Archives
Current Year

A C E: Camille Blin / Emmanuel Mbessé / Arnault Weber

'Collection 1', Chair

'Collection 1', Chair
© FOC / Matthieu Lavanchy

'Collection 1', Chair
© FOC / Matthieu Lavanchy

'Collection 1', Chair
© FOC / Matthieu Lavanchy

'Collection 1', Chair
© FOC / Matthieu Lavanchy

'Collection 1', Desk

'Collection 1', Desk
© FOC / Matthieu Lavanchy

'Collection 1', Desk
© FOC / Matthieu Lavanchy

'Collection 1', Desk
© FOC / Matthieu Lavanchy

'Collection 1', Desk
© FOC / Matthieu Lavanchy

'Collection 1', Desk
© FOC / Matthieu Lavanchy

'Collection 1', Shelf

'Collection 1', Shelf
© FOC / Matthieu Lavanchy

'Collection 1', Shelf
© FOC / Matthieu Lavanchy

'Collection 1', Shelf
© FOC / Matthieu Lavanchy

'Collection 1', Table

'Collection 1', Table
© FOC / Matthieu Lavanchy

'Collection 1', Table
© FOC / Matthieu Lavanchy

'Collection 1', Lamp

'Collection 1', Lamp
© FOC / Matthieu Lavanchy

'Collection 1', Lamp
© FOC / Matthieu Lavanchy

'Collection 1', Beam

'Collection 1', Beam
© FOC / Matthieu Lavanchy

'Collection 1', Beam
© FOC / Matthieu Lavanchy

Overview

Category

Product and Industrial Design

 

Work

'Collection 1', furniture collection

 

Reference

www.a-c-e.ch

Essay

Three Aces of Design

The A C E Studio has won the Federal Prize for Design with a six-piece furniture collection. A C E is made up of the three industrial designers Arnault Weber, Camille Blin and Emmanuel Mbessé who completed their training course at the ECAL together in 2009.

The intelligently combined 'Collection 1' consists of a chair, a self-supporting shelf, a table, a coffee table and two lamps. The most striking feature is the chair whose backrest is that of a bench. It gives the person sitting in it additional elbowroom on both sides when resting their arms and thus makes for healthy dynamics even when sitting over long periods of time.

It is the first venture of a furniture company founded by A C E which principally aims at sustainability rather than quick profits. For the furniture, indigenous ash wood (solid or laminated and glued but not joint plates) was used, a type of wood which, unlike other conifers, is not used often.

In addition, the designers made a point of only working with local craftsmen. For the co-production with them, they exclusively used already existing medium-sized production machinery. Since the aesthetic of A C E is thus influenced by the production equipment, clear geometric forms prevail whose simplicity also manifests itself in the execution. The furniture is assembled by the simplest method possible, and the joints of the furniture too attest to the high quality of the work of A C E.

The three partners pursue their ambitious plan of working together with designers of their generation, thereby providing them with an opportunity to benefit from the know-how of Swiss craftsmen. The new objects, completing the first collection, are going to be revealed gradually.
Anna Niederhäuser

Resources

Biography

Name

Camille Blin

 

Group name

A C E

 

Born

1985

Education

Product designer


 

Home page

www.camilleblin.com

Biography

Name

Emmanuel Mbessé

 

Group name

A C E

 

Born

1983

Education

Product designer


Biography

Name

Arnault Weber

 

Group name

A C E

 

Born

1985

Education

Product designer

Archiv
laufendes Jahr

A C E: Camille Blin / Emmanuel Mbessé / Arnault Weber

'Collection 1', Stuhl

'Collection 1', Stuhl
© BAK / Matthieu Lavanchy

'Collection 1', Stuhl
© BAK / Matthieu Lavanchy

'Collection 1', Stuhl
© BAK / Matthieu Lavanchy

'Collection 1', Stuhl
© BAK / Matthieu Lavanchy

'Collection 1', Schreibtisch

'Collection 1', Schreibtisch
© BAK / Matthieu Lavanchy

'Collection 1', Schreibtisch
© BAK / Matthieu Lavanchy

'Collection 1', Schreibtisch
© BAK / Matthieu Lavanchy

'Collection 1', Schreibtisch
© BAK / Matthieu Lavanchy

'Collection 1', Schreibtisch
© BAK / Matthieu Lavanchy

'Collection 1', Regal

'Collection 1', Regal
© BAK / Matthieu Lavanchy

'Collection 1', Regal
© BAK / Matthieu Lavanchy

'Collection 1', Regal
© BAK / Matthieu Lavanchy

'Collection 1', Tisch

'Collection 1', Tisch
© BAK / Matthieu Lavanchy

'Collection 1', Tisch
© BAK / Matthieu Lavanchy

'Collection 1', Lampe

'Collection 1', Lampe
© BAK / Matthieu Lavanchy

'Collection 1', Lampe
© BAK / Matthieu Lavanchy

'Collection 1', Träger

'Collection 1', Träger
© BAK / Matthieu Lavanchy

'Collection 1', Träger
© BAK / Matthieu Lavanchy

Overview

Kategorie

Produkt- und Industriedesign

 

Werk

'Collection 1', Möbelkollektion

 

Referenz

www.a-c-e.ch

Essay

Drei Asse fürs Design

Das Studio A C E hat mit einer 6-teiligen Möbel-Kollektion den Eidgenössischen Preis für Design gewonnen. A C E sind die Industriedesigner Arnault Weber, Camille Blin und Emmanuel Mbessé, die 2009 gemeinsam an der ECAL ihren Abschluss gemacht haben.

Die intelligent zusammengestellte 'Collection 1' besteht aus einem Stuhl, einem selbsttragenden Gestell, einem Tisch, einem Couchtisch und zwei Lampen. Das auffallendste Produkt ist der Stuhl, dessen Rückenlehne die einer Bank ist. Sie erlaubt dem Sitzenden im Aufstützen der Arme eine Bewegungsfreiheit auf beide Seiten und so auch bei längerem Sitzen eine zuträgliche Dynamik.

Es ist der erste Wurf der von A C E gegründeten Firma, in dem es um Nachhaltigkeit und weniger um den schnellen Gewinn geht. Für die Möbel wurde einheimische Esche (massiv oder in lamelliert-geklebten, nicht verfugten Platten) verwendet, eine Holzart, die im Gegensatz zu anderen Nadelhölzern nicht oft eingesetzt wird.

Die Designer haben es sich zudem zum Ziel gemacht, nur mit lokalen Handwerkern zu arbeiten. Für die Co-Produktion mit ihnen benutzen sie nur bereits vorhandene Produktionsapparate mittlerer Grösse. So ist die Ästhetik von A C E von den Geräten beeinflusst und es überwiegen klare geometrische Formen, deren Schlichtheit sich auch in der Verarbeitung zeigt. Die Möbel werden auf eine möglichst einfache Weise zusammengefügt und zeugen auch an diesen Verbindungsstellen von der hohen Qualität der Arbeit von A C E.

Das ambitionierte Vorhaben der drei ist es, mit DesignerInnen ihrer Generation zusammenzuarbeiten und ihnen so die Möglichkeit zu geben, vom Know-How Schweizer Handwerker zu profitieren. Die 'Collection 2' wird schrittweise präsentiert werden.
Anna Niederhäuser

Resources

Biografie

Name

Camille Blin

 

Geboren

1985

Ausbildung

Industrial Designer

 

auch im Jahr

2015


 

Webseite

www.camilleblin.com

Biografie

Name

Emmanuel Mbessé

 

Gruppenname

A C E

 

Geboren

1983

Ausbildung

Product designer


Biografie

Name

Arnault Weber

 

Gruppenname

A C E

 

Geboren

1985

Ausbildung

Product designer