beiliegenden PDF entnommen werden.

Auf Einladung von verschiedenen Institutionen und lokalen Veranstaltern sind die prämierten Bücher ausserdem jährlich im Ausland zu sehen. Vorgesehen sind unter anderem Ausstellungen in London, Kopenhagen, Oslo, Paris (Centre culturel suisse), Venedig und Wien.

Helmhaus Zürich
Vernissage: Donnerstag, 12. Mai 2016
Ausstellung: Donnerstag, 12. bis Montag, 16. Mai 2016
Limmatquai 31, 8001 Zürich
www.helmhaus.org

Museo Civico Villa dei Cedri, Bellinzona
Vernissage: Samstag, 27. August 2016
Ausstellung: Sonntag, 28. August bis Sonntag, 25. September 2016
Piazza San Biagio 9
6500 Bellinzona TI
www.villacedri.ch

Kunsthalle Basel
Ausstellung: Donnerstag 6. Oktober bis Sonntag, 16. Oktober 2016
Steinenberg 7, 4051 Basel
www.kunsthallebasel.ch

Ecole cantonale d’art de Lausanne ECAL
Vernissage: Mittwoch, 2. November 2016
Ausstellung: Donnerstag, 3. bis Freitag, 25. November 2016
5, avenue du Temple
1020 Renens
www.ecal.ch

Jan-Tschichold-Preis

Mit dem Jan-Tschichold-Preis zeichnet das BAK seit 1997 eine Persönlichkeit, eine Gruppe oder eine Institution für hervorragende Leistungen in der Buchgestaltung aus. Die Jury vergibt diese Auszeichnung jeweils unabhängig vom Wettbewerb. Der diesjährige Preis in der Höhe von 15 000 Franken geht an den Gestalter und Typografen Ludovic Balland (*1973 in Basel, aufgewachsen in Genf). In ihrer Würdigung befand die Jury, dass Balland eine einzigartige grafische Methodologie entwickelt hat, die in verschiedenen Sparten wie Verlagswesen, Typografie oder dem akademischen Bereich ihre Anwendung gefunden hat. Indem Balland die Leitgedanken der Basler Schule insbesondere in Bezug auf die formale und typografische Forschung zeitgemäss neu formuliert hat, ist es ihm gelungen, dieses Erbe mit dem aktuellen Grafikschaffen zu verbinden. Im Bereich der Architektur vermittelt Ballands Buchgestaltung ein schlüssiges grafisches Portrait der Schweizer Gegenwart. Seine zahlreichen Monografien von namhaften Architekten (Herzog & de Meuron, Buchner Bründler, Meili, Peter usw.) sowie Sachbücher (etwa 'Teaching and Research in Architecture') machen seinen gleichzeitig obsessiven und ehrgeizigen Ansatz sichtbar, der die Buchgestaltung weit über die Landesgrenzen hinaus geprägt hat. (s. Kurzbiografie in der Beilage).