Archives
Current Year

Julia Born

'Ofoffjoff - One To One'

'Ofoffjoff - One To One'
© FOC / Körner Union, Lausanne

'Ofoffjoff - One To One'
© FOC / Körner Union, Lausanne

'Ofoffjoff - One To One'
© FOC / Körner Union, Lausanne

'Ofoffjoff - One To One'
© FOC / Körner Union, Lausanne

'Klaus Born - Malerei'

'Klaus Born - Malerei'
© FOC / Körner Union, Lausanne

'Klaus Born - Malerei'
© FOC / Körner Union, Lausanne

'Klaus Born - Malerei'
© FOC / Körner Union, Lausanne

'Klaus Born - Malerei'
© FOC / Körner Union, Lausanne

'Le Nouveau Siècle'

'Le Nouveau Siècle'
© FOC / Körner Union, Lausanne

'Le Nouveau Siècle'
© FOC / Körner Union, Lausanne

'Le Nouveau Siècle'
© FOC / Körner Union, Lausanne

'Le Nouveau Siècle'
© FOC / Körner Union, Lausanne

Overview

Category

Graphic Design

 

Work

Three publications

Essay

Implementing ideas radically

The Swiss graphic designer Julia Born lives in Amsterdam. Since graduating from the Gerrit Rietveld Academie she has worked on her own projects and for clients in Switzerland and Holland. She submitted six books for the Swiss Federal Design Competition, produced as commissions or on her own initiative between 2003 and 2006. The jury praises Julia Born's conceptual design approach and admired the fact that the straight lines convey a sense of personal handwriting. One of the chief characteristics of her books is that they are radical implementations of an idea that reflects the contents.

The publication 'Ofoffjoff – One To One' with the Dutch fashion designer Joff for example is more than just a look book. Julia Born describes her years of work with 'JOFF' as a joint search for unconventional ways of presenting fashion. Proportion and size are important elements of the collection and Julia Born adopts these for the design of the book as well. She decided to show the ten outfits life-size, divided among eight to twelve posters. So each figure is shown in the book cut to pieces and bundled. New combinations and juxtapositions of clothes, parts of the body and fabrics emerge on every double page. The posters also allude to the star cut-ups in the youth magazine 'Bravo' and to the way an outfit comes into being. 'Ofoffjoff – One To One' as a publication sees itself as continuation of the fashion collection, and not just a record of it.

For the exhibition catalogue 'Le Nouveau Siècle', Julia Born (with Lorenz Brunner) builds the chief characteristic of the exhibition venue – its symmetry – into the book design. The Gracht House dating from 1672 follows the rules of symmetry completely, even where it has no function. For example, false doors are included, or patterns extended merely for the sake of perfection. The two graphic designers take over the idea of symmetry as follows: they structure the content rigorously, and centre it in part. They have also devised a pictorial section of their own showing items and places in the building that conceal an element of asymmetry within themselves despite symmetrical composition. The title on the cover is folded in as a flap on its central axis at the back and the front. As the title is presented twice, half of it each time, it remains intelligible as a whole on the cover. Both these books show clearly how Julia Born transforms content into design.
Ariana Pradal

Resources

portrait

Biography

Name

Julia Born

 

Group name

JOFF

 

Born

1975

Education

Graphic Designer

 

also in

2003

Archives
Année courante

Julia Born

'Ofoffjoff - One To One'

'Ofoffjoff - One To One'
© OFC / Körner Union, Lausanne

'Ofoffjoff - One To One'
© OFC / Körner Union, Lausanne

'Ofoffjoff - One To One'
© OFC / Körner Union, Lausanne

'Ofoffjoff - One To One'
© OFC / Körner Union, Lausanne

'Klaus Born - Malerei'

'Klaus Born - Malerei'
© OFC / Körner Union, Lausanne

'Klaus Born - Malerei'
© OFC / Körner Union, Lausanne

'Klaus Born - Malerei'
© OFC / Körner Union, Lausanne

'Klaus Born - Malerei'
© OFC / Körner Union, Lausanne

'Le Nouveau Siècle'

'Le Nouveau Siècle'
© OFC / Körner Union, Lausanne

'Le Nouveau Siècle'
© OFC / Körner Union, Lausanne

'Le Nouveau Siècle'
© OFC / Körner Union, Lausanne

'Le Nouveau Siècle'
© OFC / Körner Union, Lausanne

Overview

Catégorie

Design graphique

 

Oeuvre

Trois publications

Essai

Réaliser des idées de façon radicale

 

La graphiste suisse Julia Born vit à Amsterdam. Depuis la fin de ses études à la Gerrit Rietveld Academie, elle a travaillé sur des projets personnels et pour des clients en Suisse et en Hollande. Pour le Concours fédéral de design, elle a présenté six livres réalisés entre 2003 et 2006, sur commande ou de son propre chef. Le jury trouve remarquable la conception qu'elle se fait du design. Il apprécie que dans la droite ligne de cette conception, elle donne à lire une écriture personnelle. Ses livres se distinguent entre autres par la réalisation radicale d'une idée qui reflète leur contenu.

La publication 'Ofoffjoff – One To One', avec le designer de mode hollandais 'JOFF' est par exemple beaucoup plus qu'un lookbook. La graphiste décrit sa collaboration de plusieurs années avec 'JOFF' comme une recherche commune de formes de représentation non conventionnelles pour la mode. La masse et la dimension sont des éléments importants de la collection, et Julia Born les prend également en compte pour la mise en forme du livre. Elle a décidé de montrer les dix tenues en grandeur nature, réparties sur huit à douze affiches. Ainsi chaque personnage est découpé, puis recomposé dans le livre. Sur chaque double page naissent de nouvelles combinaisons et oppositions faites de vêtements, de parties du corps et d'étoffes. Les affiches font également allusion aux coupes des stars dans la revue de jeunes 'Bravo', comme d'ailleurs à la naissance progressive d'une tenue vestimentaire. La publication 'Ofoffjoff – One To One' se comprend comme un prolongement de la collection de mode, et pas seulement comme une documentation sur elle.

Dans le catalogue d'exposition 'Le Nouveau Siècle', Julia Born (en compagnie de Laurenz Brunner) reprend le signe distinctif principal du lieu d'exposition – à savoir sa symétrie – dans la réalisation du livre. Le Grachtenhaus de 1672 obéit entièrement aux règles de la symétrie, même là où celle-ci n'a aucune fonction. Par exemple, on y a inséré de fausses portes ou agrandi des motifs uniquement pour sacrifier à cet idéal de symétrie complète. Les deux graphistes reprennent cette idée de la façon suivante: ils articulent très strictement le contenu, de manière parfois centrée. Ils ont également conçu la partie images d'une manière originale, en montrant des objets et des lieux de la maison qui, malgré leur composition symétrique, dissimulent en eux une asymétrie. Le titre de la jaquette, devant et derrière, est placé sur axe médian et sert de rabat. A la fois double et à chaque fois coupé en deux, ce titre reste lisible comme un tout sur la couverture. Voilà deux types d'ouvrages qui montrent de manière exemplaire comment Julia Born fait passer le contenu dans la forme.
Ariana Pradal

 

Resources

portrait

Biographie

Nom

Julia Born

 

Collectif

JOFF

 

Né/née

1975

Formation

Graphic Designer

 

aussi en

2003