Archives
Current Year

Julia Born

'Ofoffjoff - One To One'

'Ofoffjoff - One To One'
© FOC / Körner Union, Lausanne

'Ofoffjoff - One To One'
© FOC / Körner Union, Lausanne

'Ofoffjoff - One To One'
© FOC / Körner Union, Lausanne

'Ofoffjoff - One To One'
© FOC / Körner Union, Lausanne

'Klaus Born - Malerei'

'Klaus Born - Malerei'
© FOC / Körner Union, Lausanne

'Klaus Born - Malerei'
© FOC / Körner Union, Lausanne

'Klaus Born - Malerei'
© FOC / Körner Union, Lausanne

'Klaus Born - Malerei'
© FOC / Körner Union, Lausanne

'Le Nouveau Siècle'

'Le Nouveau Siècle'
© FOC / Körner Union, Lausanne

'Le Nouveau Siècle'
© FOC / Körner Union, Lausanne

'Le Nouveau Siècle'
© FOC / Körner Union, Lausanne

'Le Nouveau Siècle'
© FOC / Körner Union, Lausanne

Overview

Category

Graphic Design

 

Work

Three publications

Essay

Implementing ideas radically

The Swiss graphic designer Julia Born lives in Amsterdam. Since graduating from the Gerrit Rietveld Academie she has worked on her own projects and for clients in Switzerland and Holland. She submitted six books for the Swiss Federal Design Competition, produced as commissions or on her own initiative between 2003 and 2006. The jury praises Julia Born's conceptual design approach and admired the fact that the straight lines convey a sense of personal handwriting. One of the chief characteristics of her books is that they are radical implementations of an idea that reflects the contents.

The publication 'Ofoffjoff – One To One' with the Dutch fashion designer Joff for example is more than just a look book. Julia Born describes her years of work with 'JOFF' as a joint search for unconventional ways of presenting fashion. Proportion and size are important elements of the collection and Julia Born adopts these for the design of the book as well. She decided to show the ten outfits life-size, divided among eight to twelve posters. So each figure is shown in the book cut to pieces and bundled. New combinations and juxtapositions of clothes, parts of the body and fabrics emerge on every double page. The posters also allude to the star cut-ups in the youth magazine 'Bravo' and to the way an outfit comes into being. 'Ofoffjoff – One To One' as a publication sees itself as continuation of the fashion collection, and not just a record of it.

For the exhibition catalogue 'Le Nouveau Siècle', Julia Born (with Lorenz Brunner) builds the chief characteristic of the exhibition venue – its symmetry – into the book design. The Gracht House dating from 1672 follows the rules of symmetry completely, even where it has no function. For example, false doors are included, or patterns extended merely for the sake of perfection. The two graphic designers take over the idea of symmetry as follows: they structure the content rigorously, and centre it in part. They have also devised a pictorial section of their own showing items and places in the building that conceal an element of asymmetry within themselves despite symmetrical composition. The title on the cover is folded in as a flap on its central axis at the back and the front. As the title is presented twice, half of it each time, it remains intelligible as a whole on the cover. Both these books show clearly how Julia Born transforms content into design.
Ariana Pradal

Resources

portrait

Biography

Name

Julia Born

 

Group name

JOFF

 

Born

1975

Education

Graphic Designer

 

also in

2003

Archiv
laufendes Jahr

Julia Born

'Ofoffjoff - One To One'

'Ofoffjoff - One To One'
© BAK / Körner Union, Lausanne

'Ofoffjoff - One To One'
© BAK / Körner Union, Lausanne

'Ofoffjoff - One To One'
© BAK / Körner Union, Lausanne

'Ofoffjoff - One To One'
© BAK / Körner Union, Lausanne

'Klaus Born - Malerei'

'Klaus Born - Malerei'
© BAK / Körner Union, Lausanne

'Klaus Born - Malerei'
© BAK / Körner Union, Lausanne

'Klaus Born - Malerei'
© BAK / Körner Union, Lausanne

'Klaus Born - Malerei'
© BAK / Körner Union, Lausanne

'Le Nouveau Siècle'

'Le Nouveau Siècle'
© BAK / Körner Union, Lausanne

'Le Nouveau Siècle'
© BAK / Körner Union, Lausanne

'Le Nouveau Siècle'
© BAK / Körner Union, Lausanne

'Le Nouveau Siècle'
© BAK / Körner Union, Lausanne

Overview

Kategorie

Grafikdesign

 

Werk

Drei Publikationen

Essay

Ideen radikal umsetzen

Die Schweizer Grafikerin Julia Born lebt in Amsterdam. Seit Abschluss ihres Studiums an der Gerrit Rietveld Academie arbeitete sie an eigenen Projekten und für Kunden in der Schweiz und in den Niederlanden. Die Grafikerin hat für den Eidgenössischen Wettbewerb für Design sechs Bücher eingereicht, die als Auftrag oder in Eigenregie zwischen 2003 und 2006 entstanden sind. Die Jury lobt Julia Borns konzeptionelle Art zu gestalten und schätzt, dass in der Gradlinigkeit eine eigene Handschrift lesbar ist. Ihre Bücher zeichnen sich unter anderem durch radikales Umsetzen einer Idee aus, die den Inhalt widerspiegelt.

Die Publikation 'Ofoffjoff – One To One' mit dem holländischen Modedesigner 'JOFF' ist beispielweise viel mehr als ein Lookbook. Die Grafikerin beschreibt ihre jahrelange Zusammenarbeit mit 'JOFF' als gemeinsame Suche nach unkonventionellen Repräsentationsformen für Mode. Mass und Grösse sind wichtige Elemente der Kollektion und diese übernimmt Julia Born auch für die Gestaltung des Buchs. Sie entschied sich, die zehn Outfits in Lebensgrösse zu zeigen, aufgeteilt in acht bis zwölf Plakate. So wird jede Figur zerschnitten und gebündelt im Buch wieder gegeben. Es entstehen auf jeder Doppelseite neue Kombinationen und Gegenüberstellungen aus Kleidern, Körperteilen und Stoffen. Die Plakate spielen zugleich auf die Starschnitte der Jugendzeitschrift 'Bravo' an, wie auch auf das schrittweise Entstehen eines Outfits. Die Publikation 'Ofoffjoff – One To One' versteht sich als Weiterführung und nicht nur als Dokumentation der Modekollektion.

Im Ausstellungskatalog 'Le Nouveau Siècle' übernimmt Julia Born (mit Laurenz Brunner) das Hauptmerkmal des Ausstellungsorts – nämlich dessen Symmetrie – in die Buchgestaltung. Das Grachtenhaus von 1672 folgt ganz den Regeln der Symmetrie, auch dort, wo sie keine Funktion hat. So wurden zum Beispiel falsche Türen eingebaut oder Muster erweitert, nur um der Vollendung zu entsprechen. Die beiden Grafiker übernehmen die Idee der Symmetrie wie folgt: Sie gliedern den Inhalt streng und teilweise zentriert. Auch haben sie einen eigenen Bildteil konzipiert, worin sie Objekte und Orte im Haus zeigen, die trotz symmetrischer Komposition eine Asymmetrie in sich bergen. Der Titel des Umschlags wird auf seiner Mittelachse hinten und vorn als Klappe eingeschlagen. Durch die zweifache aber je halbierte Darstellung des Titels bleibt er als ganzes auf dem Cover lesbar. Beide Buchbeispiele zeigen exemplarisch, wie Julia Born Inhalt in Gestaltung umsetzt.
Ariana Pradal

Resources

Portrait

Biografie

Name

Julia Born

 

Gruppenname

JOFF

 

Geboren

1975

Ausbildung

Graphic Designer

 

auch im Jahr

2003