Archives
Current Year

Sami Benhadj

photography, 'no title'

photography, 'no title'
© Sami Benhadj

photography for the magazine 'Esquire', London (UK)

photography for the magazine 'Esquire', London (UK)
© Sami Benhadj

photography for the magazine 'Esquire', London (UK)
© Sami Benhadj

photography for the magazine 'Esquire', London (UK)
© Sami Benhadj

photography for the magazine 'Esquire', London (UK)
© Sami Benhadj

photography for the publication 'swiss federal design awards 2007'

photography for the publication 'swiss federal design awards 2007'
© FOC / Sami Benhadj

photography for the publication 'swiss federal design awards 2007'
© FOC / Sami Benhadj

photography for the publication 'swiss federal design awards 2007'
© FOC / Sami Benhadj

photography for the magazine 'Another Man'

photography for the magazine 'Another Man'
© Sami Benhadj

photography for the magazine 'Another Man'
© Sami Benhadj

photography for the magazine 'Another Man'
© Sami Benhadj

photography for the magazine 'Another Man'
© Sami Benhadj

photography for 'Livraison Magazine', Stockholm (SE)

photography for 'Livraison Magazine', Stockholm (SE)
© Sami Benhadj

Overview

Category

Graphic Design

 

Work

Various photo researches and a video clip

Essay

Patterns of Lightness

Sami Benhadj, a member of Körner Union, has already made a name for himself internationally in the world of photography. His clients include the 'New York Times Magazine', 'Wallpaper', 'Wire Magazine', 'Le Monde' and Vitra. His works have been presented in many exhibitions both in Switzerland and abroad.

Sami Benhadj receives this award for a series of commissioned photographs created in the past two years and for the 'souvenir de chine' music video produced for the band Larytta, which is also part of this series. All the works demonstrate Benhadj's interest in presenting objects in a new and experimental way. The mirror plays an important role as a compositional tool. Doubled, multiplied, mirrored on an axis: objects turn into brightly coloured kaleidoscopic patterns.

In the work commissioned for the magazine 'Another Man', ties, wallets, shoes and belts are mirrored on an axis, seemingly freed from the forces of gravity, to create a geometric pattern. The mirroring effect is taken still further in the photographs for the Swiss Federal Design Grants 2007 catalogue. Here, the award-winning designs are photographed fourfold from above, from a custom-built scaffolding, and then combined to create a single image. Only on closer inspection does one notice tiny variations in detail, indicating that each individual piece was manually positioned on the ground four times. In the age of Photoshop, such a time-consuming procedure is remarkable.

The music video shows various creatures – mice, canaries, chickens – rushing towards a mirrored corner, only to discover that there is no way out. This riotous arrangement of animals to the rhythmic beat of the music creates a fascinating configuration of symmetric movement.

The often complex and time-consuming installations that underlie the compositions are not visible in the photographs. As Sami Benhadj notes, it is first and foremost a question of focusing all attention on the object itself and allowing a certain ambiguity to leave its mark on the image. By enlisting minimal but carefully deliberated means to compose his pictures, he succeeds in creating strong and compelling images, enriching contemporary object photography with fresh and innovative approaches and remarkable ideas.
Aurelia Müller

Resources

Portrait

'Souvenir de Chine', backstage

setting from the clip 'Souvenir de Chine' (for the group Larytta)

setting from the clip 'Souvenir de Chine' (for the group Larytta)

'Souvenir de Chine', backstage

'Souvenir de Chine', backstage

'Souvenir de Chine'

'Souvenir de Chine', backstage

studio

Biography

Name

Sami Benhadj

 

Group name

Körner Union

 

Born

1977

Education

designer HES en communication visuelle

 

also in

2006


 

Home page

www.koernerunion.com

Archiv
laufendes Jahr

Sami Benhadj

Fotografie, 'ohne Titel'

Fotografie, 'ohne Titel'
© Sami Benhadj

Fotografie für das Magazin 'Esquire', London (UK)

Fotografie für das Magazin 'Esquire', London (UK)
© Sami Benhadj

Fotografie für das Magazin 'Esquire', London (UK)
© Sami Benhadj

Fotografie für das Magazin 'Esquire', London (UK)
© Sami Benhadj

Fotografie für das Magazin 'Esquire', London (UK)
© Sami Benhadj

Fotografie für die Publikation 'Eidg. Förderpreise für Design 2007'

Fotografie für die Publikation 'Eidg. Förderpreise für Design 2007'
© BAK / Sami Benhadj

Fotografie für die Publikation 'Eidg. Förderpreise für Design 2007'
© BAK / Sami Benhadj

Fotografie für die Publikation 'Eidg. Förderpreise für Design 2007'
© BAK / Sami Benhadj

Fotografie für das Magazin 'Another Man'

Fotografie für das Magazin 'Another Man'
© Sami Benhadj

Fotografie für das Magazin 'Another Man'
© Sami Benhadj

Fotografie für das Magazin 'Another Man'
© Sami Benhadj

Fotografie für das Magazin 'Another Man'
© Sami Benhadj

Fotografie für 'Livraison Magazine', Stockholm (SE)

Fotografie für 'Livraison Magazine', Stockholm (SE)
© Sami Benhadj

Overview

Kategorie

Grafikdesign

 

Werk

Verschiedene Fotoarbeiten und ein Video

Essay

Das Muster der Schwerelosigkeit

Sami Benhadj, ein Mitglied von 'Körner Union', hat sich im Bereich Fotografie bereits international einen Namen gemacht. Zu den namhaften Auftraggebern gehören unter anderem das 'New York Times Magazine', 'Wallpaper', 'Wire Magazine', 'Le Monde' und 'Vitra'. Seine Arbeiten wurden mehrfach an Ausstellungen im In- und Ausland präsentiert.

Ausgezeichnet wird Sami Benhadj für eine Serie von Auftragsfotografien, die in den letzten zwei Jahren entstanden sind und für das zu diesem Arbeitszyklus zählende Musikvideo 'Souvenir de Chine' für die Band Larytta. Alle Arbeiten verbindet das Interesse, die Objekte auf eine neue, experimentelle Art zu präsentieren. Dabei spielt der Spiegel als Inszenierungsinstrument meist eine wichtige Rolle. Verdoppelt, vervierfacht, um die Achse gespiegelt, entstehen aus einem Gegenstand kaleidoskopartige Muster in bunten Farben.

Bei der Auftragsarbeit für das Magazin 'Another Man' werden Krawatten, Portemonnaies, Freizeitschuhe und Gürtel um eine Achse gespiegelt, erscheinen von der Schwerkraft losgelöst und ergeben gemeinsam eine geometrische Ordnung. Ad absurdum wird die Spiegelung bei den Fotografien für den Katalog 'Eidgenössische Förderpreise für Design 2007' geführt. Hier wurden die prämierten Arbeiten in vierfacher Ausführung von oben auf einem eigens für die Inszenierung gebauten Baugerüst fotografiert und anschliessend zu einem einzigen Bild zusammengesetzt. Jedes einzelne Stück wurde viermal von Hand auf den Boden gelegt, was lediglich bei genauem Betrachten an kleinen Details ersichtlich ist. Die aufwändige Arbeit wird auch im Photoshopzeitalter nicht gescheut.

Das Musikvideo zeigt Tiere wie Mäuse, Kanarienvögel oder Hühner, die auf die Mitte eines Spiegelwinkels zulaufen, nur um dann zu merken, dass es dort nicht mehr weitergeht. Mit dem wilden Tierarrangement entsteht zum Takt der Musik ein faszinierendes, bewegtes symmetrisches Gebilde.

Die teils aufwändigen Installationen hinter den Inszenierungen sind auf den Fotografien nicht sichtbar. Wie Sami Benhadj festhält, geht es in erster Linie darum, die ganze Aufmerksamkeit auf das Objekt zu lenken und eine gewisse Ambiguität im Bild bestehen zu lassen. Mit minimalistischen und gezielt eingesetzten Mitteln gelingt es ihm, starke und überzeugende Bilder zu komponieren und die Objektfotografie der Gegenwart mit frischen und innovativen Darstellungsweisen und verblüffenden Ideen zu bereichern.
Aurelia Müller

Resources

Portrait

'Souvenir de Chine', backstage

Kulisse aus dem Clip 'Souvenir de Chine' (für die Gruppe Larytta)

Kulisse aus dem Clip 'Souvenir de Chine' (für die Gruppe Larytta)

'Souvenir de Chine', backstage

'Souvenir de Chine', backstage

'Souvenir de Chine'

'Souvenir de Chine', backstage

Atelier

Biografie

Name

Sami Benhadj

 

Gruppenname

Körner Union

 

Geboren

1977

Ausbildung

designer HES en communication visuelle

 

auch im Jahr

2006


 

Webseite

www.koernerunion.com