Archives
Current Year

Jan Abellan

'Grischa Lumnezia'

'Grischa Lumnezia'
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Grischa Lumnezia'
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Grischa Lumnezia'
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Grischa Lumnezia'
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Grischa Lumnezia'
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Grischa Lumnezia'
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Grischa Lumnezia'
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Grischa Lumnezia'

'Grischa Lumnezia'
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Grischa Lumnezia'
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Grischa Lumnezia'
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Grischa Lumnezia'
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Grischa Lumnezia'
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Grischa Lumnezia'
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Grischa Lumnezia'
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Grischa Lumnezia'

'Grischa Lumnezia'
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Grischa Lumnezia'
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Grischa Lumnezia'
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Grischa Lumnezia'
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Grischa Lumnezia'
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Grischa Lumnezia'
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Grischa Lumnezia'
© FOC / Anja Schori

'Grischa Lumnezia'

Portrait

Portrait
© BAK / Gina Folly

Overview

Category

Graphic Design

 

Work

'Grischa Lumnezia'

Essay

Tradition Meets Innovation

As the basis for his bachelor's degree project at the ECAL, Jan Abellan chose the woodcutting method used in the traditional timber joinery architecture of the Val Lumnezia in Graubünden. From it, he developed a typeface specially tailored to contemporary alpine architecture.

In his first experiments with wood, the young graphic artist used the original tools - a chisel and a hammer. Whilst the shapes of the individual letters are derived from the traditional woodcutting process, what they reflect above all is the rough mountain climate. The result is a typeface that intrudes into the three-dimensional world. Changes in the light alter the letters, exposing their whole form. The letters change with the weather and the time of day.

Jan Abellan's field of experimentation is the creation of letters that, rather than being defined purely by their line thickness and serif, can respond to the world around them. With the help of a digital 3D program, he has developed a mobile system of lettering that permits letters to be set into concrete façades. In the traditional woodcutting method, the thickness of the line depends on the depth of the cut; here, the breadth of the shadow, which affects the legibility of the letter, varies depending on the degree of recess. With an inspired mixture of innovation and tradition, Jan Abellan has brought a difficult and startling experiment to a successful conclusion. We look forward to seeing his inscriptions used in Val Lumnezia.

Biography

Name

Jan Abellan

 

Born

1986

Education

Graphic Designer


 

Home page

www.janabellan.ch

Archiv
laufendes Jahr

Jan Abellan

'Grischa Lumnezia'

'Grischa Lumnezia'
© BAK / Anja Schori

'Grischa Lumnezia'
© BAK / Anja Schori

'Grischa Lumnezia'
© BAK / Anja Schori

'Grischa Lumnezia'
© BAK / Anja Schori

'Grischa Lumnezia'
© BAK / Anja Schori

'Grischa Lumnezia'
© BAK / Anja Schori

'Grischa Lumnezia'
© BAK / Anja Schori

'Grischa Lumnezia'

'Grischa Lumnezia'
© BAK / Anja Schori

'Grischa Lumnezia'
© BAK / Anja Schori

'Grischa Lumnezia'
© BAK / Anja Schori

'Grischa Lumnezia'
© BAK / Anja Schori

'Grischa Lumnezia'
© BAK / Anja Schori

'Grischa Lumnezia'
© BAK / Anja Schori

'Grischa Lumnezia'
© BAK / Anja Schori

'Grischa Lumnezia'

'Grischa Lumnezia'
© BAK / Anja Schori

'Grischa Lumnezia'
© BAK / Anja Schori

'Grischa Lumnezia'
© BAK / Anja Schori

'Grischa Lumnezia'
© BAK / Anja Schori

'Grischa Lumnezia'
© BAK / Anja Schori

'Grischa Lumnezia'
© BAK / Anja Schori

'Grischa Lumnezia'
© BAK / Anja Schori

'Grischa Lumnezia'

Portrait

Portrait
© BAK / Gina Folly

Overview

Kategorie

Grafikdesign

 

Werk

'Grischa Lumnezia'

Essay

Tradition trifft Innovation

Als Grundlage für seine Bachelorarbeit an der ECAL wählte Jan Abellan den Holzschnitt der traditionellen Holzbauarchitektur des Val Lumnezia im Graubünden. Davon ausgehend entwickelte er eine Schrift, die speziell auf zeitgenössische alpine Architektur zugeschnitten ist.

Für die ersten Versuche am Holz bediente sich der junge Grafiker der ursprünglichen Hilfsmittel Meissel und Hammer. Die einzelnen Buchstaben der Schrift nehmen zwar die Form des traditionellen Holzschnitts auf, stehen jedoch vor allem in Bezug zum rauen Bergklima. Dabei ist eine Schrift entstanden, die den Übergang in die dreidimensionale Welt geschafft hat. Unterschiedlicher Lichteinfall verändert die Buchstaben und setzt ihre ganze Form frei. Die Buchstaben verändern sich je nach Wetterlage und Tageszeit.

Jan Abellan experimentiert in einem Feld, in dem sich die Buchstaben nicht mehr nur durch Strichdicke und Serifen definieren, sondern auch auf die Welt reagieren können, die sie umgibt. Mithilfe eines digitalen 3-D-Programms entwickelte er ein wiederverwertbares und mobiles Buchstabensystem, mit dem Buchstaben in die Betonfassaden eingelassen werden können. Wie im traditionellen Holzschnitt, wo die Strichdicke von der Tiefe der Schnitzerei abhängt, variiert die Einbuchtung den Umfang des Schattens, was für die Lesbarkeit der Buchstaben wesentlich ist. In einer gelungenen Synthese von Innovation und Tradition gelang Jan Abellan ein schwieriges und überraschendes Experiment. Wir werden im Val Lumnezia nach den Inschriften Ausschau halten.

Biografie

Name

Jan Abellan

 

Geboren

1986

Ausbildung

Graphic Designer


 

Webseite

www.janabellan.ch