Archives
Current Year

Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Unfolded

Unfolded
© FOC / Anja Schori

Unfolded
© Laurenz Brunner

Unfolded
© Laurenz Brunner

Unfolded
© Laurenz Brunner

Unfolded
© Laurenz Brunner

Unfolded
© Laurenz Brunner

Unfolded
© Laurenz Brunner

Casco Issues

Casco Issues
© FOC / Anja Schori

Casco Issues
© Laurenz Brunner

Casco Issues
© Laurenz Brunner

Casco Issues
© Laurenz Brunner

Casco Issues
© Laurenz Brunner

Casco Issues
© Laurenz Brunner

Casco Issues
© Laurenz Brunner

Casco Issues
© Laurenz Brunner

Casco Issues
© Laurenz Brunner

Casco Issues
© Laurenz Brunner

Casco Issues
© Laurenz Brunner

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© FOC / Anja Schori

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© Laurenz Brunner

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© Laurenz Brunner

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© FOC / Anja Schori

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© Laurenz Brunner

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© Laurenz Brunner

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© FOC / Anja Schori

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© FOC / Anja Schori

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© FOC / Anja Schori

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© FOC / Anja Schori

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© Laurenz Brunner

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© Laurenz Brunner

Portrait

Portrait
© BAK / Gina Folly

Overview

Category

Graphic Design

 

Work

Various publications

Essay

On the Laurenz Brunner Style

Laurenz Brunner has now won the Swiss Federal Design Award for the second time, having previously done so in 2006. This year, he submitted projects from the past four years: one series of publications, two corporate design concepts and an exhibition catalogue. These commissions are all of a cultural character. Taken as a whole, they reflect the designer's complex approach.

Laurenz Brunner was given an extensive commission to create designs for every aspect of the Arnhem Mode Biennale fashion event - including a visual identity, an online presence and a distinctive typeface. The concept was based on the name 'Amber', used to denote a fictional figure who is a kind of abbreviated namesake of the Arnhem Mode Biennale.

In the case of the corporate design concept developed by Brunner for the Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen, the central image was not a woman, but an icon of the institution's home city: the Sankt Gallen bratwurst sausage. Since 2007, the sausage has appeared on placards, flyers and invitations, in a playful but never overly frivolous way. In the case of the invitations, the large-format reverse side was offered to local institutions, associations and firms gratis as a space for adverts, which were composed by Laurenz Brunner.

The graphic artist has collaborated with Julia Born to create a series of publications and a text for the Utrecht-based firm 'Casco - Office for Art, Design and Theory'. He received a Most Beautiful Swiss Books award in 2007 in a jury decision that recognised his skilful handling of typography and of a wide variety of material - the same qualities demonstrated by his recent Arnhem Mode Biennale publication.

It will be interesting to see how the 'Unfolded' catalogue is received. Created for an exhibition of works by photographers Maurice Scheltens and Lisbeth Abbenes, this catalogue is a collection of three-dimensional renderings that were created in parallel with the exhibition itself. They create unusual views and perspectives and shed light on the translation of spaces into two-dimensionality - a central theme for both photographers.

After studying in London (Central Saint Martins) and Amsterdam (Gerrit Rietveld Academie), Laurenz Brunner now lives and works in Amsterdam, Berlin and Zürich. The influence of the very different design traditions of England, Switzerland and Holland is revealed by the wide variety of projects handled by him and by his masterly implementation of them.

Biography

Name

Laurenz Brunner

 

Born

1980

Education

Grafikdesigner

 

also in

2006

Archiv
laufendes Jahr

Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Unfolded

Unfolded
© BAK / Anja Schori

Unfolded
© Laurenz Brunner

Unfolded
© Laurenz Brunner

Unfolded
© Laurenz Brunner

Unfolded
© Laurenz Brunner

Unfolded
© Laurenz Brunner

Unfolded
© Laurenz Brunner

Casco Issues

Casco Issues
© BAK / Anja Schori

Casco Issues
© Laurenz Brunner

Casco Issues
© Laurenz Brunner

Casco Issues
© Laurenz Brunner

Casco Issues
© Laurenz Brunner

Casco Issues
© Laurenz Brunner

Casco Issues
© Laurenz Brunner

Casco Issues
© Laurenz Brunner

Casco Issues
© Laurenz Brunner

Casco Issues
© Laurenz Brunner

Casco Issues
© Laurenz Brunner

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© BAK / Anja Schori

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© Laurenz Brunner

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© Laurenz Brunner

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© BAK / Anja Schori

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© Laurenz Brunner

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© Laurenz Brunner

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© BAK / Anja Schori

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© BAK / Anja Schori

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© BAK / Anja Schori

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© BAK / Anja Schori

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© Laurenz Brunner

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© Laurenz Brunner

Portrait

Portrait
© BAK / Gina Folly

Overview

Kategorie

Grafikdesign

 

Werk

Verschiedene Publikationen

Essay

Vom Laurenz Brunner-Stil

Nach 2006 gewinnt Laurenz Brunner zum zweiten Mal den Eidgenössischen Preis für Design. Dieses Jahr hat er Projekte eingereicht, die in den letzten vier Jahren entstanden sind. Es sind dies eine Publikationsreihe, zwei Corporate Designs und ein Ausstellungskatalog. Diese Auftragsarbeiten sind alle im kulturellen Bereich angesiedelt und widerspiegeln insgesamt die vielschichtige Herangehensweise dieses Gestalters.

Von der Arnhem Mode Biennale hatte Laurenz Brunner den umfassenden Auftrag erhalten, alles, vom Erscheinungsbild über die Onlinepräsenz bis hin zu einer eigenen Schrift, zu entwickeln. Das Konzept entwickelte sich rund um den Namen 'Amber', eine fiktive Personifizierung und sozusagen eine verkürzte Namensschwester der Arnhem Mode Biennale.

Für die Entwicklung des Corporate Designs der Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen stand nicht eine Frau im Mittelpunkt, sondern ein Markenzeichen der Stadt: Die Sankt Galler Bratwurst. Auf spielerische, aber nie anbiedernde Weise kommt die Wurst seit 2007 auf Plakaten, Flyern und Einladungen zum Einsatz. Auf letzteren wird die grossformatige Rückseite jeweils lokalen Institutionen, Vereinen oder Firmen gratis als Werbefläche zur Verfügung gestellt und von Laurenz Brunner in Szene gesetzt.

Für 'Casco - Office for Art, Design and Theory' in Utrecht hat der Grafiker in Zusammenarbeit mit Julia Born eine Publikationsreihe und eine Schrift gestaltet. Der gekonnte Umgang mit Typografie und unterschiedlichen Materialien wurde - ebenso wie jüngst die Publikation der Arnhem Mode Biennale - von der Jury der Schönsten Schweizer Bücher mit einem Preis ausgezeichnet.

Auf die Reaktionen zum Ausstellungskatalog 'Unfolded', den Laurenz Brunner im Auftrag der Fotografen Maurice Scheltens und Lisbeth Abbenes gestaltet hat, kann man jetzt schon gespannt sein. Der Katalog beinhaltet dreidimensionale Renderings, die parallel zur Ausstellungskonzipierung entstanden sind. Diese ermöglichen aussergewöhnliche Ansichten und Perspektiven, die das Hauptthema der beiden Fotografen, nämlich die Überführung von Räumen in Zweidimensionalität, reflektiert. 

Nach seinen Studien in London (Central Saint Martins) und Amsterdam (Gerrit Rietveld Academie) lebt und arbeitet Laurenz Brunner heute in Amsterdam, Berlin und Zürich. Nicht nur das breite Spektrum der Aufträge, sondern auch die selbstbewussten Umsetzungen reflektieren den Einfluss der unterschiedlichen gestalterischen Traditionen der Schweiz, England und Holland.

Biografie

Name

Laurenz Brunner

 

Geboren

1980

Ausbildung

Grafikdesigner

 

auch im Jahr

2006