The Most Beautiful Swiss Books of the year 2015 (awarded in January 2016)

About the awarded year

The Swiss Federal Office of Culture organizes the competition ‘The Most Beautiful Swiss Books’ on an annual basis. It thereby recognizes excellence in the field of book design and production, as well drawing attention to remarkable and contemporary books by Swiss designers, printers and publishers.

The five-member jury, chaired for the first time by Gilles Gavillet, appraised all the submissions and selected 18 titles as the Most Beautiful Swiss Books of 2015.

The Most Beautiful Swiss Books of 2015 will be on display to the public at the Helmhaus Zurich from 12 to 16 May 2016. The catalogue of this year’s competition will be published at the same time. The winner of the Jan Tschichold Award will be honoured at the vernissage. Further events at the weekend will examine key issues related to the subject of books.

The books will be on show for the first time in Ticino (Villa dei Cedri, Bellinzona), as well as in Basel and Lausanne, in autumn 2016. As in previous years, all the books entered in the competition will be displayed alongside the award-winning titles.

The award-winning publications are also shown abroad each year in exhibitions hosted by various institutions and local organisers. Presentations at venues including Copenhagen, Oslo, Paris (Centre culturel suisse), Venice and Vienna are planned.

Helmhaus Zurich
Vernissage: Thursday 12 May 2016
Exhibition: Thursday 12 to Monday 16 May 2016
Limmatquai 31, 8001 Zurich
www.helmhaus.org

Museo Civico Villa dei Cedri, Bellinzona
Vernissage: Saturday 27 August 2016
Exhibition: Sunday 28 August to Sunday 25 September 2016
Piazza San Biagio 9
6500 Bellinzona TI
www.villacedri.ch

Kunsthalle Basel
Exhibition: Thursday 6 October to Sunday 16 October 2016
Steinenberg 7, 4051 Basel
www.kunsthallebasel.ch

Ecole cantonale d’art de Lausanne ECAL
Vernissage: Wednesday 2 November 2016
Exhibition: Thursday 3 to Friday 25 November 2016
5, avenue du Temple
1020 Renens
www.ecal.ch

Jan-Tschichold Award

Organised by the FOC since 1997, the Jan Tschichold Award recognises outstanding achievements in book design by an individual, group or institution. It is bestowed independently of the competition. This year’s award, which is endowed with CHF 15,000, goes to the designer and typographer Ludovic Balland, who was born in Basel in 1973 and grew up in Geneva. In its commendation, the jury noted that Balland has developed a unique graphic methodology that has found applications in a range of fields, from publishing and typography to academia. By reformulating the credo of the Basel School for the modern day, with a particular emphasis on formal and typographical research, he has successfully combined this heritage with current graphic design practice. In the field of architecture, Balland’s book design conveys a coherent graphic portrait of contemporary Switzerland. His numerous monographs on leading architects (Herzog & de Meuron, Buchner Bründler, Meili, Peter, etc.) and books on specialist subjects (such as ‘Teaching and Research in Architecture’) testify to his obsessive and ambitious approach, which has influenced book design far beyond Switzerland’s borders (see short biography in ‘Downloads’).

Archives
Année courante

Les plus beaux livres suisses de l'année 2015 (primés en janvier 2016)

Au sujet de l'année primée

L’Office fédéral de la culture (OFC) met sur pied chaque année le concours Les plus beaux livres suisses. L’OFC entend ainsi distinguer des réalisations particulièrement abouties dans la production et l’art du livre et attirer en même temps l’attention sur les ouvrages qui expriment les tendances contemporaines.

Les cinq membres du jury, présidé pour la première fois par Gilles Gavillet, ont examiné tous les envois parmi lesquels ils ont élu les dix-huit plus beaux livres suisses de l’édition 2015.

Du 12 au 16 mai 2016, « Les plus beaux livres suisses 2015 » seront présentés au public au Helmhaus de Zurich, parallèlement à la parution du catalogue. Le lauréat du prix Jan Tschichold sera honoré lors du vernissage. Le week-end, des manifestations seront consacrées à des thèmes récurrents ayant trait à l’art du livre.

A l’automne 2016, les livres seront présents pour la première fois au Tessin (Villa dei Cedri, Bellinzona), puis à Bâle et à Lausanne. Comme chaque année, tous les livres inscrits au concours seront exposés à côté des ouvrages primés.

Les livres primés voyagent aussi chaque année à l’étranger sur invitation de diverses institutions et manifestations locales. Des expositions sont notamment prévues à Copenhague, Oslo, Paris (Centre culturel suisse), Venise et Vienne.

Helmhaus de Zurich
Vernissage : jeudi 12 mai 2016
Exposition : du jeudi 12 au lundi 16 mai 2016
Limmatquai 31, 8001 Zurich
www.helmhaus.org

Museo Civico Villa dei Cedri, Bellinzone
Vernissage : samedi 27 août 2016
Exposition : du dimanche 28 août au dimanche 25 septembre 2016
Piazza San Biagio 9
6500 Bellinzone TI
www.villacedri.ch

Kunsthalle Basel
Exposition : du jeudi 6 octobre au dimanche 16 octobre 2016
Steinenberg 7, 4051 Bâle
www.kunsthallebasel.ch

Ecole cantonale d’art de Lausanne ECAL
Vernissage : mercredi 2 novembre 2016
Exposition : du jeudi 3 au vendredi 25 novembre 2016
5, avenue du Temple
1020 Renens
www.ecal.ch

Prix Jan-Tschichold

Depuis 1997, l’OFC récompense avec le Prix Jan Tschichold une personnalité, un groupe ou une institution dont les réalisations sont remarquables dans le domaine de la conception graphique du livre. Le jury décerne ce prix sans lien avec le concours. Cette année, les 15 000 francs du Prix Jan Tschichold vont au designer et typographe Ludovic Balland (*1973 à Bâle, a grandi à Genève). Le jury observe que depuis le début des années 2000, Ludovic Balland a développé une méthodologie graphique unique qui s’est développée dans de nombreux domaines : éditorial, typographique et académique. En reformulant de manière contemporaine les enjeux de l’école graphique bâloise, notamment dans sa dimension de recherche formelle et typographique, il réussit à confronter cet héritage avec les enjeux du graphisme contemporain. Dans le champ de l’architecture, l’ensemble des ouvrages réalisés constitue un portrait graphique cohérent de la Suisse d’aujourd’hui. A travers de nombreuses monographies d’architectes de référence (Herzog et de Meuron, Buchner Bundler, Meili, Peter, etc.) ou des ouvrages de recherche (‘Teaching and Research in Architecture’), son approche à la fois obsessive et exigeante a marqué une position dans le design de livres dont l’impact dépasse largement nos frontières (voir la biographie en annexe).