Most Beautiful Swiss Books

Helmhaus Zürich, Photo: Guadalupe Ruiz © FOC

Competition

'The Most Beautiful Swiss Books' competition was established to promote and reward top-quality book design in Switzerland The competition is open to graphic designers, publishers and printers. Annually, the Federal Office of Culture receives around 400 submissions. A five-member, internationally staffed jury selects the most beautiful Swiss books each year. The competition charts current trends and tendencies in contemporary book design and production, while also looking back on a substantial and significant history.

What qualifies as a Swiss book?
A book is considered a Swiss book when it fulfils at least one of the following three criteria: the book was designed by a Swiss designer, the publisher has its headquarters in Switzerland, or the printer has its headquarters in Switzerland.

The judging criteria
In judging the submissions to the competition, the jury takes into account each book's overall concept, graphic design and typography, and pays particular attention to innovation and originality. Further criteria include the quality of the printing and the cover, the binding and the materials used. The award is conceived as a distinction and no prize money is conferred. There is no hierarchy among the prizewinning books.

Catalogue and exhibitions
The results of the jury's verdict are published annually in a catalogue, containing the jury reviews and various data on the prizewinning books. In addition, a number of exhibitions are mounted annually in Switzerland, while the books are also presented in several smaller exhibitions abroad. Catalogue and exhibitions not only lend the award greater visibility, they also promote the exchange of ideas among designers, printers and publishers.

History of the competition
In 1998, the Federal Office of Culture took over the coordination of 'The Most Beautiful Swiss Books' competition, which had previously been organized by the Swiss Association of Booksellers and Publishers. Since then, the competition has undergone a reassessment of its strategy and content, factors which still apply today. Since the professional and design expertise of the jury members has top priority, greater emphasis is therefore placed on the aspect of design. Taking into account globally changing conditions of production, the competition now allows for a more international outlook.

Jury

Gilles Gavillet, 1973, Lausanne (Chair of the Jury),
is a graphic designer based in Geneva. In 1998, he co-founded the Optimo type foundry. From 2004 to 2015 he served as art director of the publisher JRP|Ringier, and in 2013 he became art director of the annual publication of Art Basel. Since 2008 he is a professor of visual communication at ECAL Lausanne.

David Bennewith, 1977, Takapuna (New Zealand),
is a graphic designer and design researcher based in Amsterdam, where he works on both research-oriented and commissioned projects under the name Colophon - with particular interest and focus on the disciplines of type design and typography. Since 2015, he is the head of the graphic design department at the Gerrit Rietveld Academie, Amsterdam.

Markus Dressen, 1971, Münster (Germany), 
is a graphic designer, publisher and professor based in Leipzig. Together with Anne König and Jan Wenzel he publishes the magazine Spector Cut+Paste (since 2000), and co-founded the publishing house Spector Books in 2008. Since 2004 a member of Alliance Graphique Internationale, and a professor of graphic design at HGB Leipzig since 2006.

Mirjam Fischer, 1969, Bern,
served from 1998 to 2007 as coordinator of The Most Beautiful Swiss Books competition at the Federal Office of Culture in Bern, later becoming the director of publications at Edition Patrick Frey in Zürich. In 2013 she started Milles pages, where she works for a variety of institutions and publishers as an independent book producer and editor-at-large in the domains of art, photography and design. From 2014 to 2016 she was the head of the publications department of the Museum für Gestaltung Zürich. 

Tania Prill, 1969, Hamburg (Germany/Switzerland),
co-founded in 2001 the studio Prill & Vieceli - since 2011, Prill Vieceli Cremers - where she realises commissions in the cultural sector as well as self-initiated book projects such as MONEY (2015) and Under the Radar - Underground Zines and Self-Publications 1965-1975 (2017). She has been teaching since 2004: as a professor of communication design at Karlsruhe University of Arts and Design until 2010, and since then as professor of typography at the University of the Arts Bremen.

Participating in the competition

At the end of January 2018, the most beautiful Swiss books of 2017 will be judged by the jury of the competition. The submission date for books from the year 2017 on our online platform (Platform for supporting subsidies FPF) is December 7th, 2017. After the online registration, you have until December 31st 2017 to send in a physical copy of your book (date on the postmark).

Catalogue

The Most Beautiful Swiss Books 2016
Published by the Federal Office of Culture, Bern
Concept and graphic design: Hubertus Design, Zürich/New York
Photography/Litography: Widmer & Fluri, Zürich
Texts: Tan Wälchli, Berlin / Zürich Matthias Michel, Zürich
Languages: German, French, Italian, English
Publication date: August 2017
ISBN: 978-3-909928-40-8
Distribution Switzerland/Germany/Austria: Edition Hochparterre, www.edition.hochparterre.ch
International Distribution: Idea Books, Amsterdam, idea@ideabooks.nl, www.ideabooks.nl

Archives
Année courante

Les plus beaux livres suisses

Helmhaus Zürich, Photo: Guadalupe Ruiz © OFC

Concours

En organisant le concours « Les plus beaux livres suisses », la Confédération se dote d'un instrument de soutien au design, qui récompense et encourage le graphisme de qualité dans le domaine du livre. Il est ouvert aux concepteurs graphiques, éditeurs et imprimeurs. L'Office fédéral de la culture reçoit annuellement près de 400 livres pour ce concours. Un jury international de cinq membres sélectionne chaque année les plus beaux livres suisses. Le concours enregistre les tendances et identifie les courants contemporains de la conception graphique et de la production de livres tout en disposant d'une ample mémoire historique.

Qu'est-ce que c'est un livre suisse?
Est considéré comme livre suisse l'ouvrage qui remplit au moins l'un des critères suivants: le livre a été conçu par un ou une graphiste suisse, la maison d'édition a son siège principal en Suisse ou l'imprimerie a son siège principal en Suisse.

Critères du jury
Le jury évalue la conception, le graphisme et la typographie des ouvrages en privilégiant l'innovation et l'originalité. D'autres critères le guident encore: la qualité de l'impression et de la reliure ainsi que les matériaux utilisés. Cette distinction se veut honorifique, aucun prix en espèces n'est attribué. Aucune hiérarchie n'est instaurée entre les récompenses, le même traitement est réervé à tous les plus beaux livres suisses primés chaque année.

Médiation du prix
Le catalogue présente les livres primés au travers des rapports du jury et fait office de plat¬forme où débattre les ques¬tions d'actualité en rapport avec le livre. Des expositions présentent les livres primés en Suisse ; des présentations plus modestes à l'étranger leur succèdent. Les expositions et le catalogue font connaître ce prix au public et stimulent les échanges entre les représentants des divers secteurs: conception graphique, impression et édition.

Histoire du concours
En 1998, l'Office fédéral de la culture (OFC) a pris le relais de l'association suisse alémanique des libraires et des éditeurs (Schweizer Buchhändler- und Verlegerverband SBVV) et depuis, il organise le concours. Ce passage de témoin s'est accompagné d'une réorientation de la stratégie et du contenu du concours, qui conserve aujourd'hui encore toute sa validité. Seule une expérience professionnelle de la réalisation de livres est nécessaire pour faire partie du jury, ce qui fait la part belle à la créativité. L'ouverture du concours vers l'étranger a permis de tenir compte des changements intervenus dans la production sur le marché du livre.

Jury

Gilles Gavillet, 1973, Lausanne (Président du jury),
est un designer graphique établi à Genève, cofondateur en 1998 de la fonderie Opimo. Directeur artistique des éditions JRP|Ringier de 2004 à 2015 ; en 2013, il devient directeur artistique du catalogue annuel d'Art Basel. Professeur de communication visuelle à l'ECAL Lausanne depuis 2008.

David Bennewith, 1977, Takapuna (Nouvelle Zélande)
Designer graphiste et chercheur en design résidant à Amsterdam, David Bennewith effectue des recherches ou travaille sur mandat sous le pseudonyme de Colophon - avec un penchant marqué pour la création de caractères et la typographie. Depuis 2015, il est directeur du département design graphique à l'académie Gerrit
Rietveld d'Amsterdam.

Markus Dressen, 1971, Münster (Allemagne),
est designer graphique, éditeur et professeur à la Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst HGB de Leipzig, où il a fait ses études. Depuis l'an 2000, il édite la revue Spector cut+paste en collaboration avec Anne König et Jan Wenzel, avec qui il a également fondé les éditions Spector Books en 2008. Il a été nommé membre de l'Alliance Graphique Internationale en 2004 et il enseigne depuis 2006 à la HGB de Leipzig.

Mirjam Fischer, 1969, Berne
Entre 1998 et 2007, elle coordonne le concours Les plus beaux livres suisses à l'Office fédéral de la culture à Berne. Elle dirige ensuite les éditions Patrick Frey à Zurich. En 2013, elle fonde « mille pages » et travaille en productrice et éditrice indépendante dans les domaines de l'art, de la photographie et du design pour diverses institutions et maisons d'éditions. De 2014 à 2016, elle dirige les publications du Museum für Gestaltung de Zurich.

Tania Prill, 1969, Hambourg (Suisse/Allemagne)
Fonde en 2001, son atelier zurichois Studio Prill & Vieceli (devenu Prill Vieceli Cremers en 2011) réalise, outre des travaux de commande dans le domaine culturel, des livres de sa propre initiative comme MONEY (2015) et Under the radar - Underground Zines and Self - Publications 1965 - 1975 (2017). Elle enseigne depuis 2004 : professeur de design de la communication à la Hochschule für Gestaltung de Karlsruhe jusqu'en 2010, elle est depuis professeur de typographie à la Hochschule für Künste de Brême.

Participation au concours

Le jury se prononcera en janvier 2018 sur les plus beaux livres suisses 2017. Le dernier délai pour vos inscriptions sur notre plateforme en ligne (Plate-forme pour les contributions de soutien FPF) est fixé au 7 décembre 2017. Une fois cette démarche effectuée, vos livres pourront nous parvenir par envoi postal jusqu'au 31 décembre 2017 (le cachet postal faisant foi).

Catalogue

Les plus beaux livres suisses 2016
Edité par l'Office fédéral de la culture, Berne
Conception et design:  Hubertus Design, Zürich/New York
Photographie/Lithographie : Widmer & Fluri, Zürich
Textes : Tan Wälchli, Berlin / Zürich Matthias Michel, Zürich
Langues : Allemand, Français, Italien, Anglais
Parution : Août 2017
ISBN : 978-3-909928-40-8
Diffusion Suisse/Allemagne/Autriche : Edition Hochparterre, www.edition.hochparterre.ch
Diffusion internationale: Idea Books, Amsterdam, idea@ideabooks.nl, www.ideabooks.nl