Archives
Current Year

Cyril Porchet

'Seduction'

'Seduction'
© ECAL / Cyril Porchet

'Seduction'
© ECAL / Cyril Porchet

'Seduction'
© ECAL / Cyril Porchet

'Seduction'

'Seduction'
© ECAL / Cyril Porchet

'Seduction'
© ECAL / Cyril Porchet

'Seduction'
© ECAL / Cyril Porchet

'Seduction'

'Seduction'
© ECAL / Cyril Porchet

'Seduction'
© ECAL / Cyril Porchet

'Seduction'
© ECAL / Cyril Porchet

Overview

Category

Photography

 

Work

Photo research 'Seduction' (diploma work)

Essay

Images of Seduction

The award-winning photographic series 'Seduction' by Cyril Porchet shows the heart of the church: the altar. Ten baroque churches in Germany, Spain and Austria are all photographed in the same frontal format.

Golden angels, sumptuously decorated altars, magnificently ornate columns and dynamic sculptures create a dense and symbol-laden image of the church interior. The sheer wealth of imagery, the carefully orchestrated colours and the surprisingly large format all combine to create an overwhelming effect, which is further intensified by the juxtaposition of the photographs with variations on the same motif.

Porchet selected the baroque churches for their opulence and their teeming decor of figurative and symbolic elements. He photographed these religious places to convey a sense of visual overkill. He is interested in the way our senses are, metaphorically speaking, seduced and anaesthetised by so much magnificence and splendour. He sees the baroque churches as metaphors of the spectacle described by Guy Debord in his famous 1967 critique of capitalism, 'The Society of the Spectacle'. In similar vein, the photographer critiques the accumulation of spectacle in present-day social culture. He regards his photographs as historical reminders of the function of the image as an instrument of effective communication and manipulation.

With his extraordinary series of photographs, Cyril Porchet has created a remarkable visual experience in which the role of the image today is addressed astutely and critically. This enigmatic work is as compelling in its play on superficiality as it is in its analytical depth and multi-layered meaning.
Aurelia Müller

Biography

Name

Cyril Porchet

 

Born

1984

Education

Photographer

 

also in

2012 2015


 

Home page

www.cyrilporchet.com

Archiv
laufendes Jahr

Cyril Porchet

'Seduction'

'Seduction'
© ECAL / Cyril Porchet

'Seduction'
© ECAL / Cyril Porchet

'Seduction'
© ECAL / Cyril Porchet

'Seduction'

'Seduction'
© ECAL / Cyril Porchet

'Seduction'
© ECAL / Cyril Porchet

'Seduction'
© ECAL / Cyril Porchet

'Seduction'

'Seduction'
© ECAL / Cyril Porchet

'Seduction'
© ECAL / Cyril Porchet

'Seduction'
© ECAL / Cyril Porchet

Overview

Kategorie

Fotografie

 

Werk

Fotoserie 'Seduction' (Diplomarbeit)

Essay

Bilder der Verführung

Die prämierte Fotoserie 'Seduction' von Cyril Porchet zeigt das üppig geschmückte Herz der Kirche: den Altar. In gleichbleibender Frontalansicht sind zehn barocke Kirchen aus Deutschland, Spanien und Österreich abgebildet.

Goldene Engel, prunkvoll geschmückte Altare, geschwungene und üppig dekorierte Säulen und dynamische Skulpturen ergeben ein dichtes, mit Symbolen aufgeladenes Bild des Kircheninnerns. Die Fotografien überwältigen durch die Fülle des Abgebildeten, die abgestimmte Farbigkeit und das überraschend grosse Format. Die Aneinanderreihung der Fotografien und das Zeigen des gleichen Motivs in unterschiedlichen Variationen intensivieren diesen Moment.

Cyril Porchet wählte die barocken Kirchen sorgfältig nach der Üppigkeit, der Anordnung und der Schmückung mit figurativen und symbolischen Elementen aus. Er fotografierte diese religiösen Orte, um einen Effekt der visuellen Übersättigung zu erzeugen. Dabei geht es ihm im übertragenen Sinn um die Verführung und die Betäubung der Sinne durch die üppige Pracht und den Glanz. Die barocken Kirchen sieht er als eine Metapher des Spektakels und knüpft an kapitalismuskritische Theorie und sein berühmtes Buch von 1967 'Die Gesellschaft des Spektakels' an. Der Fotograf kritisiert ebenso die Akkumulation der Spektakel in der aktuellen Kultur der Gesellschaft. Er sieht seine Fotografien als historische Erinnerung an die Funktion des Bildes, als Werkzeug für wirkungsvolle Kommunikation und Manipulation.

Cyril Porchet ist es mit seiner aussergewöhnlichen Fotoserie gelungen, ein überraschendes visuelles Erlebnis zu gestalten und die Rolle des Bildes in der Gegenwart treffend und kritisch zu thematisieren. Die Arbeit besticht durch die enigmatische Wirkung und das Spiel mit der Oberfläche ebenso wie durch ihre inhaltliche Tiefe und Mehrschichtigkeit.
Aurelia Müller

Biografie

Name

Cyril Porchet

 

Geboren

1984

Ausbildung

Photographer

 

auch im Jahr

2012 2015


 

Webseite

www.cyrilporchet.com