Archives
Current Year

Cyril Porchet

'Meetings'
© Cyril Porchet

'Meetings'
© Cyril Porchet

'Meetings'
© Cyril Porchet

'Meetings'
© Cyril Porchet

'Meetings'
© Cyril Porchet

'Meetings'
© Cyril Porchet

'Meetings'
© Cyril Porchet

'Meetings'
© Cyril Porchet

Portrait
© BAK / Gina Folly

Overview

Category

Photography

 

Work

'Meetings', photo research

Essay

Churches of Power

In his 'Meetings' project, Cyril Porchet shows us a series of large-format photographs of the exhibition halls or lecture halls used to host the shareholders' meetings of major companies, taken shortly before the events begin.

In 2010, Porchet won the Swiss Federal Design Award for his 'Séduction' series, a series of images of nine elaborately decorated baroque churches which posed questions about the culture of spectacle and excess past and present. 'Meetings'continues the same theme, but for this new series the photographer looks at the current state of affairs, seeking the places where powerful assemblies are found today. In frontal pictures, he shows the immense temporary structures erected for the annual meetings of UBS, Siemens, Novartis and other firms.

In these pictures, the opulence and excess of baroque churches finds a contrast in a sleekness and reduction that is intended to symbolise the transparency and earnestness of the firms involved. Using an analogue large-format camera (4×5), Cyril Porchet has overexposed the principal elements, introducing a degree of abstraction. Through various stages, this transforms the real structures into sculptural, brightly illuminated and ephemeral forms.

The parallels are evident: seating which, seen in darkness, resembles church pews; brightly lit-up screens that show turnover figures and brand models instead of forming the background to a baroque altar; and the speaker's podium, which has replaced the pulpit. Cyril Porchet has succeeded in building on his 'Séduction' project in an intelligent way and to a high standard. It will be interesting to see which centre of power he will tackle next.

Biography

Name

Cyril Porchet

 

Born

1984

Education

designer HES en communication visuelle

 

also in

2010


 

Home page

www.cyrilporchet.com

Archives
Année courante

Cyril Porchet

'Meetings'
© Cyril Porchet

'Meetings'
© Cyril Porchet

'Meetings'
© Cyril Porchet

'Meetings'
© Cyril Porchet

'Meetings'
© Cyril Porchet

'Meetings'
© Cyril Porchet

'Meetings'
© Cyril Porchet

'Meetings'
© Cyril Porchet

Portrait
© BAK / Gina Folly

Overview

Catégorie

Photographie

 

Oeuvre

'Meetings', série photographique

Essai

Les églises du pouvoir

Dans son travail 'Meetings', Cyril Porchet nous présente une série de photographies grand format montrant des halls d'exposition ou des salles de conférence juste avant les assemblées d'actionnaires de grandes entreprises.

Cyril Porchet a obtenu un Prix fédéral de design en 2010 pour 'Séduction', une série de neuf églises baroques richement décorées, qui remettait en cause la société du spectacle et de la démesure, celle d'alors comme celle d'aujourd'hui. En s'attachant à l'actualité dans 'Meetings', le photographe donne une suite à son travail. Il a, pour ce faire, cherché où se trouvaient aujourd'hui les lieux de rassemblement du pouvoir. Les vues frontales montrent des structures temporaires immenses, créées pour les assemblées annuelles d'entreprises comme UBS, de Siemens ou Novartis.

A l'opulence et à la somptuosité des églises baroques s'opposent ici la sobriété et la retenue, symboles de transparence et de sérieux pour les entreprises. Avec un appareil analogique grand format 4×5, Cyril Porchet a surexposé les éléments principaux, parvenant ainsi à un degré d'abstraction qui transforme les structures élevées dans des stades en formes sculpturales, brillamment illuminées et éphémères.

Les parallèles sont évidents: les sièges dans l'ombre, semblables aux bancs d'église, les écrans éblouissants au lieu d'autels baroques, qui arborent le montant des chiffres d'affaire et les chartes des marques, ou encore la tribune substituée à la chaire. Cyril Porchet poursuit intelligemment le travail entamé dans 'Séduction' et le porte à un degré élevé de qualité. On se demande avec impatience vers quels centres du pouvoir il se tournera la prochaine fois.

Biographie

Nom

Cyril Porchet

 

Né/née

1984

Formation

designer HES en communication visuelle

 

aussi en

2010


 

Site web

www.cyrilporchet.com