Archives
Current Year

BIG-GAME: Elric Petit / Grégoire Jeanmonod / Augustin Scott de Martinville

'FLOORS'

'FLOORS'
© FOC / Michel Bonvin

'FLOORS'
© FOC / Michel Bonvin

'FLOORS'
© FOC / Michel Bonvin

'FLOORS'

'FLOORS'
© FOC / Michel Bonvin

'FLOORS'
© FOC / Michel Bonvin

'FLOORS'
© FOC / Michel Bonvin

BIG-GAME

BIG-GAME, 'FLOORS', video

BIG-GAME, 'FLOORS', video

BIG-GAME
© FOC

Overview

Category

Product and Industrial Design

 

Work

Storage system 'FLOORS'

Essay

A Game of Forms

Two ashwood supports and nine spray-painted aluminium skids: any amateur d-i-y enthusiast can easily assemble the versatile, height-adjustable, width-adjustable shelving system. Within minutes, it is possible to create a simple, archetypal structure without a single screw.

The original idea behind the 'FLOORS' modular system was to integrate standardised aluminium profiles of the kind used in architecture to support heavy loads. The U-shaped skids lend the shelving system enormous stability. The form itself is the result of a long process of trial and error.

This is the second Swiss Federal Design Award for the Swiss-French-Belgian trio based in Lausanne and Brussels, who already received the award in 2006. Grégoire Jeanmonod, Augustin Scott de Martinville and Elric Petit have been working together successfully since 2004 under the name BIG-GAME. Their client list includes such prestigious names as 'Vlaemsch' and 'Ligne Roset'.

BIG-GAME is big on re-interpreting the familiar. They juggle creatively with the vocabulary of familiar forms, transposing them to new materials and functions. Just as they did with their plywood take on elk hunting trophies in 2006, the three designers have now conjured something entirely new out of something utterly commonplace. 'FLOORS' is based on the kind of shelving we know so well from industrial, garage or basement storage areas. The aim of the project was to create functional storage of the same kind, but explicitly adapted to fit into a living space (home and office). Once again, BIG-GAME has come up with a stunning play on formal typologies and references. The metal-imitate wooden lathes are remarkably light and refreshingly colourful. 'FLOORS' is still a prototype design – which renowned furniture producer will choose to adopt it remains to be seen.
Anna Wacker

Resources

'FLOORS'

'FLOORS'

Biography

Name

Grégoire Jeanmonod

 

Group name

BIG-GAME

 

Born

1978

Education

Industrial Designer

 

also in

2006 2014


 

Home page

www.big-game.ch

Biography

Name

Elric Petit

 

Group name

BIG-GAME

 

Born

1978

Education

Industrial Designer

 

also in

2014


 

Home page

www.big-game.ch

Biography

Name

A. Scott de Martinville

 

Group name

BIG-GAME

 

Born

1980

Education

Industrial Designer

 

also in

2006 2014


 

Home page

www.big-game.ch

Archiv
laufendes Jahr

BIG-GAME: Elric Petit / Grégoire Jeanmonod / Augustin Scott de Martinville

'FLOORS'

'FLOORS'
© BAK / Michel Bonvin

'FLOORS'
© BAK / Michel Bonvin

'FLOORS'
© BAK / Michel Bonvin

'FLOORS'

'FLOORS'
© BAK / Michel Bonvin

'FLOORS'
© BAK / Michel Bonvin

'FLOORS'
© BAK / Michel Bonvin

BIG-GAME

BIG-GAME, 'FLOORS', Video

BIG-GAME, 'FLOORS', Video

BIG-GAME
© BAK

Overview

Kategorie

Produkt- und Industriedesign

 

Werk

Regalsystem 'FLOORS'

Essay

Formenspiel

Zwei Holzträger aus Eschenholz, neun farbig gespritzte Alu-Kufen: In verblüffend einfacher Weise kann selbst ein Handwerksamateur die einzelnen Elemente des Regalsystems 'FLOORS' zusammenstecken und vielseitig – in Höhe und Breite variabel – zusammenbauen. Binnen Minuten entsteht so ein leichtes Gestell in archetypischer Form, ohne eine einzige Schraube anbringen zu müssen.

Der Ursprungsgedanke des modularen Gestellsystems 'FLOORS' war die Integration von standardisierten Aluminium-Profilen, welche in der Architektur verwendet werden, um schwere Gewichte zu tragen. Durch die u-förmigen Kufen der Alu-Latten erhält das Regal die grösstmögliche Stabilität; die Formfindung entstand durch einen langen experimentellen Suchprozess.

Das schweizerisch-französisch-belgische Industriedesigner-Trio mit Sitz in Lausanne und Brüssel gewinnt bereits zum zweiten Mal nach 2006 einen Eidgenössischen Preis für Design. Seit 2004 arbeiten Grégoire Jeanmonod, Augustin Scott de Martinville und Elric Petit erfolgreich unter dem Namen BIG-GAME zusammen – mittlerweile für viele namhafte Hersteller wie 'Vlaemsch' oder 'Ligne Roset'.

BIG-GAME sind gross im Neuinterpretieren von bereits Bekanntem; sie jonglieren auf kreative Weise mit dem Vokabular bekannter Formen und übertragen diese auf neue Materialien und Funktionen. Wie bei den Elchjagdtrophäen aus dünnem Sperrholz aus dem Jahr 2006 erfinden die drei Designer auch hier mit Altbekanntem etwas ganz Neues. 'FLOORS' gleicht den Stauregalen, wie wir sie aus der Industrie oder in Garagen- und Kellerräumen kennen. Vergleichbares Ziel war hier, viel Stauraum zu generieren mit dem Unterschied, dass 'FLOORS' explizit für den inneren Wohnbereich (Heim- und Bürodedarf) gedacht ist. Das Spiel mit Formentypologie und Referenzen gelingt BIG-GAME auch hier. Die aus Metall imitierten Holzlatten überraschen durch ihre Leichtigkeit und überzeugen durch ihre farbige Frische. 'FLOORS' ist ein Prototyp – bleibt zu verfolgen, welche renommierten Möbelfirmen ihn ins Sortiment aufnehmen.
Anna Wacker

Resources

'FLOORS'

'FLOORS'

Biografie

Name

Grégoire Jeanmonod

 

Gruppenname

BIG-GAME

 

Geboren

1978

Ausbildung

Industrial Designer

 

auch im Jahr

2006 2014


 

Webseite

www.big-game.ch

Biografie

Name

Elric Petit

 

Gruppenname

BIG-GAME

 

Geboren

1978

Ausbildung

Industrial Designer

 

auch im Jahr

2014


 

Webseite

www.big-game.ch

Biografie

Name

A. Scott de Martinville

 

Gruppenname

BIG-GAME

 

Geboren

1980

Ausbildung

Industrial Designer

 

auch im Jahr

2006 2014


 

Webseite

www.big-game.ch