Archives
Current Year

BIG-GAME: Elric Petit / Grégoire Jeanmonod / Augustin Scott de Martinville

'FLOORS'

'FLOORS'
© FOC / Michel Bonvin

'FLOORS'
© FOC / Michel Bonvin

'FLOORS'
© FOC / Michel Bonvin

'FLOORS'

'FLOORS'
© FOC / Michel Bonvin

'FLOORS'
© FOC / Michel Bonvin

'FLOORS'
© FOC / Michel Bonvin

BIG-GAME

BIG-GAME, 'FLOORS', video

BIG-GAME, 'FLOORS', video

BIG-GAME
© FOC

Overview

Category

Product and Industrial Design

 

Work

Storage system 'FLOORS'

Essay

A Game of Forms

Two ashwood supports and nine spray-painted aluminium skids: any amateur d-i-y enthusiast can easily assemble the versatile, height-adjustable, width-adjustable shelving system. Within minutes, it is possible to create a simple, archetypal structure without a single screw.

The original idea behind the 'FLOORS' modular system was to integrate standardised aluminium profiles of the kind used in architecture to support heavy loads. The U-shaped skids lend the shelving system enormous stability. The form itself is the result of a long process of trial and error.

This is the second Swiss Federal Design Award for the Swiss-French-Belgian trio based in Lausanne and Brussels, who already received the award in 2006. Grégoire Jeanmonod, Augustin Scott de Martinville and Elric Petit have been working together successfully since 2004 under the name BIG-GAME. Their client list includes such prestigious names as 'Vlaemsch' and 'Ligne Roset'.

BIG-GAME is big on re-interpreting the familiar. They juggle creatively with the vocabulary of familiar forms, transposing them to new materials and functions. Just as they did with their plywood take on elk hunting trophies in 2006, the three designers have now conjured something entirely new out of something utterly commonplace. 'FLOORS' is based on the kind of shelving we know so well from industrial, garage or basement storage areas. The aim of the project was to create functional storage of the same kind, but explicitly adapted to fit into a living space (home and office). Once again, BIG-GAME has come up with a stunning play on formal typologies and references. The metal-imitate wooden lathes are remarkably light and refreshingly colourful. 'FLOORS' is still a prototype design – which renowned furniture producer will choose to adopt it remains to be seen.
Anna Wacker

Resources

'FLOORS'

'FLOORS'

Biography

Name

Grégoire Jeanmonod

 

Group name

BIG-GAME

 

Born

1978

Education

Industrial Designer

 

also in

2006 2014


 

Home page

www.big-game.ch

Biography

Name

Elric Petit

 

Group name

BIG-GAME

 

Born

1978

Education

Industrial Designer

 

also in

2014


 

Home page

www.big-game.ch

Biography

Name

A. Scott de Martinville

 

Group name

BIG-GAME

 

Born

1980

Education

Industrial Designer

 

also in

2006 2014


 

Home page

www.big-game.ch

Archives
Année courante

BIG-GAME: Elric Petit / Grégoire Jeanmonod / Augustin Scott de Martinville

'FLOORS'

'FLOORS'
© OFC / Michel Bonvin

'FLOORS'
© OFC / Michel Bonvin

'FLOORS'
© OFC / Michel Bonvin

'FLOORS'

'FLOORS'
© OFC / Michel Bonvin

'FLOORS'
© OFC / Michel Bonvin

'FLOORS'
© OFC / Michel Bonvin

BIG-GAME

BIG-GAME, 'FLOORS', vidéo

BIG-GAME, 'FLOORS', vidéo

BIG-GAME
© OFC

Overview

Catégorie

Design de produits, design industriel

 

Oeuvre

Système d'étagères 'FLOORS'

Essai

Jeu de formes

Deux montants en frêne, neuf lattes d'aluminium laquées de couleur: avec une facilité stupéfiante, même le plus amateur des bricoleurs peut assembler les éléments du système d'étagères 'FLOORS' et les monter de multiples façons puisqu'on peut en varier la hauteur et la largeur. De forme archétypale, ces étagères s'assemblent en quelques minutes sans qu'il soit besoin d'utiliser une seule vis.

L'idée de départ du système d'étagères modulaire 'FLOORS' était d'intégrer les profilés d'aluminium standard qui sont utilisés dans la construction pour supporter des poids importants. Grâce à la forme en U des lattes d'aluminium, les étagères acquièrent une très grande stabilité; pour arriver à définir cette forme, les designers se sont engagés dans un long processus de recherches expérimentales.

Le trio helvético-franco-belge de designers, dont le siège est à Lausanne et Bruxelles, obtient un prix fédéral de design, pour la deuxième fois après 2006. Depuis 2004, Grégoire Jeanmonod, Augustin Scott de Martinville et Elric Petit travaillent ensemble et se taillent un franc succès sous le label BIG-GAME – entre-temps, auprès de fabricants renommés comme 'Vlaemsch' ou 'Ligne Roset'.

BIG-GAME sont excellents lorsqu'il s'agit de réinterpréter des objets déjà familiers; ils ont une façon inventive de jongler avec le vocabulaire des formes connues et de les transposer à de nouveaux matériaux et à de nouvelles fonctions. Comme avec les massacres d'élan de l'année 2006, réalisés dans un fin contreplaqué, les trois designers reprennent des objets connus depuis longtemps pour les réinventer totalement. 'FLOORS' ressemblent à ces étagères de rangement fréquentes dans l'industrie, les garages ou les caves. L'objet a ici le même but, puisqu'on voulait obtenir un espace de rangement important, à une différence près: 'FLOORS' est explicitement pensé pour le domaine habitable (maison et bureau). BIG-GAME réussissent aussi à jouer des typologies formelles et des références. Ces lattes de métal, qui imitent le bois, surprennent par leur légèreté et convainquent par leurs couleurs fraîches. 'FLOORS' est un prototype – reste à savoir quelle entreprise de meubles célèbre l'intègrera dans son assortiment.
Anna Wacker

Resources

'FLOORS'

'FLOORS'

Biographie

Nom

Grégoire Jeanmonod

 

Collectif

BIG-GAME

 

Né/née

1978

Formation

Industrial Designer

 

aussi en

2006 2014


 

Site web

www.big-game.ch

Biographie

Nom

Elric Petit

 

Collectif

BIG-GAME

 

Né/née

1978

Formation

Industrial Designer

 

aussi en

2014


 

Site web

www.big-game.ch

Biographie

Nom

A. Scott de Martinville

 

Collectif

BIG-GAME

 

Né/née

1980

Formation

Industrial Designer

 

aussi en

2006 2014


 

Site web

www.big-game.ch