Julia Heuer

Prize

Category

Fashion

Awarded

Adobe Indigo

 

www.juliaheuer.de


Resources

Adobe Indigo

Adobe Indigo

Adobe Indigo

Adobe Indigo

Adobe Indigo

Essay

The combination of digital and crafts-based textile technology - that is the principal idea of ADOBE INDIGO, a clothing collection in which textiles play the most important part. A digital print design that relies on simple graphic forms and gentle colour transitions forms the basis for the manual processing of the textile, with the help of the traditional Japanese tie-dyeing technique arashi-shibori. This results in hand-pleated cloths in which the original prints receive a random admixture of colours and so achieve a special kind of aesthetic quality. The digital print design is transformed into an organically pleated play of colours, each product being a unique specimen. From the purely formal angle, the clothing collection based on these textiles is notable for its timeless simplicity. The cut deliberately recedes into the background. Instead, the principal focus is on the textile itself and its artistic value.


Comments by the jury
The Adobe Indigo project involves first the development of a fashion fabric, going on from this to include a collection of dresses created on the basis of these unique textiles. The strengths of the work are owing to both elements and to the successful way in which they have been combined. The fabric that has been developed here is altogether charming, representing a refreshing new approach in a field already thronged with famous names - and it simply cried out to be used as the basis of a fashion collection. The designer is consistently pursuing her own path, and her conceptual approach is as convincing as it is original. At present this project is unique to Switzerland and practically hors concours. It stands for a new angle on fashion and has the potential to become a classic in the style of Diane von Fürstenberg.


Comments by the Nominators
This melding of digital print and traditional craft processing yields convincing results at a high and independent level of artistry. The collection of exclusive dresses developed on the basis of this fashion material is an original reaction to modern industrial mass production.

Julia Heuer

Preis

Kategorie

Fashion

Prämiert wurde

Adobe Indigo

 

www.juliaheuer.de


Resources

Adobe Indigo

Adobe Indigo

Adobe Indigo

Adobe Indigo

Adobe Indigo

Essay

Digitale und handwerkliche Textil-Technik miteinander zu verbinden - das ist die Grundidee von ADOBE INDIGO, einer Kleider-Kollektion, bei der Stoffe die Hauptrolle spielen. Ein von einfachen grafischen Formen und zarten Farbverläufen geprägtes digitales Printdesign bildet dabei die Basis für eine manuelle Weiterbearbeitung des Textils mit Hilfe der traditionellen japanischen Abbindetechnik Arashi Shibori. Dadurch entstehen handplissierte Stoffe, bei denen die ursprünglichen Prints dank zufälliger Farbdurchmischungen eine einzigartige ästhetische Qualität erhalten. Der digitale Printentwurf verwandelt sich in ein organisch plissiertes Färbespiel mit Unikat-Charakter. Die aus diesen Stoffen gefertigte Kleider-Kollektion zeichnet sich rein formal betrachtet durch schlichte Zeitlosigkeit aus. Der Schnitt tritt bewusst in den Hintergrund. Stattdessen stehen das Textil selbst und sein künstlerischer Wert im Mittelpunkt.


Kommentar der Jury
Das Projekt Adobe Indigo umfasst einerseits eine Modestoffentwicklung und andererseits eine Kollektion von Roben, die auf der Basis dieser einzigartigen Textilien entstand. Die Stärken der Arbeit liegen in beiden Elementen und ihrer gelungenen Verbindung. Die ästhetisch überaus reizvolle Stoffentwicklung präsentiert nicht allein einen erfrischend neuen Ansatz auf einem Feld, das bereits prominent besetzt schien - sie verlangte geradezu nach einer Modekollektion. Die Designerin beschreitet dabei mit Konsequenz einen auch konzeptionell überzeugenden eigenen Weg. Das Projekt ist in der Schweiz im Moment ebenso singulär wie konkurrenzlos. Es steht für eine neue Sichtweise auf Mode und hat das Potential zum Klassiker à la Diane von Fürstenberg.


Bericht der Nominatoren
Die Verschmelzung von digitalen Print und traditioneller handwerklicher Weiterverarbeitung überzeugt im Ergebnis durch das hohe und eigenständige ästhetische Niveau. Die auf Basis dieser Modestoffe entwickelte Kollektion von exklusiven Roben sind eine originelle Reaktion auf die industrielle Massenware.