Archives
Current Year

Lena Amuat / Zoë Meyer

'Artefakte und Modelle'
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Artefakte und Modelle'
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Artefakte und Modelle'
© Lena Amuat / Zoe Meyer

'Artefakte und Modelle'
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Artefakte und Modelle'
© Lena Amuat / Zoe Meyer

'Artefakte und Modelle'
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Artefakte und Modelle'
© Lena Amuat / Zoe Meyer

'Artefakte und Modelle'
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Artefakte und Modelle'
© Lena Amuat / Zoe Meyer

'Artefakte und Modelle'
© Lena Amuat / Zoe Meyer

Portrait
© BAK / Gina Folly

Overview

Category

Photography

 

Work

'Artefakte und Modelle' (2009 - 2012)

Essay

Games with Perception

Lena Amuat and Zoë Meyer have won the Swiss Federal Design Award for their project 'Artefakte und Modelle'. As the title suggests, in this project the two photographers look at scientific models through the lens of art. These are models conceived as a way of arriving at new insights by varying the method of visualisation or by reshaping or using a different type of measurement. The artists are interested in the images of reality conveyed by the models and in the extent to which aesthetic processes are involved in the creation of knowledge.

The capture of reality through mimicry, reproduction, conservation and measurement, and the opposition between reality and fiction: these are the themes that interest Lena Amuat and Zoë Meyer in this project. The process of investigation and the play of perceptions are also at its centre. Viewers of these mostly large-format photographs find themselves confronted with a puzzle. What do the pictures represent? Do they show real objects, or abstract forms? Were they created by computer, or painted with a brush? Is the background really there, or was it added in afterwards?

The two photographers use various media to modify the pictures, trying to rethink the scientific angles from an artistic point of view. They see their work as a subjective pictorial archive that is constantly being expanded. It is always given a site-specific spatial arrangement and presentation concept.

An older work by Lena Amuat and Zoë Meyer is concerned with objects confiscated by Swiss customs. They use their precise pictorial vocabulary to reproduce illegal souvenirs in the form of stuffed animal heads, occult masks and fur coats. These photographs are also part of the two artists' image archive and are presented alongside the artworks from 'Artefakte und Modelle' (in a presentation that varies depending on the exhibition location). The result: multifaceted installations whose quiet motifs absorb and touch the viewer.

Biography

Name

Lena Amuat

 

Born

1977

Education

Photographer


Biography

Name

Zoë Meyer

 

Born

1975

Education

Photographer

Archives
Année courante

Lena Amuat / Zoë Meyer

'Artefakte und Modelle'
© OFC / Anja Schori

'Artefakte und Modelle'
© OFC / Anja Schori

'Artefakte und Modelle'
© Lena Amuat / Zoe Meyer

'Artefakte und Modelle'
© OFC / Anja Schori

'Artefakte und Modelle'
© Lena Amuat / Zoe Meyer

'Artefakte und Modelle'
© OFC / Anja Schori

'Artefakte und Modelle'
© Lena Amuat / Zoe Meyer

'Artefakte und Modelle'
© OFC / Anja Schori

'Artefakte und Modelle'
© Lena Amuat / Zoe Meyer

'Artefakte und Modelle'
© Lena Amuat / Zoe Meyer

Portrait
© BAK / Gina Folly

Overview

Catégorie

Photographie

 

Oeuvre

'Artefakte und Modelle' (2009 - 2012)

Essai

Perceptions trompeuses

Lena Amuat et Zoë Meyer ont gagné un prix fédéral de design avec leur travail 'Artefakte und Modelle', menant une réflexion artistique à partir de modèles formels issus du monde des sciences.  Les artistes s'intéressent aux images de la réalité que donnent ces modèles, fabriqués par imitation ou par différentes méthodes de visualisation dans le but de comprendre un phénomène,  et cherchent dans quelle mesure des processus esthétiques participent à la production de savoir.

Les diverses manières dont la science reproduit ou copie la réalité,  l'opposition entre cette réalité et la fiction, mais aussi l'analyse des processus de perception constituent ainsi les thèmes centraux de leur travail. Quant au spectateur de leurs photographies, pour la plupart de grand format, il se voit confronté à des énigmes. Qu'est-ce qui est représenté sur les images? Des objets réels, des abstractions? Sont-elles l'œuvre de l'ordinateur ou d'un pinceau? L'arrière-fond est-il authentique, ou a-t-il été rajouté après-coup?

En intervenant sur leurs images par divers moyens, les photographes tentent de repenser la démarche scientifique d'un point de vue artistique; elles créent ainsi ce qu'elles appellent des 'archives subjectives', qui vont s'accroissant et qu'elles organisent et présentent en fonction du lieu d'exposition.

Un travail plus ancien de Lena Amuat et Zoë Meyer est dédié aux objets confisqués à la douane suisse. Dans leur langage visuel précis, elles reproduisent des têtes d'animaux empaillés, des masques de culte ou des manteaux de fourrure. Ces photographies font également parties de leurs archives et sont exposées, selon le lieu, à côté des œuvres d' 'Artefakte und Modelle'. En résultent ainsi des installations complexes faites de motifs tranquilles; le spectateur est touché, et conquis.

Biographie

Nom

Lena Amuat

 

Né/née

1977

Formation

Photographer


Biographie

Nom

Zoë Meyer

 

Né/née

1975

Formation

Photographer