Archives
Current Year

Romance Berberat

'Nous travaillons sans accident depuis 135 jours', fashion collection

'Nous travaillons sans accident depuis 135 jours', fashion collection
© FOC / Matthieu Lavanchy

'Nous travaillons sans accident depuis 135 jours', fashion collection
© FOC / Matthieu Lavanchy

'Nous travaillons sans accident depuis 135 jours', fashion collection

'Nous travaillons sans accident depuis 135 jours', fashion collection
© FOC / Matthieu Lavanchy

'Nous travaillons sans accident depuis 135 jours', fashion collection
© FOC / Matthieu Lavanchy

'Nous travaillons sans accident depuis 135 jours', fashion collection

'Nous travaillons sans accident depuis 135 jours', fashion collection
© FOC / Matthieu Lavanchy

'Nous travaillons sans accident depuis 135 jours', fashion collection
© FOC / Matthieu Lavanchy

'Nous travaillons sans accident depuis 135 jours', fashion collection

'Nous travaillons sans accident depuis 135 jours', fashion collection
© FOC / Nick Widmer

'Nous travaillons sans accident depuis 135 jours', fashion collection
© FOC / Nick Widmer

'Nous travaillons sans accident depuis 135 jours', fashion collection
© FOC / Nick Widmer

'Nous travaillons sans accident depuis 135 jours', fashion collection
© FOC / Nick Widmer

'Nous travaillons sans accident depuis 135 jours', fashion collection
© FOC / Nick Widmer

Overview

Category

Fashion Design

 

Work

'Nous travaillons sans accident depuis 135 jours', diploma collection (2010)

Essay

Firsthand

Developed as part of her professional training, the collection 'Nous travaillons sans accident depuis 135 jours' ('We have been working without any accidents for 135 days') by Romance Berberat is not immediately intelligible at a first glance. Although the title hints at a connection with the working world (in dangerous factories and workshops, accident-free days are counted and new records are rewarded), viewers must first discover for themselves what exactly these old and worn-looking pieces of clothing are all about.

The first thing to note: these clothes have never actually been worn. This becomes clear when visitors hold them in their hands and feel them, if not before. They are made only of the best materials. A closer look reveals the first-class execution of the seams and hems. With their interest thus aroused, visitors slowly begin to comprehend the concept behind the men's collection.
Romance Berberats takes as her starting point her interest in the significance of bad taste in contemporary fashion design. For this purpose, she went to a stronghold of simple and poorly thought-out fashion: a rural area. In her home village in the Jura, she took pictures of her father and also of other men in their work clothes. She did the same at a place of so-called good taste: in the city with its inhabitants.

This has resulted in a new collection which takes rural work wear as it starting point and permits the fashion designer to adjust the design of the clothes to contemporary fashion. She has retained the colourfulness and shape of the various prototypes of working clothes used. For example, overalls are narrowed into a slim line, the XXL fleece jacket is made into skinny jeans and the somewhat too tight factory apron is worn underneath a fitted blazer.

As part of her final-year degree project, Romance Berberat has explored the subject of bad taste. The result not only shows a great deal of creative confidence and technical know-how, but there is also playfulness and irony in juxtaposing the city perspective to rural normality. The question arises: is the self-centred gaze of the city dweller necessarily that of good taste?
Anna Niederhäuser

Resources

Biography

Name

Romance Berberat

 

Born

1982

Education

Fashion designer

Archiv
laufendes Jahr

Romance Berberat

'Nous travaillons sans accident depuis 135 jours', Modekollektion

'Nous travaillons sans accident depuis 135 jours', Modekollektion
© BAK / Matthieu Lavanchy

'Nous travaillons sans accident depuis 135 jours', Modekollektion
© BAK / Matthieu Lavanchy

'Nous travaillons sans accident depuis 135 jours', Modekollektion

'Nous travaillons sans accident depuis 135 jours', Modekollektion
© BAK / Matthieu Lavanchy

'Nous travaillons sans accident depuis 135 jours', Modekollektion
© BAK / Matthieu Lavanchy

'Nous travaillons sans accident depuis 135 jours', Modekollektion

'Nous travaillons sans accident depuis 135 jours', Modekollektion
© BAK / Matthieu Lavanchy

'Nous travaillons sans accident depuis 135 jours', Modekollektion
© BAK / Matthieu Lavanchy

'Nous travaillons sans accident depuis 135 jours', Modekollektion

'Nous travaillons sans accident depuis 135 jours', Modekollektion
© BAK / Nick Widmer

'Nous travaillons sans accident depuis 135 jours', Modekollektion
© BAK / Nick Widmer

'Nous travaillons sans accident depuis 135 jours', Modekollektion
© BAK / Nick Widmer

'Nous travaillons sans accident depuis 135 jours', Modekollektion
© BAK / Nick Widmer

'Nous travaillons sans accident depuis 135 jours', Modekollektion
© BAK / Nick Widmer

Overview

Kategorie

Modedesign

 

Werk

'Nous travaillons sans accident depuis 135 jours', Diplomkollektion (2010)

Essay

Firsthand

Die Diplom-Kollektion 'Nous travaillons sans accident depuis 135 jours' ('Wir arbeiten seit 135 Tagen unfallfrei') von Romance Berberat auf den ersten Blick nicht offensichtlich verständlich. Zwar deutet der Titel schon einen Zusammenhang mit der Arbeitswelt an (in gefährlichen Fabriken und Werkstätten werden die unfallfreien Tage gezählt und neue Rekorde belohnt), aber was genau es mit diesen alten, bereits getragen anmutenden Kleiderstücken auf sich hat, muss erst entdeckt werden.

Erst einmal: Es sind keine schon getragenen Kleider. Dies stellt man spätestens fest, wenn man die Kleider in den Händen hält und sie befühlt. Es sind nur die besten Materialien. Bei genauerer Betrachtung stellt man auch eine erstklassige Verarbeitung der Nähte und Abschlüsse fest. Das Interesse ist geweckt und langsam kann man das Konzept, das hinter der Männer-Kollektion steckt, nachvollziehen.

Romance Berberats Ausgangslage ist ihr Interesse für den Stellenwert schlechten Geschmacks in zeitgenössischem Modedesign. Dafür besuchte sie eine Hochburg der einfachen, nicht mit Bedeutung aufgeladener Mode: die ländliche Gegend. In ihrem Heimatdorf im Jura macht sie Bilder von ihrem Vater und auch von anderen Männern in ihrer Arbeitskleidung. Dasselbe macht sie am Ort des sogenannten guten Geschmacks; in der Stadt mit ihren Bewohnerinnen und Bewohnern.

Daraus resultiert nun eine Kollektion, die von der ländlichen Arbeitskleidung ausgeht und der Modedesignerin erlaubt, sie der zeitgenössischen Mode im Schnitt anzupassen. Beibehalten hat sie die Farbigkeit und die Form der jeweiligen Prototypen der Arbeitskleidung. So werden beispielsweise Overalls in eine schlanke Linie verengt, die XXL Fliesjacke wird zu Skinnyjeans und die etwas zu enge Fabrikschürze unter dem taillierten Blazer getragen.

Mit viel gestalterischer Sicherheit und technischem Können ist Romance Berberat in ihrer Diplomarbeit dem Thema des schlechten Geschmacks spielerisch und auch ironisch nachgegangen, indem sie dem städtischen Blick die ländliche Selbstverständlichkeit gegenüberstellt. Die Frage stellt sich: Ist der selbstbezogene Blick eines Städters automatisch der des guten Geschmacks?
Anna Niederhäuser

Resources

Biografie

Name

Romance Berberat

 

Geboren

1982

Ausbildung

Fashion designer