Archives
Current Year

Gregor Huber / Ivan Sterzinger

'Modes of Practice', publication

'Modes of Practice', publication
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Modes of Practice', publication
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Modes of Practice', publication
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Modes of Practice', publication
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Modes of Practice', publication
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Modes of Practice', publication
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Modes of Practice', publication
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Modes of Practice', publication
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Modes of Practice', publication
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Modes of Practice', publication
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Modes of Practice', publication
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Modes of Practice', publication
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Modes of Practice', publication
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Modes of Practice', publication
© FOC / Anja Schori

'The Art of Design – Vol. II', publication

'The Art of Design – Vol. II', publication
© FOC / Anja Schori

'The Art of Design – Vol. II', publication
© FOC / Anja Schori

'The Art of Design – Vol. II', publication
© FOC / Anja Schori

'The Art of Design – Vol. II', publication
© FOC / Anja Schori

'The Art of Design – Vol. II', publication
© FOC / Anja Schori

'The Art of Design – Vol. II', publication
© FOC / Anja Schori

'The Art of Design – Vol. II', publication
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Music was my first love', poster serial

'Music was my first love', poster serial
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Music was my first love', poster serial
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Music was my first love', poster serial
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Music was my first love', poster serial
© FOC / Anja Schori

Portrait

Portrait
© BAK / Gina Folly

Overview

Category

Graphic Design

 

Work

Various printed matters

Essay

The Outsiders

Gregor Huber and Ivan Sterzinger - both of whom previously worked in different fields - have been running a graphic art firm together for twelve years. Gregor Huber studied media arts at the Zurich University of the Arts, whilst Ivan Sterzinger studied psychology, journalism and art history at the University of Zurich. For this year's competition, they have submitted their joint projects from the past few years: an edition of a newspaper, two books and three posters.

These projects are united by a commitment to design that is rooted, in the best possible sense, in the cultural sciences. This is shown in particular by the way the duo handle pictures. The business of implementing a design is inseparable from the tasks of considering, researching and selectively editing the content, and this was how the duo approached their assignment to create the concept and photo essays for a special series on methods and strategies in art, design, literature and music for the Rote Fabrik cultural centre in Zurich. From 2010 to 2012, "Modes of Practice" appeared in Rote Fabrik's 'Fabrikzeitung' publication in five instalments. Each individual instalment looked at a particular artistic method, with examples of its application and reception. The spectrum included William S. Burroughs's cut-ups, Jean-Luc Godard's editing technique and approaches to the use of the alter ego (that of JT LeRoy, for instance), plus processes of destruction in the works of Jean Tinguely and the technique of depicting dreams in the works of David Lynch.

Huber and Sterzinger were responsible for the design and the entirety of the illustrated section for 'Kultur digital - Begriffe, Hintergründe, Beispiele', a handbook of almost 400 pages produced by Migros Culture Percentage. They relieved the text-heavy character of the publication through adept use of impressive picture material. The insights into the media world offered by this book are supplemented by texts explaining various terms, strategically interspersed among the essays by the designers.

The small publication 'The Art of Design - Volume 2' was created during the run of the exhibition 'Prix Fédéraux de Design' as part of the larger event 'Art ou design?' at mudac, Lausanne, in 2009. Over its 200 pages, this book printed on Bible-type paper brings together advertising slogans that use (or rather misuse) the terms ‘design' or ‘art'.

The posters submitted to the competition were all created in a music context. And like all the works of Gregor Huber and Ivan Sterzinger, these posters show intelligent research of the subject matter and an intensive engagement with the pictorial language.

Biography

Name

Gregor Huber

 

Group name

Glashaus

 

Born

1978

Education

Designer FH, Studienbereich Neue Medien

 

also in

2009


 

Home page

www.glashaus.ch

Biography

Name

Ivan Sterzinger

 

Group name

Raphistory, Glashaus

 

Born

1977

Education

MA of Science

 

also in

2008


 

Home page

www.raphistory.net

Archiv
laufendes Jahr

Gregor Huber / Ivan Sterzinger

'Modes of Practice', Publikation

'Modes of Practice', Publikation
© BAK / Anja Schori

'Modes of Practice', Publikation
© BAK / Anja Schori

'Modes of Practice', Publikation
© BAK / Anja Schori

'Modes of Practice', Publikation
© BAK / Anja Schori

'Modes of Practice', Publikation
© BAK / Anja Schori

'Modes of Practice', Publikation
© BAK / Anja Schori

'Modes of Practice', Publikation
© BAK / Anja Schori

'Modes of Practice', Publikation
© BAK / Anja Schori

'Modes of Practice', Publikation
© BAK / Anja Schori

'Modes of Practice', Publikation
© BAK / Anja Schori

'Modes of Practice', Publikation
© BAK / Anja Schori

'Modes of Practice', Publikation
© BAK / Anja Schori

'Modes of Practice', Publikation
© BAK / Anja Schori

'Modes of Practice', Publikation
© BAK / Anja Schori

'The Art of Design – Vol. II', Publikation

'The Art of Design – Vol. II', Publikation
© BAK / Anja Schori

'The Art of Design – Vol. II', Publikation
© BAK / Anja Schori

'The Art of Design – Vol. II', Publikation
© BAK / Anja Schori

'The Art of Design – Vol. II', Publikation
© BAK / Anja Schori

'The Art of Design – Vol. II', Publikation
© BAK / Anja Schori

'The Art of Design – Vol. II', Publikation
© BAK / Anja Schori

'The Art of Design – Vol. II', Publikation
© BAK / Anja Schori

'Music was my first love', Plakatserie

'Music was my first love', Plakatserie
© BAK / Anja Schori

'Music was my first love', Plakatserie
© BAK / Anja Schori

'Music was my first love', Plakatserie
© BAK / Anja Schori

'Music was my first love', Plakatserie
© BAK / Anja Schori

Portrait

Portrait
© BAK / Gina Folly

Overview

Kategorie

Grafikdesign

 

Werk

Verschiedene Drucksachen

Essay

Die Quereinsteiger

Seit bald zwölf Jahren betreiben die beiden Quereinsteiger Gregor Huber und Ivan Sterzinger zusammen ein Grafikbüro. Gregor Huber hat an der ZHdK Mediale Künste studiert, Ivan Sterzinger an der Universität Zürich Psychologie, Publizistik und Kunstgeschichte. Zum diesjährigen Wettbewerb reichten sie Projekte der letzten Jahre ihres gemeinsamen Schaffens ein: eine Zeitungsedition, zwei Bücher und drei Plakate.

Gemeinsam ist den Arbeiten das inhaltliche, im weitesten Sinne kulturwissenschaftliche Interesse an der Gestaltung, insbesondere im Umgang mit Bildern. Die gestalterische Umsetzung geht einher mit inhaltlichen Überlegungen, Recherche und Redaktion. Für das Kulturzentrum Rote Fabrik in Zürich zeichnen die beiden in dieser Weise für das Konzept und die Bildessays einer Spezialserie zu Methoden und Strategien in Kunst, Design, Literatur und Musik verantwortlich. 'Modes of Practice' erschien im Rahmen der Fabrikzeitung zwischen 2010 und 2012 fünf Mal. Die einzelnen Ausgaben untersuchen eine bestimmte künstlerische Methode sowie Beispiele der Verwendung und Rezeption. Das reicht von William S. Burroughs' Cut-ups über Jean-Luc Godards Schnitttechnik bis hin zur Methode des Alter Egos (beispielsweise bei JT LeRoy), der Zerstörung bei Jean Tinguely oder der des Traums bei David Lynch.

Für das knapp 400-seitige vom Migros Kulturprozent herausgegebene Handbuch 'Kultur digital - Begriffe, Hintergründe, Beispiele' erarbeiteten Huber und Sterzinger neben der Gestaltung den gesamten Bildteil. Die textlastige Publikation wird durch den geschickten Einsatz von überzeugendem Bildmaterial aufgelockert. Der Einblick in die digitale Medienwelt wird von Begriffserläuterungen ergänzt, welche die Gestalter gezielt zwischen die Essays eingestreut haben.

Die kleine Publikation 'The Art of Design - Vol II' entstand als Beitrag zur Rahmenveranstaltung 'Art ou design?' im mudac, Lausanne, während der Ausstellung 'Prix Fédéraux de Design' im Jahr 2009. Auf je 200 Seiten stehen sich auf Bibeldruck-Papier Werbeslogans gegenüber, die die Begriffe 'Design' oder 'Art' (miss)brauchen.

Die eingereichten Plakate sind alle innerhalb der Musikwelt entstanden. Die Plakate zeugen, wie alle Arbeiten von Gregor Huber und Ivan Sterzinger, von der intelligenten Recherche zu Inhalten und einer intensiven Auseinandersetzung mit der Bildsprache.

Biografie

Name

Gregor Huber

 

Gruppenname

Glashaus

 

Geboren

1978

Ausbildung

Designer FH, Studienbereich Neue Medien

 

auch im Jahr

2009


 

Webseite

www.glashaus.ch

Biografie

Name

Ivan Sterzinger

 

Gruppenname

Raphistory, Glashaus

 

Geboren

1977

Ausbildung

MA of Science

 

auch im Jahr

2008


 

Webseite

www.raphistory.net