Archives
Current Year

David Bielander

Corncob (pendant), 2008
© FOC / Anja Schori

Gentian (brooch), 2011
© FOC / Anja Schori

Dung beetle (brooch), 2007
© FOC / Anja Schori

Slugs (brooches), 2004 - 2011
© FOC / Anja Schori

Football (pendant), 2011
© FOC / Anja Schori

Tyre (bracelet), 2010
© FOC / Anja Schori

Python (necklace), 2011
© FOC / Anja Schori

Rat (necklace), 2010
© FOC / Anja Schori

Garlic (pendant), 2011
© FOC / Anja Schori

Tyre (bracelet), 2010
© FOC / Anja Schori

Python (necklace), 2011
© FOC / Anja Schori

Slug (brooch), 2004
© FOC / Anja Schori

Portrait
© BAK / Gina Folly

Overview

Category

Products and objects

 

Work

Jewellery

Essay

Decorative Things

David Bielander's creations are inspired by the everyday world, by things that have stayed with him or that come from the collective consciousness of our society. Once the object is placed on a person, it reveals its potential as a personal jewellery item.

This kind of ambiguity is an integral part of all his designs. In 2002, after training as a goldsmith in Basel, he completed his master's degree at the Akademie der Bildenden Künste in Munich under Otto Künzli. The influence of his teacher can readily be recognised - a rounded, many-faceted education expressed in a sure knowledge of materials and in skilled craftsmanship. His creations are distinct, to a certain degree, from traditional decorative art. They retain their function as ornaments, but the downright banal character of these everyday shapes is startling. A silver slug to be worn as a brooch? A bracelet shaped like a tyre? A necklace of wooden weisswurst?

The last of these objects is a good example of the way David Bielander works. The sausage elements are based on the armrests of Thonet's No. 14 Chair - not because the artist's intention is to create an homage to a classic design or because he happens to like the chair, but because the armrests possess precisely the correct shape and curvature. Bielander adds that the sausages were in fact always present in the chair, and that what he has done is to ‘liberate' them!

For the ‘Mistkäfer' (dung beetle) he again makes use of an existing shape: a steel teaspoon. In this case, nothing was cut away; instead, the whole spoon was transformed into a perfect dung beetle, complete with legs, wings and a proboscis, by cutting into and bending its metal. This is a process that we associate with magic tricks - but David Bielander performs it to perfection.

Where David Bielander is involved, nothing is as it seems. The artist free-associates objects, forms, colours and everyday scenes. He simultaneously maintains abstraction and sufficient simplicity, leaving us free to make our own interpretation. His decorative items, however, are always made to be worn, and to be becoming to the wearer.

Biography

Name

David Bielander

 

Born

1968

Education

Jewellery Designer

Archiv
laufendes Jahr

David Bielander

Maiskolben (Anhänger), 2008
© BAK / Anja Schori

Enzian (Brosche), 2011
© BAK / Anja Schori

Mistkäfer (Brosche), 2007
© BAK / Anja Schori

Nacktschnecken (Broschen), ab 2004
© BAK / Anja Schori

Fussball (Anhänger), 2011
© BAK / Anja Schori

Pneu (Armreif), 2010
© BAK / Anja Schori

Python (Halsschmuck), 2011
© BAK / Anja Schori

Ratte (Halsschmuck), 2010
© BAK / Anja Schori

Knoblauch (Anhänger), 2011
© BAK / Anja Schori

Pneu (Armband), 2010
© BAK / Anja Schori

Python (Halsschmuck), 2011
© BAK / Anja Schori

Nacktschnecke (Brosche), 2004
© BAK / Anja Schori

Portrait
© BAK / Gina Folly

Overview

Kategorie

Produkte und Objekte

 

Werk

Verschiedene Schmuckarbeiten

Essay

Schmucke Dinge

Inspiration für seine Kreationen holt sich David Bielander im dem Alltag. Dinge, die ihn seit Langem begleiten oder dem kollektiven Gedächtnis der Gesellschaft entstammen. Sobald das Ding am Körper einer Person platziert wird, offenbart es sein Potenzial als Schmuckstück.

Diese Doppeldeutigkeit ist allen Entwürfen eigen. Nach seiner Lehre als Goldschmied in Basel schloss er 2002 seinen Master an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste in München bei Otto Künzli ab. Unschwer lässt sich der Einfluss seines Lehrers erkennen, was sich in der Materialkenntnis sowie im handwerklichen Können einer vielschichtigen Ausbildung niederschlägt. Die Kreationen lösen sich zu einem gewissen Teil von der traditionellen Schmuckkunst. Zwar bleiben sie immer funktionierende Schmuckstücke, aber die geradezu banalen Formen aus unserem Alltag verblüffen. Eine Nacktschnecke aus Silber als Brosche? Ein Armreif in Form eines Pneus? Eine Halskette aus hölzernen Weisswürsten? 

Letzteres Objekt zeigt gut auf, wie David Bielanders Schaffen funktioniert. Die Wurstelemente sind aus der Armlehne der Thonet-Stuhls Nr. 14 entnommen. Dies nicht, weil der Künstler eine Hommage an den Designklassiker machen will oder weil der Stuhl ihm besonders gut gefällt, sondern weil die Lehne genau die richtige Form und Biegung aufweist. Bielander sagt dazu, dass die Würste immer schon in den Stühlen gewesen seien und er sie nun „befreit" habe!

Auch für die Brosche 'Mistkäfer' bedient er sich an einer bestehenden Form: einem Teelöffel aus Stahl. Hier wird allerdings nichts weggeschnitten, sondern der komplette Löffel wird anhand von Biegungen und Einschnitten zu einem perfekten Mistkäfer mit Beinen, Flügeln und Rüssel geformt. Eine Bewegung, die wir mit einfachen Zaubertricks assoziieren - von David Bielander in Vollkommenheit ausgeführt.

Bei David Bielander will nichts sein, was es ist. Der Künstler assoziiert frei anhand von Dingen, Formen, Farben und Alltag. Er bleibt abstrakt und zugleich simpel genug und lässt uns so in der Interpretation Freiheiten. Gemacht wird der Schmuck aber immer zum Tragen und gleichzeitig um die Trägerin oder den Träger zu schmücken.

Biografie

Name

David Bielander

 

Geboren

1968

Ausbildung

Jewellery Designer