Archives
Current Year

Lena Amuat / Zoë Meyer

'Artefakte und Modelle'
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Artefakte und Modelle'
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Artefakte und Modelle'
© Lena Amuat / Zoe Meyer

'Artefakte und Modelle'
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Artefakte und Modelle'
© Lena Amuat / Zoe Meyer

'Artefakte und Modelle'
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Artefakte und Modelle'
© Lena Amuat / Zoe Meyer

'Artefakte und Modelle'
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Artefakte und Modelle'
© Lena Amuat / Zoe Meyer

'Artefakte und Modelle'
© Lena Amuat / Zoe Meyer

Portrait
© BAK / Gina Folly

Overview

Category

Photography

 

Work

'Artefakte und Modelle' (2009 - 2012)

Essay

Games with Perception

Lena Amuat and Zoë Meyer have won the Swiss Federal Design Award for their project 'Artefakte und Modelle'. As the title suggests, in this project the two photographers look at scientific models through the lens of art. These are models conceived as a way of arriving at new insights by varying the method of visualisation or by reshaping or using a different type of measurement. The artists are interested in the images of reality conveyed by the models and in the extent to which aesthetic processes are involved in the creation of knowledge.

The capture of reality through mimicry, reproduction, conservation and measurement, and the opposition between reality and fiction: these are the themes that interest Lena Amuat and Zoë Meyer in this project. The process of investigation and the play of perceptions are also at its centre. Viewers of these mostly large-format photographs find themselves confronted with a puzzle. What do the pictures represent? Do they show real objects, or abstract forms? Were they created by computer, or painted with a brush? Is the background really there, or was it added in afterwards?

The two photographers use various media to modify the pictures, trying to rethink the scientific angles from an artistic point of view. They see their work as a subjective pictorial archive that is constantly being expanded. It is always given a site-specific spatial arrangement and presentation concept.

An older work by Lena Amuat and Zoë Meyer is concerned with objects confiscated by Swiss customs. They use their precise pictorial vocabulary to reproduce illegal souvenirs in the form of stuffed animal heads, occult masks and fur coats. These photographs are also part of the two artists' image archive and are presented alongside the artworks from 'Artefakte und Modelle' (in a presentation that varies depending on the exhibition location). The result: multifaceted installations whose quiet motifs absorb and touch the viewer.

Biography

Name

Lena Amuat

 

Born

1977

Education

Photographer


Biography

Name

Zoë Meyer

 

Born

1975

Education

Photographer

Archiv
laufendes Jahr

Lena Amuat / Zoë Meyer

'Artefakte und Modelle'
© BAK / Anja Schori

'Artefakte und Modelle'
© BAK / Anja Schori

'Artefakte und Modelle'
© Lena Amuat / Zoe Meyer

'Artefakte und Modelle'
© BAK / Anja Schori

'Artefakte und Modelle'
© Lena Amuat / Zoe Meyer

'Artefakte und Modelle'
© BAK / Anja Schori

'Artefakte und Modelle'
© Lena Amuat / Zoe Meyer

'Artefakte und Modelle'
© BAK / Anja Schori

'Artefakte und Modelle'
© Lena Amuat / Zoe Meyer

'Artefakte und Modelle'
© Lena Amuat / Zoe Meyer

Portrait
© BAK / Gina Folly

Overview

Kategorie

Fotografie

 

Werk

'Artefakte und Modelle' (2009 - 2012)

Essay

Spiel mit der Wahrnehmung

Lena Amuat und Zoë Meyer haben mit ihrer Arbeit 'Artefakte und Modelle' einen Eidgenössischen Preis für Design gewonnen. Wie der Titel besagt, setzen sich die beiden Fotografinnen künstlerisch mit Modellen aus der Wissenschaft auseinander. Diese Modelle wurden hergestellt, um über unterschiedliche Methoden der Visualisierung oder durch Nachformen und Vermessen zu Erkenntnissen zu gelangen. Die Künstlerinnen interessieren sich dafür, welche Bilder von Realität durch die Modelle vermittelt werden und inwiefern ästhetische Prozesse bei der Erzeugung von Wissen beteiligt sind.

Die Nachbildung von Wirklichkeit durch Nachformen, Abbilden, Konservieren oder Vermessen sowie der Gegensatz von Realität und Fiktion sind die Themen, die Lena Amuat und Zoë Meyer interessieren. Weiter rücken die Untersuchung und das Spiel von Wahrnehmungsprozessen ins Zentrum ihrer Arbeit. Der Betrachtende der meist grossformatigen Fotografien sieht sich vor Rätsel gestellt. Was ist auf den Bildern dargestellt? Sind es reale Gegenstände, sind es abstrakte Formen? Entspringen sie dem Computer oder sind sie mit dem Pinsel gemalt? Ist der Hintergrund tatsächlich vorhanden oder ist er im Nachhinein eingefügt worden?

Mit unterschiedlichen medialen Eingriffen modifizieren die beiden Fotografinnen ihre Bilder und versuchen die wissenschaftlichen Ansätze künstlerisch neu zu denken. Sie verstehen ihre Arbeit als subjektives Bildarchiv, das ständig erweitert wird und jeweils ortsspezifisch räumlich angeordnet und präsentiert wird.

Eine ältere Arbeit von Lena Amuat und Zoë Meyer ist dem Thema von konfiszierten Objekten am Schweizer Zoll gewidmet. In ihrer präzisen Bildsprache bilden sie illegale Waren in Form von ausgestopften Tierköpfen, kultischen Masken oder Pelzmänteln ab. Diese Fotografien gehören auch zum Bildarchiv der beiden Künstlerinnen und werden je nach Ausstellungsort neben den Werken aus 'Artefakte und Modelle' präsentiert. Es entstehen so vielschichtige Installationen mit stillen Motiven, die den Betrachtenden einnehmen und berühren.

Biografie

Name

Lena Amuat

 

Geboren

1977

Ausbildung

Photographer


Biografie

Name

Zoë Meyer

 

Geboren

1975

Ausbildung

Photographer