Archives
Current Year

Cyril Porchet

'Meetings'
© Cyril Porchet

'Meetings'
© Cyril Porchet

'Meetings'
© Cyril Porchet

'Meetings'
© Cyril Porchet

'Meetings'
© Cyril Porchet

'Meetings'
© Cyril Porchet

'Meetings'
© Cyril Porchet

'Meetings'
© Cyril Porchet

Portrait
© BAK / Gina Folly

Overview

Category

Photography

 

Work

'Meetings', photo research

Essay

Churches of Power

In his 'Meetings' project, Cyril Porchet shows us a series of large-format photographs of the exhibition halls or lecture halls used to host the shareholders' meetings of major companies, taken shortly before the events begin.

In 2010, Porchet won the Swiss Federal Design Award for his 'Séduction' series, a series of images of nine elaborately decorated baroque churches which posed questions about the culture of spectacle and excess past and present. 'Meetings'continues the same theme, but for this new series the photographer looks at the current state of affairs, seeking the places where powerful assemblies are found today. In frontal pictures, he shows the immense temporary structures erected for the annual meetings of UBS, Siemens, Novartis and other firms.

In these pictures, the opulence and excess of baroque churches finds a contrast in a sleekness and reduction that is intended to symbolise the transparency and earnestness of the firms involved. Using an analogue large-format camera (4×5), Cyril Porchet has overexposed the principal elements, introducing a degree of abstraction. Through various stages, this transforms the real structures into sculptural, brightly illuminated and ephemeral forms.

The parallels are evident: seating which, seen in darkness, resembles church pews; brightly lit-up screens that show turnover figures and brand models instead of forming the background to a baroque altar; and the speaker's podium, which has replaced the pulpit. Cyril Porchet has succeeded in building on his 'Séduction' project in an intelligent way and to a high standard. It will be interesting to see which centre of power he will tackle next.

Biography

Name

Cyril Porchet

 

Born

1984

Education

designer HES en communication visuelle

 

also in

2010


 

Home page

www.cyrilporchet.com

Archiv
laufendes Jahr

Cyril Porchet

'Meetings'
© Cyril Porchet

'Meetings'
© Cyril Porchet

'Meetings'
© Cyril Porchet

'Meetings'
© Cyril Porchet

'Meetings'
© Cyril Porchet

'Meetings'
© Cyril Porchet

'Meetings'
© Cyril Porchet

'Meetings'
© Cyril Porchet

Portrait
© BAK / Gina Folly

Overview

Kategorie

Fotografie

 

Werk

'Meetings', Fotoserie

Essay

Kirchen der Macht

Mit der Arbeit 'Meetings' zeigt uns Cyril Porchet eine Serie von Grossbildfotografien, von Messehallen oder Vortragssälen kurz vor Aktionärsversammlungen grosser Unternehmen.

Im Jahr 2010 gewann Porchet den Eidgenössischen Preis für Design mit 'Séduction', einer Serie von neun reich geschmückten Barockkirchen, welche die damalige und die zeitgenössische Gesellschaft des Spektakels und des Exzesses infrage stellt. Der Fotograf konzipierte mit 'Meetings' die Fortsetzung dieser Arbeit und befasst sich dabei mit der Aktualität. Dafür suchte er die heutigen Versammlungsorte der Macht auf. Frontale Aufnahmen zeigen die immensen temporären Strukturen, die für die jährlichen Versammlungen von UBS, Siemens, Novartis und weiteren Firmen aufgebaut werden.

Die Opulenz und der Überfluss barocker Kirchen werden hier kontrastiert durch Schlichtheit und Reduktion, was Transparenz und Ernsthaftigkeit seitens der Firmen symbolisieren soll. Mit einer analogen Grossbildkamera im Format 4×5 hat Cyril Porchet die Hauptelemente überbelichtet und erzielt damit einen Grad an Abstraktion, der die vorhandenen Strukturen in den Stadien zu skulpturalen, hell erleuchteten und ephemeren Formen wandelt.

Die Parallelen sind offensichtlich: Die Bestuhlung im Dunkeln, gleich den Kirchenbänken, die hell erleuchteten Leinwände, die anstelle barocker Altäre nun Umsatzzahlen und Leitbilder der Marken zeigen, und die Kanzel ist dem Rednerpult gewichen. Cyril Porchet ist es gelungen, seine Arbeit 'Séduction' auf intelligente und qualitativ hochstehende Art und Weise weiterzuführen. Wir dürfen gespannt sein, mit welchem Zentrum der Macht er sich als nächstes befassen wird.

Biografie

Name

Cyril Porchet

 

Geboren

1984

Ausbildung

Photographer

 

auch im Jahr

2010 2015


 

Webseite

www.cyrilporchet.com