Archives
Current Year

Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© FOC / Michel Bonvin

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© ECAL / Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© ECAL / Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© ECAL / Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© ECAL / Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© ECAL / Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© ECAL / Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© ECAL / Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© ECAL / Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© ECAL / Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© ECAL / Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© ECAL / Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© ECAL / Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© ECAL / Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© ECAL / Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© ECAL / Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© ECAL / Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© ECAL / Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© ECAL / Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© ECAL / Vincent Devaud

Overview

Category

Graphic Design

 

Work

'Krautrock Inquiry', publication, posters (diploma work)

Essay

Krautography

Vincent Devaud follows the beat of two different drums: that of a graphic designer and that of a musician. For his graduate piece Krautrock Inquiry he combined both of those passions, creating a graphic translation of a personal anthology based on the Krautrock (and Cosmic Music) movement that emerged in West Germany in the late 60s. He juxtaposes statistics, diagrams, posters, collages and photographic compositions in book and poster form. His photographs, in particular, reflect his passion for both fields of interest. He photographs his own musical instruments, most of which are in some way associated with Krautrock. The microphones, guitars, keyboards and amplifiers are linked by countless cables, representing the myriad relationships between musicians, bands, labels and sources of inspiration that epitomise the experimental genre known as Krautrock.

He also transcribes these links into a variety of cartographic diagrams whose appearance seems to have nothing whatsoever to do with nostalgia or psychedelic rock music. For instance, Devaud's collection does not contain any original recordings of Krautrock bands in action. With clarity and understatement, this graphic artist provides an overview of a musical movement that continues to exert an international influence to this day. In collages, Devaud combines the logos of various bands and develops a typographical mix that is representative of the Krautrock aesthetic.

In his graduate piece, Krautrock Inquiry, Vincent Devaud creates a dense, personal re-interpretation of the musical movement that is compelling in its strong contrast between rock imagery and informational graphics.
Anna Niederhäuser

Biography

Name

Vincent Devaud

 

Born

1984

Education

Graphic designer

 

also in

2012 2014 2016

Archiv
laufendes Jahr

Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© BAK / Michel Bonvin

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© ECAL / Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© ECAL / Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© ECAL / Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© ECAL / Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© ECAL / Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© ECAL / Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© ECAL / Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© ECAL / Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© ECAL / Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© ECAL / Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© ECAL / Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© ECAL / Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© ECAL / Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© ECAL / Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© ECAL / Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© ECAL / Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© ECAL / Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© ECAL / Vincent Devaud

'Krautrock Inquiry'
© ECAL / Vincent Devaud

Overview

Kategorie

Grafikdesign

 

Werk

'Krautrock Inquiry', Publikation, Plakate (Diplomarbeit)

Essay

Die Krautographie

 

Zwei Seelen leben in Vincent Devauds Brust: die des Grafikdesigners und die des Musikers. Für seine Diplomarbeit 'Krautrock Inquiry' hat er diese beiden Leidenschaften vereinigt und das Resultat ist die grafische Umsetzung einer persönlichen Anthologie um die musikalische Strömung 'Krautrock' (auch 'Kosmische Musik'), die ab Ende der 60er Jahre in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland ihren Ursprung hat. In Buch- und Plakatform setzt er Statistiken, Schemata, Plakate, Collagen und fotografische Inszenierungen nebeneinander. Gerade in den Fotografien wird die Passion für die beiden Interessen sichtbar: Er fotografiert seine eigenen Musikinstrumente, wovon die meisten auf irgendeine Weise mit Krautrock in Zusammenhang stehen. Die Mikrofone, Gitarren, Keyboards und Verstärker sind durch unzählige Kabel verbunden. Dieser Kunstgriff steht für die vielen Relationen zwischen den Musikern, Bands, Labels und Inspirationsquellen, die für das experimentelle Genre Krautrock stehen.

Diese Verknüpfungen setzt er auch in verschiedenen kartografischen Diagrammen um, die äusserlich so gar nichts mit Nostalgie oder psychedelischer Rockmusik zu tun haben. So findet der Betrachter in Devauds Sammlung beispielsweise keine Originalaufnahmen von Krautrockbands in Aktion. In zurückhaltender, klarer Form zeigt der Grafiker den Versuch einer Übersicht zu der musikalischen Bewegung, deren Einfluss bis in die Gegenwart und international Wellen schlägt. In Collagen fügt Devaud die Logos der verschiedenen Bands zusammen und entwickelt eine Schrift, die ihrerseits ein Mix des Krautrockdesigns darstellt.

Vincent Devaud schafft mit seiner Diplomarbeit eine dichte, persönliche Neuinterpretation des Krautrock, die durch den starken Gegensatz des Punk-Rock Images zur strengen Informationsgrafik in der gestalterischen Umsetzung von 'Krautrock Inquiry' überzeugt.
Anna Niederhäuser

Biografie

Name

Vincent Devaud

 

Geboren

1984

Ausbildung

Graphic designer

 

auch im Jahr

2012 2014 2016