Design Bureau Colin Schälli

PFISTER InteriorDesign Award

Category

Interior Design

Awarded

'con.temporary furniture'


www.colinschaelli.com

Resources

'Con.temporary furniture'

'Con.temporary furniture'

'Con.temporary furniture'

'Con.temporary furniture'

Essay

The wooden furniture developed under the banner of 'con.temporary furniture' has been based on a logically thought out push-fit system. Made of plywood boards, the individual components are easy to transport and can be assembled with little trouble. No tools, screws or nails are needed to do this. Orders can be placed at an 'Own-Line Shop', which will issue production instructions to a local joiner's firm. The latter makes and packages the furniture, and then dispatches it directly to the end customer.

Born in 1980, the designer Colin Schaelli grew up in Chur and now divides his time between Tokyo and Zurich. Following an apprenticeship as a draughtsman with Peter Zumthor's architectural office, he studied at the College of Art and Design in Zurich, where he acquired a diploma in Industrial and Product Design in 2006. In the same year he set up his own design studio. In 2009 he won the Newcomer prize of Design Prize Switzerland. He invested the prize money in the development of con.temporary furniture – an intelligent investment which has now earned him the Pfister Interior Design Award.

Comments of the Nominators:
A theme quite familiar in itself has been realised in simple and at the same time sophisticated style. The product makes a succinct and powerfully characterised impression. The overall concept, comprising design, production and sales, is consistent and convincing. 

Comments by the Jury:
This furniture has been simply and clearly designed. Remarkably, it can be put together without any nails or screws – but the structure is nonetheless surprisingly solid. A particularly interesting aspect, and one that points the way for the future, is the idea of having the furniture made by local joineries and so saving energy and transport costs.

Design Bureau Colin Schälli

PFISTER InteriorDesign Award

Kategorie

Interior Design

Prämiert wurde

'con.temporary furniture'


www.colinschaelli.com

Resources

'Con.temporary furniture'

'Con.temporary furniture'

'Con.temporary furniture'

'Con.temporary furniture'

Essay

Die Holz-Möbel 'con.temporary furniture' basieren auf einem konstruktiv zu Ende gedachten Stecksystem. Aus Sperrholzplatten gefertigt, lassen sich die Einzelteile einfach transportieren und auf simple Weise zusammenbauen. Dazu werden weder Werkzeuge noch Schrauben – oder Nägel – benötigt. Über den 'Own-Line Shop' erfolgt die Bestellung, welche die Produktion bei einem lokalen Schreinereibetrieb auslöst. Dieser fertigt, verpackt und verschickt das Möbel dann direkt an den Endkunden.

Der in Chur aufgewachsene Designer Colin Schaelli (*1980) pendelt zwischen Tokio und Zürich. Nach seiner Lehre als Hochbauzeichner im Architektur-Büro von Peter Zumthor studierte er an der Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst in Zürich und schloss seine Ausbildung 2006 mit dem Diplom als Industrie- und Produktdesigner ab. Er eröffnete noch im selben Jahr sein eigenes Büro und seit damals ist er auch regelmässig mit vielfältigen Aufträgen in Japan tätig. Im Jahr 2009 gewann er den Newcomer Preis beim Design Preis Schweiz. Er hat das Geld in die Entwicklung von con.temporary furniture investiert. Eine intelligente Investition die mit dem Pfister Interior Design Award belohnt wurde.

Kommentar der Nominatoren:
Ein an sich bekanntes Thema wird auf einfache und zugleich raffinierte Weise umgesetzt. Das Produkt wirkt prägnant und charakterstark. Das Gesamtkonzept, das Entwurf, Produktion und Vertrieb umfasst, erscheint schlüssig. 

Begründung der Jury:
Das Design dieser Möbel ist einfach und klar. Ihre Konstruktion, die bemerkenswerterweise ganz ohne Nägel und Schrauben auskommt, erweist sich als überraschend solide. Besonders interessant und wegweisend erscheint aber das Konzept, die Produktion der Möbel durch lokale Schreinereien ausführen zu lassen und dadurch Energie- und Transportkosten zu sparen.