Helmhaus Zürich, photo: Diana Pfammatter © FOC

About the awarded year

The Swiss Federal Office of Culture organizes the competition ‘The Most Beautiful Swiss Books' on an annual basis. It thereby recognizes excellence in the field of book design and production, as well drawing attention to remarkable and contemporary books by Swiss designers, printers and publishers.

The five-member jury appraised all the submissions and selected 18 titles as the Most Beautiful Swiss Books of 2017.

The Most Beautiful Swiss Books of 2017 will be on display to the public at the Helmhaus Zurich in June. The catalogue of this year's competition will be published at the same time. The winner of the Jan Tschichold Award will be honoured at the vernissage. Further events at the weekend will examine key issues related to the subject of books.

From autumn 2018, the "Most Beautiful Swiss Books 2017" exhibition will be presented at a series of locations in Switzerland. Each year, the award-winning books also travel abroad at the invitation of local institutions and events.

Jan-Tschichold Award

Organised by the FOC since 1997, the Jan Tschichold Award recognises outstanding achievements in book design by an individual, group or institution. It is bestowed independently of the competition. This year's award, which is endowed with CHF 25,000, goes to the printer Che Huber (*1954) (see short biography in ‘Downloads').

Les plus beaux livres suisses de l'année 2017 (primés en janvier 2018)

Au sujet de l'année primée

L'Of­fice fé­dé­ral de la culture (OFC) met sur pied chaque année le concours Les plus beaux livres suisses. L'OFC en­tend ainsi dis­tin­guer des réa­li­sa­tions par­ti­cu­liè­re­ment abou­ties dans la pro­duc­tion et l'art du livre et at­ti­rer en même temps l'at­ten­tion sur les ou­vrages qui ex­priment les ten­dances contem­po­raines.

Les cinq membres du jury ont exa­miné tous les en­vois parmi les­quels ils ont élu les dix-huit plus beaux livres suisses de l'édi­tion 2017.

Du 21 au 24 juin 2018, « Les plus beaux livres suisses 2017 » se­ront pré­sen­tés au pu­blic au Helm­haus de Zu­rich, pa­ral­lè­le­ment à la pa­ru­tion du ca­ta­logue. Le lau­réat ou la lau­réate du prix Jan Tschi­chold sera ho­noré lors du ver­nis­sage.

Dès l'au­tomne 2018, l'ex­po­si­tion des « Plus beaux livres suisses 2017 » sera pré­sen­tée dans toute une série de lieux en Suisse, les livres pri­més voyagent aussi chaque année à l'étran­ger sur in­vi­ta­tion d'ins­ti­tu­tions et de ma­ni­fes­ta­tions lo­cales et des ex­po­si­tions sont no­tam­ment pré­vues à Copenhague (Of­fi­cin), Oslo (Gra­fill), Paris (Cent­re cul­tu­rel su­is­se), Bruxelles (erg ─ école de re­cher­che gra­phi­que et su­pé­ri­eu­re des arts), Vienne (Ty­po­gra­phi­sche Ge­sell­schaft Aus­tria) et St. Petersbourg.

Exposition des Plus beaux livres suisses 2017

en Suisse


Helmhaus Zürich
Jeudi 21.06. ─ Dimanche 24.06.2018
Vernissage: Jeudi 21 juin 2018,
19.15h
Limmatquai 31, 8001 Zurich
www.helmhaus.org

Biblioteca Linard, Lavin Engadin
Vendredi 07.09. ─ Dimanche 09.09.2018
Hotel Piz Linard, 7543 Lavin
www.pizlinard.ch  
www.bibliotecalinard.ch

Kunsthalle Basel
Jeudi 11.10. ─ Dimanche 21.10.2018
Steinenberg 7, 4051 Basel
www.kunsthallebasel.ch

ECAL
Galerie L'Elac
Jeudi 22.11. ─ Vendredi 7.12.2018
5, Avenue du Temple, 1020 Renens
www.ecal.ch

Prix Jan-Tschichold

Depuis 1997, l'OFC récompense avec le Prix Jan Tschichold une personnalité, un groupe ou une institution dont les réalisations sont remarquables dans le domaine de la conception graphique du livre. Le jury décerne ce prix sans lien avec le concours. Cette année, les 25 000 francs du Prix Jan Tschichold vont à l'imprimeur Che Huber (*1954) (voir la biographie sous « Downloads »).