Archives
Current Year

Stéphanie Baechler

Prize

Category

Textile Design Award by SWISS TEXTILES & ZUMSTEG FOUNDATION

Awarded

'FABRIC project'


www.stephaniebaechler.com

Resources

'Fabric project'

'Fabric project'

'Fabric project'

'Fabric project'

Essay

'FABRIC Project' – these two-dimensional textile surfaces and three-dimensional textile objects have arisen from an intensive engagement with colours and surface qualities. The central theme in development of the design was the arrangement of the folds. Inspired perhaps by curtains, plastic bags, fabrics left lying on the floor or even the folds of rumpled bedclothes, the designer started by creating three-dimensional paper and textile installations. As a second step, she made two-dimensional fabric prints and then finally – in a kind of synthesis of the 2D and 3D effects - textile objects which she hopes will be understood as a new form of perception and as a challenge to fashion designers. 

Born in 1983, Stéphanie Baechler received her training as a textile designer from the School of Art and Design in Lucerne. In 2009 her diploma study won her a nomination for Design Prize Switzerland, and she has won other design prizes since. Stéphanie Baechler is a curious, imaginative and highly promising young designer. She is currently pursuing further studies in the Netherlands, and we are likely to hear a lot more about her in future.

Comments of the Nominators:
These highly idiosyncratic textiles and textile objects surprise, confuse and fascinate. An inspiring and provocative challenge to fashion and product designers to see what they can do with this material.

Comments by the Jury:
The idea of giving two-dimensional fabrics a three-dimensional appearance for once represents a visionary conception of what textiles are actually capable of becoming. Fabric project is a real challenge to fashion designers. But at the same time the material, taken in its own right, is a finished product serving as both ornament and clothing.

Archives
Année courante

Stéphanie Baechler

Prix

Catégorie

Textile Design Award by SWISS TEXTILES & ZUMSTEG FOUNDATION

Primé/e(s)

'FABRIC project'


www.stephaniebaechler.com

Resources

'Fabric project'

'Fabric project'

'Fabric project'

'Fabric project'

Essai

'FABRIC Project' – ce sont des surfaces bidimensionnelles et des objets tridimensionnels en tissu nés d'un travail intensif avec les couleurs et les surfaces. Le thème central du développement des motifs était la conception des plis. Inspirée notamment par les rideaux, les sacs en plastique, les étoffes jetées au hasard sur le sol ou encore les plis de couvertures en désordre, la créatrice a créé dans un premier temps des installations de papier et de tissu tridimensionnelles. Puis, elle a conçu des imprimés en deux dimensions, pour finalement, dans un troisième temps – qui correspond pour ainsi dire à la synthèse des effets 2D et 3D, créer des objets en tissu dont elle souhaite qu'ils soient appréhendés comme une nouvelle forme de perception et comme un défi lancé aux créateurs de mode.  

Stéphanie Baechler (*1983) a reçu une formation de designer textile à la 'Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst' à Lucerne. Déjà en 2009, elle avait été nominée pour son travail de diplôme au Design Preis Schweiz et elle a encore gagné d'autres prix du design. Stéphanie Baechler est une jeune designer curieuse, pleine de fantaisie et prometteuse qui suit actuellement une formation continue en Hollande. Nous entendrons certainement encore beaucoup parler d'elle.

Commentaire des nominateurs:
Ces étoffes et objets en tissus extrêmement curieux sont à la fois surprenants, déroutants et charmants. Source d'inspiration et de provocation, elles invitent les créateurs de mode et designers de produits à développer l'utilisation de ce matériau.

Commentaire du jury:
L'idée de donner au textile à deux dimensions pour une fois un aspect tridimensionnel est synonyme de vision de ce qu'un tissu pourrait être. Fabric project est un véritable défi au design de la mode. Mais ce tissu est également déjà un produit en soi, un produit qui décore et habille.