The Most Beautiful Swiss Books of the year 2016 (awarded in January 2017)

images selection

'Dadaglobe Reconstructed', Kunsthaus Zürich (design Norm, Zurich), Photo: Simon Schmid © FOC

'Hello, I am not from here', Peter Hauser (design Enea Toldo, Russo), Photo: Simon Schmid © FOC

'Michel Parmentier', Ludovic Balland (design Typography Cabinet, Bâle with Emmanuel Crivelli), Photo: Simon Schmid © FOC

'Intrus Sympathiques', Bernard Chadebec (design Olivier Lebrun & Urs Lehni, Paris/Zurich), Photo: Simon Schmid © FOC

About the awarded year

The Swiss Federal Office of Culture organizes the competition ‘The Most Beautiful Swiss Books' on an annual basis. It thereby recognizes excellence in the field of book design and production, as well drawing attention to remarkable and contemporary books by Swiss designers, printers and publishers.

The five-member jury appraised all the submissions and selected 24 titles as the Most Beautiful Swiss Books of 2016.

The Most Beautiful Swiss Books of 2016 will be on display to the public at the Helmhaus Zurich from 31st august to 3rd september. The catalogue of this year's competition will be published at the same time. The winner of the Jan Tschichold Award will be honoured at the vernissage. Further events at the weekend will examine key issues related to the subject of books.

The dates of the expositions in Switzerland and Abroad will be communicated at the end of June 2017.

Helmhaus Zurich
Vernissage: Thursday 31st August 2017
Exhibition: Thursday 31st August 2017 until Sunday
3rd September 2017
Limmatquai 31, 8001 Zurich
www.helmhaus.org

Jan-Tschichold Award

Organised by the FOC since 1997, the Jan Tschichold Award recognises outstanding achievements in book design by an individual, group or institution. It is bestowed independently of the competition. This year's award, which is endowed with CHF 15,000, goes to the group Bonbon Valeria Bonin (*1978) and Diego Bontognali (*1977) (see short biography in ‘Downloads').

Die Schönsten Schweizer Bücher des Jahres 2016 (juriert im Januar 2017)

Auswahl an Bildern

„Dadaglobe Reconstructed“, Kunsthaus Zürich (design Norm, Zurich), Foto: Simon Schmid © BAK

„Hello, I am not from here“, Peter Hauser (design Enea Toldo, Russo), Foto: Simon Schmid © BAK

„Michel Parmentier“, Ludovic Balland (design Typography Cabinet, Bâle mit Emmanuel Crivelli), Foto: Simon Schmid © BAK

„Intrus Sympathiques“, Bernard Chadebec (design Olivier Lebrun & Urs Lehni, Paris/Zurich), Foto: Simon Schmid © BAK

Über den Jahrgang

Das Bundesamt für Kultur (BAK) führt jährlich den Wettbewerb 'Die Schönsten Schweizer Bücher' durch. Zum einen würdigt das BAK mit dieser Auszeichnung hervorragende Leistungen im Bereich der Buchgestaltung und -produktion. Zum andern richtet der Wettbewerb den Blick auf besonders beachtenswerte und zeitgemäss umgesetzte Bücher.

Im Januar prämierte eine fünfköpfige Jury insgesamt 24 Bücher des Buchjahrgangs 2016.

Vom 31. August bis 03. September 2017 werden 'Die Schönsten Schweizer Bücher' des Jahrgangs 2016 im Helmhaus Zürich der Öffentlichkeit präsentiert, zeitgleich erscheint der Katalog zum diesjährigen Wettbewerb. Im Rahmen der Ausstellungs-Vernissage wird zudem der diesjährige Jan-Tschichold-Preisträger geehrt.

Die Daten zu den Ausstellungen in der Schweiz und im Ausland folgen Ende Juni 2017.

Helmhaus Zurich
Vernissage: Donnerstag, 31. August 2017
Ausstellung: Donnerstag, 31. August bis Sonntag
3. September 2017
Limmatquai 31, 8001 Zürich
www.helmhaus.org

Jan-Tschichold-Preis

Mit dem Jan-Tschichold-Preis zeichnet das BAK seit 1997 eine Persönlichkeit, eine Gruppe oder eine Institution für hervorragende Leistungen in der Buchgestaltung aus. Die Jury vergibt diese Auszeichnung jeweils unabhängig vom Wettbewerb. Der diesjährige Preis in der Höhe von 15 000 Franken geht an die Gruppe Bonbon Valeria Bonin (*1978) und Diego Bontognali (*1977) (s. Kurzbiografie unter „Downloads").