Archives
Current Year

Christian Iten, Daniel Lüthi & Emanuel Zgraggen

Prize

Category

Research

Awarded

'tangent – a multitouch surface', interactive tabletop
Zürcher Hochschule der Künste, Bereich Interaction Design


www.zima.ch/tangent

Resources

'tangent'

'tangent'

'tangent'

'tangent'

'tangent'

Essay

'tangent' is an interactive tabletop equipped with a multitouch screen, so that it can be operated by several different users simultaneously. Developed in the course of diploma studies at HGK Zurich, the project has two main areas of emphasis: 1. Development and construction of an interactive multitouch interface that can be used by a number of users at the same time. 2. Development and testing of original principles of interaction for this surface.

Comment by the nominators:
This prototype, which supports the intuitive and realistic manipulation of graphic objects, images and texts on a specially developed multitouch interface, is impressive both technically and in design terms. It may be taken as a prime example of design research where research has been based on design experimentation.

Comments by the jury:
With a view to investigating the special challenges of a multitouch interface and providing instruments integrated with the system for the purpose, the diploma students have not hesitated to go deeply into the process of technical development. The result is a functioning prototype, a platform on which an interactive visualisation module has been implemented – the effect is playful, selfwilled and yet considered. This exemplary study constitutes a basis for further developments in a great many different applications - as a technical aid for consultancy meetings perhaps, or in the context of future multitouch games.

Archiv
laufendes Jahr

Christian Iten, Daniel Lüthi & Emanuel Zgraggen

Preis

Kategorie

Research

Prämiert wurde

'tangent – a multitouch surface', interaktive Tischfläche
Zürcher Hochschule der Künste, Bereich Interaction Design


www.zima.ch/tangent

Resources

'tangent'

'tangent'

'tangent'

'tangent'

'tangent'

Essay

Bei 'tangent' handelt es sich um eine interaktive Tischfläche, die mit einem Multitouch-Screen ausgestattet ist und dementsprechend von mehreren Benutzern gleichzeitig bedient werden kann. Das an der HGK Zürich im Rahmen einer Diplomarbeit realisierte Projekt hat zwei Schwerpunkte: 1. Entwicklung und Bau eines interaktiven, multitouch- und multiuserfähigen Interfaces. 2. Entwicklung und Test von neuartigen Interaktionsprinzipien für diese Oberfläche, die grundsätzlich anders als klassische Touchscreens funktioniert.

Kommentar der Nominatoren:
Dieser Prototyp, der ein intuitives und realitätsnahes Manipulieren von grafischen Objekten, Bildern und Texten auf einem eigens entwickelten Multitouch-Interface ermöglicht, ist sowohl technisch als auch gestalterisch beeindruckend. Er darf als Musterbeispiel für Designforschung, als Forschung mittels Entwerfen, gelten.

Kommentar der Jury:
Um die speziellen Herausforderungen eines Multitouch-Interfaces zu erforschen und dafür im System integrierte Instrument zur Verfügung zu stellen, sind die Diplomanden nicht davor zurückgeschreckt, tief in die technische Entwicklung einzusteigen. Als Resultat liegt ein funktionsfähiger Prototyp vor, auf dem ein Baukasten von Interaktionsvisualisierungen umgesetzt wurde: spielerisch, eigenwillig, überlegt. Die beispielhafte Studie bildet die Grundlage für Weiterentwicklungen in verschiedensten Anwendungen – sei es in der technischen Unterstützung z. B. von Beratungsgesprächen, sei es im Bereich kommender Multitouch Games.