Archives
Current Year

Emmanuel Crivelli / Sylvain Menétrey / Philippe Jarrigeon

The magazine 'DORADE - Revue galante, photographie et formes critiques' (since 2009)
© FOC / Anja Schori

The magazine 'DORADE - Revue galante, photographie et formes critiques' (since 2009)
© FOC / Anja Schori

The magazine 'DORADE - Revue galante, photographie et formes critiques' (since 2009)
© FOC / Anja Schori

The magazine 'DORADE - Revue galante, photographie et formes critiques' (since 2009)
© FOC / Anja Schori

The magazine 'DORADE - Revue galante, photographie et formes critiques' (since 2009)
© FOC / Anja Schori

The magazine 'DORADE - Revue galante, photographie et formes critiques' (since 2009)
© FOC / Anja Schori

The magazine 'DORADE - Revue galante, photographie et formes critiques' (since 2009)
© FOC / Anja Schori

The magazine 'DORADE - Revue galante, photographie et formes critiques' (since 2009)
© FOC / Anja Schori

The magazine 'DORADE - Revue galante, photographie et formes critiques' (since 2009)
© FOC / Anja Schori

The magazine 'DORADE - Revue galante, photographie et formes critiques' (since 2009)
© FOC / Anja Schori

The magazine 'DORADE - Revue galante, photographie et formes critiques' (since 2009)
© FOC / Anja Schori

The magazine 'DORADE - Revue galante, photographie et formes critiques' (since 2009)
© FOC / Anja Schori

Portrait
© BAK / Gina Folly

Overview

Category

Design mediation

 

Work

The magazine 'Dorade - Revue galante, photographie et formes critiques'

 

Reference

www.dorademagazine.com

Essay

The Magazine as Exhibition Space

The magazine 'Dorade - Revue galante, photographie et formes critiques' was inaugurated in 2009 by Sylvain Menétrey, Emmanuel Crivelli and Philippe Jarrigeon. Thus far, four editions have been published, the most recent of which appeared early in 2012. The three editors come from different walks of life: Sylvain Menétrey, the editor-in-chief, is a journalist and author; ECAL graduate Emmanuel Crivelli is responsible for graphical production; and photographer Philippe Jarrigeon is in charge of artistic direction.

'Dorade' is not intended to be a magazine in the classical sense - it is intended to be a kind of exhibition space on paper. The editors could be described as curators. They assemble the content for each edition according to its overall theme, and are involved in the creative process, production, issuing commissions and collating the photographic projects, documents, interviews and literary and scholarly texts.

They chose a magazine as a vehicle because it is simple to distribute, because the production costs are low and because it is a physical object that people can collect. However, the editors also feel that it is important to provide a platform for experimental photography, rather than the purely commercial photography usually seen in magazines. The idea is to present readers with a critical look at fashion and luxury - pictures that are complex, but also seductive. Many of the picture spreads - sometimes paradoxical, sometimes amusing - are created by Philippe Jarrigeon himself; they are supplemented by individual images and picture series by other photographers from a variety of different backgrounds.

The text section is also intended to be a laboratory for creativity, in which a number of different authors seek to discover new forms. The texts are based on traditional templates such as the interview, but they take them in directions that create a state of ad absurdum - for instance, a dress speaks about the work of the designer who created it, instead of the designer speaking about himself. The people behind the magazine feel that it is important to cultivate a critical attitude of mind in their readers, so that they do not see the texts as separate entities or as pure sources of information, but as part of an exhibition.

'Dorade' is distributed across the whole of the Western hemisphere. The magazine is available in over 30 shops and cafes in New York alone. It allows readers, wherever they are, to teach themselves to look critically and to embark on a journey of discovery, in search of photographic treasures.

Biography

Name

Emmanuel Crivelli

 

Group name

dorade

 

Born

1985

Education

Designer


Biography

Name

Philippe Jarrigeon

 

Group name

dorade

 

Born

1982

Education

Photographe


Biography

Name

Sylvain Menétrey

 

Group name

dorade

 

Born

1979

Education

Publisher

Archiv
laufendes Jahr

Emmanuel Crivelli / Sylvain Menétrey / Philippe Jarrigeon

Das Magazin 'DORADE - Revue galante, photographie et formes critiques' (seit 2009)
© BAK / Anja Schori

Das Magazin 'DORADE - Revue galante, photographie et formes critiques' (seit 2009)
© BAK / Anja Schori

Das Magazin 'DORADE - Revue galante, photographie et formes critiques' (seit 2009)
© BAK / Anja Schori

Das Magazin 'DORADE - Revue galante, photographie et formes critiques' (seit 2009)
© BAK / Anja Schori

Das Magazin 'DORADE - Revue galante, photographie et formes critiques' (seit 2009)
© BAK / Anja Schori

Das Magazin 'DORADE - Revue galante, photographie et formes critiques' (seit 2009)
© BAK / Anja Schori

Das Magazin 'DORADE - Revue galante, photographie et formes critiques' (seit 2009)
© BAK / Anja Schori

Das Magazin 'DORADE - Revue galante, photographie et formes critiques' (seit 2009)
© BAK / Anja Schori

Das Magazin 'DORADE - Revue galante, photographie et formes critiques' (seit 2009)
© BAK / Anja Schori

Das Magazin 'DORADE - Revue galante, photographie et formes critiques' (seit 2009)
© BAK / Anja Schori

Das Magazin 'DORADE - Revue galante, photographie et formes critiques' (seit 2009)
© BAK / Anja Schori

Das Magazin 'DORADE - Revue galante, photographie et formes critiques' (seit 2009)
© BAK / Anja Schori

Portrait
© BAK / Gina Folly

Overview

Kategorie

Designvermittlung

 

Werk

Das Magazin 'Dorade - Revue galante, photographie et formes critiques'

 

Referenz

www.dorademagazine.com

Essay

Das Magazin als Ausstellungsraum

Das Magazin 'Dorade - Revue galante, photographie et formes critiques' wurde 2009 von Sylvain Menétrey, Emmanuel Crivelli und Philippe Jarrigeon ins Leben gerufen. Bisher sind vier Nummern erschienen, die letzte im Frühjahr 2012. Die drei Herausgeber kommen aus unterschiedlichen Berufsfeldern: Sylvain Menétrey, der Chefredaktor, ist Journalist und Schriftsteller. Für die grafische Umsetzung zeichnet der ECAL-Abgänger Emmanuel Crivelli verantwortlich, und die künstlerische Leitung liegt beim Fotografen Philippe Jarrigeon.

'Dorade' will kein klassisches Magazin sein, sondern versteht sich als Ausstellungsraum in Papierform. Die Herausgeber sind sozusagen Kuratoren, die für jede Ausgabe zu einem bestimmten Thema den Inhalt erarbeiten. Sie greifen in den Entstehungsprozess ein, indem sie produzieren, in Auftrag geben und fotografische Arbeiten, Dokumente, Interviews sowie literarische und wissenschaftliche Texte zusammentragen.

Für die Form des Magazins haben sie sich entschieden, weil es sich einfach vertreiben lässt, die Produktionskosten tragbar sind und weil es als physisches Objekt zum Sammeln anregen soll. Den Herausgebern ist es jedoch wichtig, dass die Fotografie einen experimentellen Platz zugewiesen bekommt, der - anders als in den Magazinen - kein rein kommerzieller ist. Der Blick auf Mode und Luxus soll kritisch sein, die Bilder sollen komplex und zugleich verführerisch erscheinen. Die teils paradoxen, teils amüsanten Bildstrecken stammen mehrheitlich von Philippe Jarrigeon selbst, werden aber durch einzelne Bilder oder Serien von anderen Fotografen unterschiedlichster Herkunft ergänzt. 

Der Textteil will ebenfalls ein kreatives Labor sein, in dem von verschiedenen Autorinnen und Autoren neue Formen gesucht werden. Zwar orientieren sich diese an traditionellen Dispositionen wie etwa dem Interview, treiben dieses aber ad absurdum. So spricht beispielsweise ein Kleid über die Arbeit des Designers, der es geschaffen hat, und nicht er selbst. Es ist den Machern wichtig, dass die Leserin und der Leser eine kritische Betrachtungsweise entwickeln und dabei die Texte nicht als losgelöst vom Rest oder als reine Informationsquellen, sondern wie als Teil einer Ausstellung wahrnehmen.

'Dorade' wird in der gesamten westlichen Hemisphäre vertrieben. Alleine in New York wird das Magazin in über 30 Läden und Cafés zum Kauf angeboten. So können die Leserinnen und Leser überall ihren kritischen Blick schulen und sich auf Entdeckungsreise nach fotografischen Trouvaillen begeben.

Biografie

Name

Emmanuel Crivelli

 

Gruppenname

dorade

 

Geboren

1985

Ausbildung

Graphic designer

 

auch im Jahr

2016


 

Webseite

www.dualroom.ch

Biografie

Name

Philippe Jarrigeon

 

Gruppenname

dorade

 

Geboren

1982

Ausbildung

Photographe


Biografie

Name

Sylvain Menétrey

 

Gruppenname

dorade

 

Geboren

1979

Ausbildung

Publisher