Archives
Current Year

Armando Forlin

'Antiheroes', collection, 2009 – 2010

'Antiheroes', collection, 2009 – 2010
© FOC / Michel Bonvin

'Antiheroes', collection, 2009 – 2010
© FOC / Michel Bonvin

'Antiheroes', collection, 2009 – 2010
© FOC / Michel Bonvin

'Antiheroes', collection, 2009 – 2010
© FOC / Michel Bonvin

Armando Forlin

Armando Forlin

Armando Forlin

'Antiheroes', collection, 2009 – 2010

'Antiheroes', collection, 2009 – 2010
© FOC / Michel Bonvin

'Antiheroes', collection, 2009 – 2010
© FOC / Michel Bonvin

'Antiheroes', collection, 2009 – 2010
© FOC / Michel Bonvin

'Antiheroes', collection, 2009 – 2010

'Antiheroes', collection, 2009 – 2010
© FOC / Michel Bonvin

'Antiheroes', collection, 2009 – 2010
© FOC / Michel Bonvin

'Antiheroes', collection, 2009 – 2010
© FOC / Michel Bonvin

'Antiheroes', collection, 2009 – 2010
© FOC / Michel Bonvin

'Antiheroes', collection, 2009 – 2010
© FOC / Michel Bonvin

'Antiheroes', collection, 2009 – 2010
© FOC / Michel Bonvin

Armando Forlin, 'Antiheroes', video

Armando Forlin, 'Antiheroes', video

Armando Forlin

Armando Forlin

Armando Forlin

Armando Forlin

Overview

Category

Fashion Design

 

Work

'Antiheroes', a fashion collection with a film and a sketch book

Essay

The Earnest Levity of Armando Forlin

Armando Forlin took his first steps towards fashion design as much out of boredom as necessity. It is not quite certain why boredom set in during his time at teachers college. But the necessity arose from his search for exactly the kind of winter coat he wanted. In the end, Forlin made a virtue of necessity and turned his fashion ideas into a graduate piece.

The project Antiheroes-The-Good-And-The-Evil-Women, for which Armando Forlin has won a Swiss Federal Design Award, is an extension of that graduate piece. It comprises designs for six types of women: three 'good' and three 'evil'. All of them are unconventional and contradictory – antiheroes, indeed – and all have been allocated a design and a brief description stating name, profession and location, as well as favourite music (e.g. Stockhausen or Gainsbourg) and a personal motto. Hard Work, Hard Party is the motto of DJane from Berlin, while Bianca Miller from New York has no time for mottos. In spite of the somewhat clichéd, tongue-in-cheek format, Forlin's brief descriptions show that he does put some thought into the kind of people who would wear his clothes.

The talent of this young designer is evident in many of his pieces as well as in his reflections on the female body. For instance, he emphasises the shoulders of a jacket with wavy, lace-lined tucks or places pockets on the hips of a dress. Those pockets, incidentally, also serve as a place for Geraldine, the library assistant from Paris, to put her books. In his functional, tailor-made designs, Forlin cleverly combines the personality and lifestyle of the women who wear them.

Armando Forlin plans to study fashion at the Antwerp Academy. He is unlikely to succumb to boredom there, and will hopefully remain just as creative as he is now.
Anna Niederhäuser

Resources

studio

Biography

Name

Armando Forlin

 

Born

1989

Education

Matura


 

Home page

www.armandoforlin.com

Archiv
laufendes Jahr

Armando Forlin

'Antiheroes', Kollektion, 2009 – 2010

'Antiheroes', Kollektion, 2009 – 2010
© BAK / Michel Bonvin

'Antiheroes', Kollektion, 2009 – 2010
© BAK / Michel Bonvin

'Antiheroes', Kollektion, 2009 – 2010
© BAK / Michel Bonvin

'Antiheroes', Kollektion, 2009 – 2010
© BAK / Michel Bonvin

Armando Forlin

Armando Forlin

Armando Forlin

'Antiheroes', Kollektion, 2009 – 2010

'Antiheroes', Kollektion, 2009 – 2010
© BAK / Michel Bonvin

'Antiheroes', Kollektion, 2009 – 2010
© BAK / Michel Bonvin

'Antiheroes', Kollektion, 2009 – 2010
© BAK / Michel Bonvin

'Antiheroes', Kollektion, 2009 – 2010

'Antiheroes', Kollektion, 2009 – 2010
© BAK / Michel Bonvin

'Antiheroes', Kollektion, 2009 – 2010
© BAK / Michel Bonvin

'Antiheroes', Kollektion, 2009 – 2010
© BAK / Michel Bonvin

'Antiheroes', Kollektion, 2009 – 2010
© BAK / Michel Bonvin

'Antiheroes', Kollektion, 2009 – 2010
© BAK / Michel Bonvin

'Antiheroes', Kollektion, 2009 – 2010
© BAK / Michel Bonvin

Armando Forlin, 'Antiheroes', Video

Armando Forlin, 'Antiheroes', Video

Armando Forlin

Armando Forlin

Armando Forlin

Armando Forlin

Overview

Kategorie

Modedesign

 

Werk

'Antiheroes', eine Kleiderkollektion mit Film und Skizzenbuch

Essay

Die ernsthafte Leichtigkeit des Armando Forlin

Die ersten Schritte Richtung Modedesign machte Armando Forlin sowohl aus Langeweile wie auch aus Not. Wieso sich in der Pädagogischen Maturitätsschule Langeweile eingestellt hat, wissen wir nicht. Die Not allerdings entwickelte sich aus dem Wunsch nach einem Wintermantel, der genau seinen Vorstellungen entsprechen sollte. Schliesslich macht Forlin aus diesen persönlichen Nöten eine Tugend und setzt seine modischen Ideen in der Maturaarbeit um.

Das Projekt 'Antiheroes-The-Good-And-The-Evil-Women', mit dem Armando Forlin einen Eidgenössischen Preis für Design gewonnen hat, ist eine Weiterentwicklung seiner Abschlussarbeit. Diese umfasst Entwürfe für sechs unterschiedliche Frauentypen, darunter drei 'gute' und drei 'böse'. Unangepasst und widersprüchlich – Antiheldinnen eben – sind alle, und sie alle werden mit einem Entwurf und einem Steckbrief ausgestattet. Letzterer umfasst neben Name, Beruf und Wohnort auch Lieblingsmusik (bspw. Stockhausen oder Gainsbourg) und ein Motto. 'Hard Work, Hard Party' heisst es bei der DJane aus Berlin, während eine gewisse Bianca Miller aus New York keine Zeit für Mottos hat. Trotz diesen manchmal klischiert-ironischen Formulierungen zeigt Forlin in diesen kurzen Steckbriefen seine gewissenhafte Reflexion über die Menschen, die seine Kleider tragen sollen.

Das Talent des jungen Designers zeigt sich in vielen seiner Stücke auch anhand der Gedanken, die er sich zum weiblichen Körper macht. So betont er zum Beispiel die Schulterpartie einer Jacke mit wellenförmigen und spitzenunterlegten Textilfalten oder ein Kleid mit aufgesetzten Taschen an der Hüfte. Gleichzeitig dienen diese Taschen übrigens als Aufbewahrungsort für Bücher der Bibliotheksangestellten Geraldine aus Paris. In massgeschneiderten und funktionellen Entwürfen vereint Forlin klug durchdacht die Persönlichkeiten der Frauen mit ihren Aktivitäten.

Armando Forlin hat vor, an der Königlichen Modeschule in Antwerpen zu studieren. Dort wird er sich wahrscheinlich weniger langweilen, aber dabei hoffentlich genauso kreativ bleiben.
Anna Niederhäuser

Resources

Atelier

Biografie

Name

Armando Forlin

 

Geboren

1989

Ausbildung

Matura


 

Webseite

www.armandoforlin.com