The Most Beautiful Swiss Books of the year 2016 (awarded in January 2017)

About the awarded year

The Swiss Federal Office of Culture organizes the competition ‘The Most Beautiful Swiss Books' on an annual basis. It thereby recognizes excellence in the field of book design and production, as well drawing attention to remarkable and contemporary books by Swiss designers, printers and publishers.

The five-member jury appraised all the submissions and selected 24 titles as the Most Beautiful Swiss Books of 2016.

The Most Beautiful Swiss Books of 2016 will be on display to the public at the Helmhaus Zurich from 31st august to 3rd september. The catalogue of this year's competition will be published at the same time. The winner of the Jan Tschichold Award will be honoured at the vernissage. Further events at the weekend will examine key issues related to the subject of books.

From autumn 2017, the "Most Beautiful Swiss Books 2016" exhibition will be presented at a series of locations in Switzerland. Each year, the award-winning books also travel abroad at the invitation of local institutions and events, with exhibition venues this time round including Rhode Island, Providence, US (RISD ─ Rhode Island School of Design), San José, Costa Rica (Despacio), London (Umlaut), Paris (Centre culturel suisse), Copenhagen (Officin) and Oslo (Grafill), Vienna (Typographische Gesellschaft Austria) and Brussels (erg ─ école de recherche graphique et supérieure des arts).

The Most Beautiful Swiss Books 2016 exhibition in Switzerland

Helmhaus Zurich
Thursday 31.8. ─ Sunday 3.9.2017
Opening: Thursday 31 August 2017, 7.15 p.m.
Limmatquai 31, 8001 Zurich
www.helmhaus.org

Biblioteca Linard, Lavin Engadin
Friday 22.9. ─ Sunday 24.9.2017
Hotel Piz Linard, 7543 Lavin
www.pizlinard.ch
www.bibliotecalinard.ch

LiveInYourHead
Espace d’exposition / Cinéma
Thursday 12.10. ─ Saturday 28.10.2017
Bâtiment Général-Dufour
Rue de Hesse 5, 1204 Genève
www.head-geneve.ch

Schule für Gestaltung St. Gallen
As part of Tÿpo St. Gallen
Monday 6.11. ─ Saturday 18.11.2017
Demutstrasse 115, 9012 St. Gallen
www.gbssg.ch
www.typo-stgallen.ch

Progr Bern
Thursday 23.11. ─ Saturday 2.12.2017
Zentrum für Kulturproduktion
Waisenhausplatz 30
3011 Bern
www.progr.ch

Jan-Tschichold Award

Organised by the FOC since 1997, the Jan Tschichold Award recognises outstanding achievements in book design by an individual, group or institution. It is bestowed independently of the competition. This year's award, which is endowed with CHF 15,000, goes to the group Bonbon Valeria Bonin (*1978) and Diego Bontognali (*1977) (see short biography in ‘Downloads').

Les plus beaux livres suisses de l'année 2016 (primés en janvier 2017)

Au sujet de l'année primée

L'Office fédéral de la culture (OFC) met sur pied chaque année le concours Les plus beaux livres suisses. L'OFC entend ainsi distinguer des réalisations particulièrement abouties dans la production et l'art du livre et attirer en même temps l'attention sur les ouvrages qui expriment les tendances contemporaines.

Les cinq membres du jury ont examiné tous les envois parmi lesquels ils ont élu les vingt-quatre plus beaux livres suisses de l'édition 2016.

Du 31 août au 3 septembre 2017, « Les plus beaux livres suisses 2016 » seront présentés au public au Helmhaus de Zurich, parallèlement à la parution du catalogue. Le lauréat ou la lauréate du prix Jan Tschichold sera honoré lors du vernissage.

Dès l'automne 2017, l'exposition des « Plus beaux livres suisses 2016 » sera présentée dans toute une série de lieux en Suisse, les livres primés voyagent aussi chaque année à l'étranger sur invitation d'institutions et de manifestations locales et des expositions sont notamment prévues à Rhode Island, Providence, USA (RISD ─ Rhode Island School of Design), San José, Costa Rica (espace Despacio), Londres (espace Umlaut), Paris (Centre culturel suisse), Copenhague (Officin) et Oslo (Grafill), Vienne (Typographische Gesellschaft Austria) et Bruxelles (erg ─ école de recherche graphique et supérieure des arts).

Exposition des Plus beaux livres suisses 2016 en Suisse

Helmhaus Zurich
Jeudi 31.08 ─ Dimanche 3.09.2017
Vernissage : jeudi 31 août 2017, 19h15
Limmatquai 31, 8001 Zürich
www.helmhaus.org

Biblioteca Linard, Lavin Engadin
Vendredi 22.09. ─ Dimanche 24.09.2017
Hotel Piz Linard, 7543 Lavin
www.pizlinard.ch
www.bibliotecalinard.ch

LiveInYourHead
Espace d’exposition / Cinéma
Jeudi 12.10. ─ Samedi 28.10.2017
Bâtiment Général-Dufour
Rue de Hesse 5, 1204 Genève
www.head-geneve.ch

Schule für Gestaltung St. Gallen
Dans le cadre de Tÿpo St. Gallen
Lundi 06.11. ─ Samedi 18.11.2017
Demutstrasse 115, 9012 St. Gallen
www.gbssg.ch
www.typo-stgallen.ch

Progr Bern
Jeudi 23.11. ─ Samedi 02.12.2017
Zentrum für Kulturproduktion
Waisenhausplatz 30
3011 Bern
www.progr.ch

Prix Jan-Tschichold

Depuis 1997, l'OFC récompense avec le Prix Jan Tschichold une personnalité, un groupe ou une institution dont les réalisations sont remarquables dans le domaine de la conception graphique du livre. Le jury décerne ce prix sans lien avec le concours. Cette année, les 15 000 francs du Prix Jan Tschichold vont à la groupe Bonbon Valeria Bonin (*1978) et Diego Bontognali (*1977) (voir la biographie sous « Downloads »).