Archives
Current Year

Jean-Philippe Bonzon

'BRicOlo'

'BRicOlo'
© FOC / Cortis & Sonderegger, Zürich

'BRicOlo'
© FOC / Cortis & Sonderegger, Zürich

'BRicOlo'
© FOC / Cortis & Sonderegger, Zürich

'BRicOlo'
© FOC / Cortis & Sonderegger, Zürich

'Modular Racks Staple', elements

'Modular Racks Staple', elements
© FOC / Cortis & Sonderegger, Zürich

'Modular Racks Staple'
© FOC / Cortis & Sonderegger, Zürich

'Modular Racks Staple'
© FOC / Cortis & Sonderegger, Zürich

Overview

Category

Product and Industrial Design

 

Work

'Modular Racks Staple' (diploma work)

Essay

Functional tongue-in-cheek solutions

Jean-Philippe Bonzon exhibited his latest creation named 'Modular Racks Staple' at the Swiss Federal Design Competition; it was developed in 2007 as part of the final-year project at the at ECAL. It is a shelf system inspired by scaffolding, requiring no nails, screws or glue. The structure is stabilised by metal clamps, and stability is further enhanced by its combination of oak wood, milky-plexiglas panels and steel hooks. The basic models offer multiple combinations and the shelf system can be put together, taken apart and rebuilt as and when: an ideal objects for office hoppers.

The 'BricOLo' mini high chair designed with Fabien Cappello, isn't held together by nails and screws either, but by timber wedges. Children can assemble their furniture themselves. Inspired by traditional wooden toys, they can then get going on the jigsaw puzzle with the remaining jigsawed shapes on the seat. The hammer is a formal reminder of the tools that are not required here. The chair fosters the children's skills in putting together furniture themselves, an early preparation for their future in the age of IKEA.

Jean-Philippe Bonzon has created a wide range of products during his studies, including his boot removal device, a hair slide with bristles or the lamps made of cable binders. His objects stand out because of the choice and use of materials as well as his functional solutions with their tongue-in-cheek humour.
Aurelia Müller

Resources

portrait

Biography

Name

Jean-Philippe Bonzon

 

Born

1978

Education

designer HES en design industriel


 

Home page

www.jpbd.ch

Archiv
laufendes Jahr

Jean-Philippe Bonzon ‒ Nomination

'BRicOlo'

'BRicOlo'
© BAK / Cortis & Sonderegger, Zürich

'BRicOlo'
© BAK / Cortis & Sonderegger, Zürich

'BRicOlo'
© BAK / Cortis & Sonderegger, Zürich

'BRicOlo'
© BAK / Cortis & Sonderegger, Zürich

'Modular Racks Staple', Elemente

'Modular Racks Staple', Elemente
© BAK / Cortis & Sonderegger, Zürich

'Modular Racks Staple'
© BAK / Cortis & Sonderegger, Zürich

'Modular Racks Staple'
© BAK / Cortis & Sonderegger, Zürich

Overview

Kategorie

Produkt- und Industriedesign

 

Werk

'Modular Racks Staple' (Diplomarbeit)

Essay

Funktionale Lösungen mit augenzwinkerndem Humor

Unter dem Titel 'Modular Racks Staple' präsentierte Jean-Philippe Bonzon am Eidgenössischen Wettbewerb für Design seine jüngste Kreation, die im Rahmen der Diplomarbeit an der ECAL im Jahre 2007 entstanden ist. Es handelt sich dabei um ein Gestellsystem, das sich an Baugerüsten orientiert: Es kommt gänzlich ohne Nägel, Schrauben oder Leim aus. Der feste Zusammenhalt der Konstruktion wird durch Metallklammern ermöglicht. Die Struktur aus Eichenholz, kombiniert mit den milchigen Plexiglasplatten und Stahlhaken, garantiert grösste Stabilität. Die Grundmodule bieten vielfältige Kombinationsmöglichkeiten und das Gestell kann je nach Bedarf zusammengebaut, wieder auseinander genommen und neu zusammengestellt werden. Ein ideales Objekt für Büronomaden.

Ebenfalls ohne Nägel und Schrauben, aber mit Holzkeilen wird der in Zusammenarbeit mit Fabien Capello entworfene mini Kinderstuhl 'BRicOLo' zusammengehalten. Die Kinder können sich ihr Möbel selbst zusammensetzen. Inspiriert von traditionellen Holzspielsachen kann anschliessend das Puzzlespiel mit den verbleibenden ausgesägten Formen auf der Sitzfläche beginnen. Der Hammer erinnert formal an das Handwerkzeug, welches hier gar nicht mehr benötigt wird. Der Stuhl fördert das Geschick der Kleinen und bereitet sie schon in jungen Jahren auf das zukünftige Möbel-selbst-Zusammenbauen im Ikea-Zeitalter vor.

Jean-Philippe Bonzon hat bereits eine breite Produktpalette während seiner Studienzeit gefertigt. Dazu zählen etwa der Stiefelauszieher, die Haarspange mit Borsten oder die Lampen aus Kabelbindern. Seine Objekte zeichnen sich besonders durch die Materialwahl und -verwendung sowie durch die funktionalen Lösungen und den augenzwinkernden Humor aus.
Aurelia Müller

Resources

Portrait

Biografie

Name

Jean-Philippe Bonzon

 

Geboren

1978

Ausbildung

designer HES en design industriel

 

auch im Jahr

2018


 

Webseite

www.jpbd.ch