Archives
Current Year

IKOU TSCHÜSS: Carmen D’Apollonio / Guya Marini

summer and winter collection, 2008 / 2009

summer and winter collection, 2008 / 2009
© FOC / Michel Bonvin

summer and winter collection, 2008 / 2009
© FOC / Michel Bonvin

summer and winter collection, 2008 / 2009
© FOC / Michel Bonvin

summer and winter collection, 2008 / 2009
© FOC / Michel Bonvin

summer and winter collection, 2008 / 2009
© FOC / Michel Bonvin

summer and winter collection, 2008 / 2009
© FOC / Michel Bonvin

summer and winter collection, 2008 / 2009
© FOC / Michel Bonvin

summer and winter collection, 2008 / 2009

summer and winter collection, 2008 / 2009
© Horst Diekgerdes / Thomas Petit

summer and winter collection, 2008 / 2009
© Horst Diekgerdes / Thomas Petit

summer and winter collection, 2008 / 2009
© Horst Diekgerdes / Thomas Petit

summer and winter collection, 2008 / 2009
© Horst Diekgerdes / Thomas Petit

summer and winter collection, 2008 / 2009
© Horst Diekgerdes / Thomas Petit

summer and winter collection, 2008 / 2009
© Horst Diekgerdes / Thomas Petit

summer and winter collection, 2008 / 2009
© Horst Diekgerdes / Thomas Petit

IKOU TSCHÜSS, summer and winter collection, video

IKOU TSCHÜSS, summer and winter collection, video

IKOU TSCHÜSS

IKOU TSCHÜSS

IKOU TSCHÜSS

IKOU TSCHÜSS

IKOU TSCHÜSS

Overview

Category

Fashion Design

 

Work

A fashion collection, handmade and handprinted (for women, men, children and interior)

Essay

Hand-Knitted Haute-Couture

IKOU TSCHÜSS have won a Swiss Federal Design Award for their Summer and Winter 2008/2009 fashion collection. The pieces range from playful, 70s inspired knits and hand-printed T-shirts in delicate colours for men, women and children, to scarves, belts and necklaces, and even hand-embroidered sofa cushions. IKOU TSCHÜSS is the brainchild of young Zurich-based designers Guya Marini and Carmen D'Apollonio. They met in Zurich in the early 1990s and began working together in 2006, creating their first collection of knits and hand-printed T-shirts in Winter 2006 and going on to produce five more fashion collections to date. Before then, the two designers, both of whom are daughters of Italian immigrants, divided their time between Zurich and their workplaces abroad (Guya Marini was a stylist for Paco Rabanne in Paris and Carmen D'Apollonio was an assistant to Urs Fischer in New York).

Ikou means 'let's go!' in Japanese, while tschüss means 'bye!' in German. The playful creations of IKOU TSCHÜSS are now in demand from Zurich to Tokyo, and are available in more than 20 outlets worldwide. Their printed silk scarves with crochet borders made of recycled material have become coveted items and have been featured in such high-profile international fashion magazines as Vogue, Elle and Jalouse.

The core philosophy of the young fashion label is to use locally sourced, handmade goods (knits, crochet work, hand-printing, colour design). The combination of ordinary, traditional craftsmanship and unusual materials adds new freshness to the somewhat frumpy image conjured by crochet. A large circle of friends, young and old, has built up around Zurich, all of whom knit and crochet enthusiastically. This means that each piece is entirely hand-crafted in Switzerland. Both of the designers are adamant that they do not wish to adopt more economical, mechanized production methods.

The IKOU TSCHÜSS collection is innovative, upbeat, free-spirited and playful. It reflects a love of experimenting with techniques, materials and colours, and is grounded at the same time in a strong philosophy.
Anna Wacker

Biography

Name

Carmen D'Apollonio

 

Group name

Ikou Tschüss GmbH

 

Born

1973

Education

Fashion designer

 

also in

2017


 

Home page

www.ikoutschuss.com

Biography

Name

Guya Marini

 

Group name

Ikou Tschüss GmbH

 

Born

1974

Education

Fashion designer

 

also in

2017


 

Home page

www.ikoutschuss.com

Archiv
laufendes Jahr

IKOU TSCHÜSS: Carmen D’Apollonio / Guya Marini

Sommer- und Winterkollektion, 2008 / 2009

Sommer- und Winterkollektion, 2008 / 2009
© BAK / Michel Bonvin

Sommer- und Winterkollektion, 2008 / 2009
© BAK / Michel Bonvin

Sommer- und Winterkollektion, 2008 / 2009
© BAK / Michel Bonvin

Sommer- und Winterkollektion, 2008 / 2009
© BAK / Michel Bonvin

Sommer- und Winterkollektion, 2008 / 2009
© BAK / Michel Bonvin

Sommer- und Winterkollektion, 2008 / 2009
© BAK / Michel Bonvin

Sommer- und Winterkollektion, 2008 / 2009
© BAK / Michel Bonvin

Sommer- und Winterkollektion, 2008 / 2009

Sommer- und Winterkollektion, 2008 / 2009
© Horst Diekgerdes / Thomas Petit

Sommer- und Winterkollektion, 2008 / 2009
© Horst Diekgerdes / Thomas Petit

Sommer- und Winterkollektion, 2008 / 2009
© Horst Diekgerdes / Thomas Petit

Sommer- und Winterkollektion, 2008 / 2009
© Horst Diekgerdes / Thomas Petit

Sommer- und Winterkollektion, 2008 / 2009
© Horst Diekgerdes / Thomas Petit

Sommer- und Winterkollektion, 2008 / 2009
© Horst Diekgerdes / Thomas Petit

Sommer- und Winterkollektion, 2008 / 2009
© Horst Diekgerdes / Thomas Petit

IKOU TSCHÜSS, Sommer- und Winterkollektion, Video

IKOU TSCHÜSS, Sommer- und Winterkollektion, Video

IKOU TSCHÜSS

IKOU TSCHÜSS

IKOU TSCHÜSS

IKOU TSCHÜSS

IKOU TSCHÜSS

Overview

Kategorie

Modedesign

 

Werk

Eine handgedruckte und handgemachte Modekollektion (Frau, Mann, Kind, Interieur)

Essay

Handgestrickte Haute-Couture

IKOU TSCHÜSS gewinnen mit ihrer Modekollektion (Sommer und Winter 2008/2009) einen Eidgenössischen Preis für Design. Von verspielten, an die Seventies erinnernden Strickkleidern, handbedruckten T-Shirts in zartbuntem Farbenmix für Mann, Frau und Kind geht die vielfältige Palette über Foulards, Gürtel und Halsketten bis hin zu handbestickten Sofakissen für das Interieur. Hinter IKOU TSCHÜSS stehen die beiden jungen Zürcher Designerinnen Guya Marini und Carmen D'Apollonio: Anfang der 1990er Jahre lernten sie sich in Zürich kennen und begannen im Jahr 2006 mit ihrer Zusammenarbeit. Im Winter 2006 erschien bereits ihre erste Kollektion, bestehend aus Strickwaren und ersten handbedruckten T-Shirts. Bis heute entstanden fünf weitere Modekollektionen. Zuvor pendelten die beiden Töchter italienischer Einwanderer (Guya Marini als Stylistin für Paco Rabanne in Paris und Künstlerassistentin Carmen D'Apollonio bei Urs Fischer in New York) zwischen Zürich und dem Ausland hin- und her.

'Ikou' bedeutet auf Japanisch 'los geht's'! Von Zürich bis Tokyo sind die verspielten Strickstücke von IKOU TSCHÜSS heute gefragt, mittlerweile werden weltweit über 20 Boutiquen beliefert. Ihre bedruckten Seidenfoulards mit Häkelbordüren aus Recyclingschnüren sind zum begehrten Markenzeichen geworden und fanden in zahlreichen namhaften internationalen Modemagazinen (wie etwa 'Vogue', 'Elle', 'Jalouse') Anklang.

Kernpunkte der Philosophie des jungen Modelabels sind die Handarbeit (Strickware, Häkelbordüren, Handdrucke, Farbdesign) und die lokale Entstehung. In der Verbindung von altbekannter, traditioneller Handarbeit mit unüblichen Materialien wird das angestaubte Image von Häkelarbeiten aufgefrischt. Mittlerweile hat sich ein grosser Kreis von Freunden und Grossmüttern rund um Zürich etabliert, bei dem alle Beteiligten mit Motivation mithäkeln und mitstricken. Jedes Stück ist somit ganz und gar in der Schweiz entstandene Handarbeit. Eine maschinelle Produktion als kostengünstigere Variante lehnen die beiden Jungdesignerinnen entschieden ab.

Die Kollektion von IKOU TSCHÜSS ist innovativ, frech, frei und verspielt. Sie zeigt Experimentierfreude in Technik, Materialität und Farbgebung und überzeugt durch die starke philosophische Linie dahinter.
Anna Wacker

 

Biografie

Name

Carmen D'Apollonio

 

Gruppenname

Ikou Tschüss GmbH

 

Geboren

1973

Ausbildung

Fashion designer

 

auch im Jahr

2017


 

Webseite

www.ikoutschuss.com

Biografie

Name

Guya Marini

 

Gruppenname

Ikou Tschüss GmbH

 

Geboren

1974

Ausbildung

Fashion designer

 

auch im Jahr

2017


 

Webseite

www.ikoutschuss.com