Archives
Current Year

Annette Douglas, Marco Gruber, Oliver Weisbrod, Reto Pieren, Kurt Eggenschwiler

Prize

Category

Textile Design Award by SWISS TEXTILES & ZUMSTEG FOUNDATION

Awarded

'Annette Douglas Textiles ACOUSTICS ®'
Annette Douglas Textiles AG:

Annette Douglas, Marco Gruber

Weisbrod-Zürrer AG: Oliver Weisbrod

EMPA Akustik und Lärmminderung:

Reto Pieren, Kurt Eggenschwiler


www.douglas-textiles.ch

www.weisbrod.ch

www.empa.ch

Resources

'Annette Douglas Textiles Acoustics®'

'Annette Douglas Textiles Acoustics®'

'Annette Douglas Textiles Acoustics®'

Essay

'Silent Space' from Annette Douglas Textiles ACOUSTICS® is a collection of acoustic curtains, consisting of light, transparent and flame-retardant acoustic fabric with excellent sound-absorption properties. The fabrics were created in the course of a two-year KTI [Innovation Promotion Agency] research project, in which the designer Annette Douglas cooperated with Empa Dübendorf and the Weisbrod weaving workshop. The starting point for the project was the conviction that the spaces where people work and communicate are urgently in need of sound-absorbing surfaces. The object was to develop a light and transparent material in preference to the heavy impenetrable acoustic curtains commonly in use, so as to allow light to enter the room and retain a sense of connection with the outside world.

Born in 1971, Annette Douglas is one of the leading textile designers in Switzerland. Notable for her versatility, she is thoroughly familiar with all kinds of textile technology, and masters them to such a high level that she has repeatedly succeeded in developing them beyond their limits. She acquired her thorough training in textiles at the Swiss Textile College in Wattwil, and then at the School of Design in Basel. As an independent textile designer, she has been developing furniture and curtain fabrics for textile manufacturers and textile printing companies in Switzerland and abroad for many years. 

Comments of the Nominators:
With this small and compact collection of transparent sound-absorbing materials, the designer has created an outstanding product of an impressive maturity and professionalism.

Comments by the Jury:
Fabrics that absorb sound, while at the same time being so fine that light can shine through them, are a real and valuable innovation, and likely to establish themselves on the market in the near future. Their restrainedly modest appearance makes a convincing impression, and is not lacking in elegance or class. These textiles open up entirely new possibilities in the field of interior decor.

Annette Douglas, Marco Gruber, Oliver Weisbrod, Reto Pieren, Kurt Eggenschwiler

Prix

Catégorie

Textile Design Award by SWISS TEXTILES & ZUMSTEG FOUNDATION

Primé/e(s)

'Annette Douglas Textiles ACOUSTICS ®'
Annette Douglas Textiles AG:

Annette Douglas, Marco Gruber

Weisbrod-Zürrer AG: Oliver Weisbrod

EMPA Akustik und Lärmminderung:

Reto Pieren, Kurt Eggenschwiler


www.douglas-textiles.ch

www.weisbrod.ch

www.empa.ch

Resources

'Annette Douglas Textiles Acoustics®'

'Annette Douglas Textiles Acoustics®'

'Annette Douglas Textiles Acoustics®'

Essai

La collection de rideaux isophoniques 'Silent Space' de Annette Douglas Textiles ACOUSTICS® se compose de tissus légers, translucides et difficilement inflammables aux excellentes propriétés d'absorption acoustique. Ces tissus ont vu le jour dans le cadre d'un projet de recherche de deux années mené par la Commission pour la technologie et l'innovation (CTI), pour lequel la designer Annette Douglas a collaboré avec l'Empa Dübendorf et le fabricant de soieries Weisbrod. Dans les pièces où des personnes travaillent et communiquent entre elles, il est indispensable d'installer des surfaces qui absorbent le bruit: tel est le constat qui a servi de point de départ au projet.  L'objectif était de développer un matériau textile léger et transparent susceptible de remplacer les rideaux antibruit lourds et opaques, qui laisse entrer la lumière tout en conservant une continuité visuelle et spatiale avec l'extérieur de la pièce.

Annette Douglas (*1971) fait partie des créateurs textiles exceptionnels de la Suisse. Elle est incroyablement variée, connaît tous les types de technique textile et les maîtrise à un niveau qui lui permet toujours et encore de franchir des frontières. Elle a profité de sa formation approfondie dans l'école textile de Suisse à Wattwill et ensuite à l'école d'arts appliqués à Bâle. Elle développe depuis des années des tissus pour meubles et rideaux en tant que designer textile au profit des producteurs et éditeurs de tissus du pays et de l'étranger.

Commentaire des nominateurs:
Avec cette collection, petite et compacte, de tissus translucides qui possèdent des propriétés d'absorption acoustique, la designer textile a créé un excellent produit qui séduit par sa maturité et son professionnalisme.

Commentaire du jury:
Les tissus à absorption acoustique tout en restant assez légers pour que la lumière puisse encore les traverser sont une vrai innovation qualitative qui a toutes les chances de s'affirmer bientôt sur le marché. Ils convainquent par leur apparence simple, discrète et élégante, avec une certaine classe. Ils offrent de grandes possibilités à l'arrangement des espaces intérieurs.