Design Bureau Colin Schälli

PFISTER InteriorDesign Award

Category

Interior Design

Awarded

'con.temporary furniture'


www.colinschaelli.com

Resources

'Con.temporary furniture'

'Con.temporary furniture'

'Con.temporary furniture'

'Con.temporary furniture'

Essay

The wooden furniture developed under the banner of 'con.temporary furniture' has been based on a logically thought out push-fit system. Made of plywood boards, the individual components are easy to transport and can be assembled with little trouble. No tools, screws or nails are needed to do this. Orders can be placed at an 'Own-Line Shop', which will issue production instructions to a local joiner's firm. The latter makes and packages the furniture, and then dispatches it directly to the end customer.

Born in 1980, the designer Colin Schaelli grew up in Chur and now divides his time between Tokyo and Zurich. Following an apprenticeship as a draughtsman with Peter Zumthor's architectural office, he studied at the College of Art and Design in Zurich, where he acquired a diploma in Industrial and Product Design in 2006. In the same year he set up his own design studio. In 2009 he won the Newcomer prize of Design Prize Switzerland. He invested the prize money in the development of con.temporary furniture – an intelligent investment which has now earned him the Pfister Interior Design Award.

Comments of the Nominators:
A theme quite familiar in itself has been realised in simple and at the same time sophisticated style. The product makes a succinct and powerfully characterised impression. The overall concept, comprising design, production and sales, is consistent and convincing. 

Comments by the Jury:
This furniture has been simply and clearly designed. Remarkably, it can be put together without any nails or screws – but the structure is nonetheless surprisingly solid. A particularly interesting aspect, and one that points the way for the future, is the idea of having the furniture made by local joineries and so saving energy and transport costs.

Design Bureau Colin Schälli

PFISTER InteriorDesign Award

Catégorie

Interior Design

Primé/e(s)

'con.temporary furniture'


www.colinschaelli.com

Resources

'Con.temporary furniture'

'Con.temporary furniture'

'Con.temporary furniture'

'Con.temporary furniture'

Essai

Les meubles en bois de la collection 'con.temporary furniture' reposent sur un système emboîtable dont la conception a été pensée dans les moindres détails. Fabriqués à partir de panneaux en contreplaqué, les différents éléments sont faciles à transporter et à assembler.  Le montage de ces meubles ne nécessite en effet ni outils, ni vis, ni même un clou. Les commandes peuvent être passées sur le site 'Own Line Shop' et la production est réalisée dans un atelier de menuiserie local. Celui-ci fabrique, emballe et expédie les meubles directement aux clients finaux.

Le designer Colin Schaelli (*1980) qui a passé son enfance à Chur fait la navette entre Tokyo et Zurich. Après sa formation de dessinateur en bâtiment dans le bureau d'architectes de Peter Zumthor, il a étudié à la 'Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst' de Zurich. Il a terminé sa formation en 2006 par son diplôme de designer industriel et de produits. La même année, il a ouvert son propre bureau. En 2009, il a gagné le prix Newcomer du Design Preis Schweiz. Il a investit l'argent dans le développement de 'con.temporary furniture'. Un investissement intelligent récompensé par le Pfister Interior Design Award.

Commentaire des nominateurs:
Un thème bien connu en soi est repris et mis en œuvre d'une manière à la fois simple et raffinée. Le résultat donne un produit prégnant, d'une grande force de caractère. Le concept global qui comprend la conception, la production et la distribution, paraît convaincant.

Commentaire du jury:
Le design de ces meubles est simple et clair. Leur conception, remarquable par son absence de clous et de vis, surprend par sa solidité. Mais c'est surtout le concept qui paraît particulièrement intéressant et pionnier: faire exécuter la production des meubles par des menuiseries locales et économiser de la sorte les frais de transport et d'énergie.