Helmhaus Zürich, photo: Diana Pfammatter © FOC

About the awarded year

The Swiss Federal Office of Culture organizes the competition ‘The Most Beautiful Swiss Books' on an annual basis. It thereby recognizes excellence in the field of book design and production, as well drawing attention to remarkable and contemporary books by Swiss designers, printers and publishers.

The five-member jury appraised all the submissions and selected 18 titles as the Most Beautiful Swiss Books of 2017.

The Most Beautiful Swiss Books of 2017 will be on display to the public at the Helmhaus Zurich in June. The catalogue of this year's competition will be published at the same time. The winner of the Jan Tschichold Award will be honoured at the vernissage. Further events at the weekend will examine key issues related to the subject of books.

From autumn 2018, the "Most Beautiful Swiss Books 2017" exhibition will be presented at a series of locations in Switzerland. Each year, the award-winning books also travel abroad at the invitation of local institutions and events.

Jan-Tschichold Award

Organised by the FOC since 1997, the Jan Tschichold Award recognises outstanding achievements in book design by an individual, group or institution. It is bestowed independently of the competition. This year's award, which is endowed with CHF 25,000, goes to the printer Che Huber (*1954) (see short biography in ‘Downloads').