Most Beautiful Swiss Books

Helmhaus Zürich, Photo: Guadalupe Ruiz © FOC

Competition

'The Most Beautiful Swiss Books' competition was established to promote and reward top-quality book design in Switzerland The competition is open to graphic designers, publishers and printers. Annually, the Federal Office of Culture receives around 400 submissions. A five-member, internationally staffed jury selects the most beautiful Swiss books each year. The competition charts current trends and tendencies in contemporary book design and production, while also looking back on a substantial and significant history.

What qualifies as a Swiss book?
A book is considered a Swiss book when it fulfils at least one of the following three criteria: the book was designed by a Swiss designer, the publisher has its headquarters in Switzerland, or the printer has its headquarters in Switzerland.

The judging criteria
In judging the submissions to the competition, the jury takes into account each book's overall concept, graphic design and typography, and pays particular attention to innovation and originality. Further criteria include the quality of the printing and the cover, the binding and the materials used. The award is conceived as a distinction and no prize money is conferred. There is no hierarchy among the prizewinning books.

Catalogue and exhibitions
The results of the jury's verdict are published annually in a catalogue, containing the jury reviews and various data on the prizewinning books. In addition, a number of exhibitions are mounted annually in Switzerland, while the books are also presented in several smaller exhibitions abroad. Catalogue and exhibitions not only lend the award greater visibility, they also promote the exchange of ideas among designers, printers and publishers.

History of the competition
In 1998, the Federal Office of Culture took over the coordination of 'The Most Beautiful Swiss Books' competition, which had previously been organized by the Swiss Association of Booksellers and Publishers. Since then, the competition has undergone a reassessment of its strategy and content, factors which still apply today. Since the professional and design expertise of the jury members has top priority, greater emphasis is therefore placed on the aspect of design. Taking into account globally changing conditions of production, the competition now allows for a more international outlook.

Jury

Gilles Gavillet, 1973, Lausanne (Chair of the Jury),
is a graphic designer based in Geneva. In 1998, he co-founded the Optimo type foundry. From 2004 to 2015 he served as art director of the publisher JRP|Ringier, and in 2013 he became art director of the annual publication of Art Basel. Since 2008 he is a professor of visual communication at ECAL Lausanne.

David Bennewith, 1977, Takapuna (New Zealand),
is a graphic designer and design researcher based in Amsterdam, where he works on both research-oriented and commissioned projects under the name Colophon - with particular interest and focus on the disciplines of type design and typography. Since 2015, he is the head of the graphic design department at the Gerrit Rietveld Academie, Amsterdam.

Markus Dressen, 1971, Münster (Germany), 
is a graphic designer, publisher and professor based in Leipzig. Together with Anne König and Jan Wenzel he publishes the magazine Spector Cut+Paste (since 2000), and co-founded the publishing house Spector Books in 2008. Since 2004 a member of Alliance Graphique Internationale, and a professor of graphic design at HGB Leipzig since 2006.

Mirjam Fischer, 1969, Bern,
served from 1998 to 2007 as coordinator of The Most Beautiful Swiss Books competition at the Federal Office of Culture in Bern, later becoming the director of publications at Edition Patrick Frey in Zürich. In 2013 she started Milles pages, where she works for a variety of institutions and publishers as an independent book producer and editor-at-large in the domains of art, photography and design. From 2014 to 2016 she was the head of the publications department of the Museum für Gestaltung Zürich. 

Tania Prill, 1969, Hamburg (Germany/Switzerland),
co-founded in 2001 the studio Prill & Vieceli - since 2011, Prill Vieceli Cremers - where she realises commissions in the cultural sector as well as self-initiated book projects such as MONEY (2015) and Under the Radar - Underground Zines and Self-Publications 1965-1975 (2017). She has been teaching since 2004: as a professor of communication design at Karlsruhe University of Arts and Design until 2010, and since then as professor of typography at the University of the Arts Bremen.

Participating in the competition

At the end of January 2018, the most beautiful Swiss books of 2017 will be judged by the jury of the competition. The submission date for books from the year 2017 on our online platform (Platform for supporting subsidies FPF) is December 7th, 2017. After the online registration, you have until December 31st 2017 to send in a physical copy of your book (date on the postmark).

Catalogue

The Most Beautiful Swiss Books 2016
Published by the Federal Office of Culture, Bern
Concept and graphic design: Hubertus Design, Zürich/New York
Photography/Litography: Widmer & Fluri, Zürich
Texts: Tan Wälchli, Berlin / Zürich Matthias Michel, Zürich
Languages: German, French, Italian, English
Publication date: August 2017
ISBN: 978-3-909928-40-8
Distribution Switzerland/Germany/Austria: Edition Hochparterre, www.edition.hochparterre.ch
International Distribution: Idea Books, Amsterdam, idea@ideabooks.nl, www.ideabooks.nl

Die schönsten Schweizer Bücher

Helmhaus Zürich, Foto: Guadalupe Ruiz © BAK

Wettbewerb

Der Wettbewerb „Die Schönsten Schweizer Bücher" ist ein Instrument des Bundesamtes für Kultur, das die Qualität der Buchgestaltung in der Schweiz honoriert und der Öffentlichkeit näherbringt. Der Wettbewerb ist offen für Exponenten der Bereiche Gestaltung, Verlagswesen und Druck. Jährlich werden beim Bundesamt für Kultur rund 400 Titel eingereicht. Eine fünfköpfige, international besetzte Jury, wählt daraus die schönsten Schweizer Bücher des jeweiligen Jahrganges aus. Der Wettbewerb erfasst Trends und erkennt Tendenzen der zeitgenössischen Buchgestaltung und -produktion, zugleich schafft er ein weit zurückreichendes historisches Gedächtnis.

Was ist ein Schweizer Buch?
Als Schweizer Buch gilt ein Produkt, wenn es mindestens eines der folgenden drei Kriterien erfüllt: Das Buch wurde von einer Schweizer Gestalterin bzw. einem Schweizer Gestalter entworfen, der Verlag hat seinen Hauptsitz in der Schweiz, oder die Druckerei hat ihren Hauptsitz in der Schweiz.

Kriterien der Jury
Die Jury beurteilt die Eingaben jeweils im Hinblick auf ihre Konzeption, grafische Gestaltung und Typografie und legt ein besonderes Augenmerk auf Innovation und Originalität. Weitere Kriterien sind die Qualität des Druckes und des Einbandes, die buchbinderische Verarbeitung sowie die verwendeten Materialien. Die Auszeichnung versteht sich als Ehrung und es werden keine Geldpreise vergeben. Es gibt keine Hierarchie der Auszeichnung, alle jährlich gewählten schönsten Schweizer Bücher werden gleichwertig behandelt.

Vermittlung der Ergebnisse
Die Ergebnisse der Jury werden in einem Katalog publiziert, der die prämierten Bücher anhand des Juryberichts präsentiert. Weiter finden Ausstellungen der prämierten Bücher innerhalb der Schweiz statt, sowie kleinere Ausstellungen und Präsentationen der Bücher im Ausland. Ausstellungen und Katalog verleihen der Auszeichnung Öffentlichkeit und unterstützen zudem den Austausch zwischen den Exponenten der Branchen Buchgestaltung, Druck und Verlagswesen.

Zur Geschichte des Wettbewerbs
Im Jahre 1998 übernahm das Bundesamt für Kultur (BAK) die Organisation des Wettbewerbs 'Die schönsten Schweizer Bücher' vom Schweizer Buchhändler- und Verlegerverband, der diesen Wettbewerb seit 1943 durchgeführt hat. Die Übernahme ging mit einer neuen strategischen und inhaltlichen Ausrichtung einher, die auch heute noch Gültigkeit hat. Allein die gestalterische und berufliche Kompetenz ist für die Jurymitgliedschaft ausschlaggebend, was eine stärkere Gewichtung des gestalterischen Aspekts mit sich bringt. Mit der Öffnung des Wettbewerbs gegenüber dem Ausland wurde den produktionsbedingten Veränderungen auf dem Buchmarkt Rechnung getragen.

Jury

Gilles Gavillet, 1973, Lausanne (Jurypräsident),
ist als Grafikdesigner in Genf tätig. Er war Mitbegründer der Optimo Type Foundry im Jahr 1998 und wirkte von 2004 bis 2015 als Art Director des Kunstbuchverlags JRP|Ringier. 2013 wurde er zum Art Director des jährlich erscheinenden Katalogs der Art Basel ernannt. Seit 2008 arbeitet er zudem als Professor für visuelle Kommunikation an der ECAL in Lausanne.

David Bennewith, 1977, Takapuna (New Zealand),
ist als Grafikdesigner und Designforscher in Amsterdam tätig. Unter dem Namen ‘Colophon' befasst er sich sowohl mit Forschungs- als auch mit Auftragsarbeiten, wobei sein besonderes Interesse und Augenmerk den Disziplinen Schriftgestaltung und Typografie gilt. Seit 2015 leitet er die Abteilung Grafikdesign an der Gerrit Rietveld Academie in Amsterdam.

Markus Dressen, 1971, Münster (Deutschland),
ist als Grafikdesigner, Verleger und Hochschullehrer in Leipzig tätig. Studium an der Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst. Zusammen mit Anne König und Jan Wenzel Herausgabe der Zeitschrift Spector cut+paste (seit 2000). Im Jahr 2008 gründeten sie gemeinsam den Verlag Spector Books. Aufnahme in die Alliance Graphique Internationale 2004. Seit 2006 wirkt er als Professor für Grafikdesign an der HGB Leipzig.

Mirjam Fischer, 1969, Bern
Von 1998 bis 2007 wirkte sie als Koordinatorin des Wettbewerbs Die schönsten Schweizer Bücher beim Bundesamt für Kultur in Bern, zwischen 2007 und 2012 war sie Verlagsleiterin bei Edition Patrick Frey in Zürich. Im Anschluss gründete sie 2013 mille pages und ist als unabhängige Buchproduzentin und Herausgeberin in den Bereichen Kunst, Fotografie und Design für verschiedene Häuser und Verlage tätig. Zudem arbeitete sie von 2014 bis 2016 als Leiterin der Publikationen beim Museum für Gestaltung Zürich.

Tania Prill, 1969, Hamburg (Schweiz/Deutschland)
Ihr 2001 in Zürich gegründetes Studio Prill & Vieceli - seit 2011: Prill Vieceli Cremers - realisiert neben Auftragsarbeiten im kulturellen Bereich eigeninitiierte Buchprojekte wie MONEY (2015) und Under the Radar - Underground Zines and Self-Publications 1965-1975 (2017). Von 2004 bis 2010 war sie als Professorin für Kommunikationsdesign an der Hochschule für Gestaltung Karlsruhe tätig und seither als Professorin für Typografie an der Hochschule für Künste Bremen.

Teilnahme am Wettbewerb

Ende Januar  2018 werden die schönsten Schweizer Bücher des Jahrgangs  2017 von der Jury beurteilt. Die Eingabefrist für Bücher aus dem Jahr  2017 auf unserer Onlineplattform (Förderplattform FPF) ist der  7. Dezember 2017. Nach der Onlineanmeldung haben Sie bis am 31. Dezember 2017 Zeit, uns die Bücher zu zusenden (Datum nach Poststempel).

Katalog

Die schönsten Schweizer Bücher 2016
Herausgeberin: Bundesamt für Kultur, Bern
Konzept und Gestaltung: Hubertus Design, Zürich/New York
Fotografie/Lithografie: Widmer & Fluri, Zürich
Texte: Tan Wälchli, Berlin / Zürich Matthias Michel, Zürich
Sprachen: deutsch, französisch, italienisch, englisch
Erscheinungstermin: August 2017
ISBN: 978-3-909928-40-8
Vertrieb Schweiz/Deutschland/Österreich: Edition Hochparterre, www.edition.hochparterre.ch
Vertrieb International: Idea Books, Amsterdam, idea@ideabooks.nl, www.ideabooks.nl