Archives
Current Year

Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Unfolded

Unfolded
© FOC / Anja Schori

Unfolded
© Laurenz Brunner

Unfolded
© Laurenz Brunner

Unfolded
© Laurenz Brunner

Unfolded
© Laurenz Brunner

Unfolded
© Laurenz Brunner

Unfolded
© Laurenz Brunner

Casco Issues

Casco Issues
© FOC / Anja Schori

Casco Issues
© Laurenz Brunner

Casco Issues
© Laurenz Brunner

Casco Issues
© Laurenz Brunner

Casco Issues
© Laurenz Brunner

Casco Issues
© Laurenz Brunner

Casco Issues
© Laurenz Brunner

Casco Issues
© Laurenz Brunner

Casco Issues
© Laurenz Brunner

Casco Issues
© Laurenz Brunner

Casco Issues
© Laurenz Brunner

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© FOC / Anja Schori

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© Laurenz Brunner

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© Laurenz Brunner

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© FOC / Anja Schori

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© Laurenz Brunner

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© Laurenz Brunner

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© FOC / Anja Schori

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© FOC / Anja Schori

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© FOC / Anja Schori

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© FOC / Anja Schori

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© Laurenz Brunner

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© Laurenz Brunner

Portrait

Portrait
© BAK / Gina Folly

Overview

Category

Graphic Design

 

Work

Various publications

Essay

On the Laurenz Brunner Style

Laurenz Brunner has now won the Swiss Federal Design Award for the second time, having previously done so in 2006. This year, he submitted projects from the past four years: one series of publications, two corporate design concepts and an exhibition catalogue. These commissions are all of a cultural character. Taken as a whole, they reflect the designer's complex approach.

Laurenz Brunner was given an extensive commission to create designs for every aspect of the Arnhem Mode Biennale fashion event - including a visual identity, an online presence and a distinctive typeface. The concept was based on the name 'Amber', used to denote a fictional figure who is a kind of abbreviated namesake of the Arnhem Mode Biennale.

In the case of the corporate design concept developed by Brunner for the Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen, the central image was not a woman, but an icon of the institution's home city: the Sankt Gallen bratwurst sausage. Since 2007, the sausage has appeared on placards, flyers and invitations, in a playful but never overly frivolous way. In the case of the invitations, the large-format reverse side was offered to local institutions, associations and firms gratis as a space for adverts, which were composed by Laurenz Brunner.

The graphic artist has collaborated with Julia Born to create a series of publications and a text for the Utrecht-based firm 'Casco - Office for Art, Design and Theory'. He received a Most Beautiful Swiss Books award in 2007 in a jury decision that recognised his skilful handling of typography and of a wide variety of material - the same qualities demonstrated by his recent Arnhem Mode Biennale publication.

It will be interesting to see how the 'Unfolded' catalogue is received. Created for an exhibition of works by photographers Maurice Scheltens and Lisbeth Abbenes, this catalogue is a collection of three-dimensional renderings that were created in parallel with the exhibition itself. They create unusual views and perspectives and shed light on the translation of spaces into two-dimensionality - a central theme for both photographers.

After studying in London (Central Saint Martins) and Amsterdam (Gerrit Rietveld Academie), Laurenz Brunner now lives and works in Amsterdam, Berlin and Zürich. The influence of the very different design traditions of England, Switzerland and Holland is revealed by the wide variety of projects handled by him and by his masterly implementation of them.

Biography

Name

Laurenz Brunner

 

Born

1980

Education

Grafikdesigner

 

also in

2006

Archives
Année courante

Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Arnhem Mode Biennal
© Laurenz Brunner

Unfolded

Unfolded
© OFC / Anja Schori

Unfolded
© Laurenz Brunner

Unfolded
© Laurenz Brunner

Unfolded
© Laurenz Brunner

Unfolded
© Laurenz Brunner

Unfolded
© Laurenz Brunner

Unfolded
© Laurenz Brunner

Casco Issues

Casco Issues
© OFC / Anja Schori

Casco Issues
© Laurenz Brunner

Casco Issues
© Laurenz Brunner

Casco Issues
© Laurenz Brunner

Casco Issues
© Laurenz Brunner

Casco Issues
© Laurenz Brunner

Casco Issues
© Laurenz Brunner

Casco Issues
© Laurenz Brunner

Casco Issues
© Laurenz Brunner

Casco Issues
© Laurenz Brunner

Casco Issues
© Laurenz Brunner

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© OFC / Anja Schori

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© Laurenz Brunner

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© Laurenz Brunner

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© OFC / Anja Schori

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© Laurenz Brunner

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© Laurenz Brunner

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© OFC / Anja Schori

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© OFC / Anja Schori

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© OFC / Anja Schori

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© OFC / Anja Schori

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© Laurenz Brunner

Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen
© Laurenz Brunner

Portrait

Portrait
© BAK / Gina Folly

Overview

Catégorie

Design graphique

 

Oeuvre

Publications diverses

Essai

A propos du style Laurenz Brunner

Laurenz Brunner se voit décerner un Prix fédéral de design pour la deuxième fois après 2006, ayant soumis des projets qui ont vu le jour ces quatre dernières années: une série de publications, deux identités visuelles d'entreprises et un catalogue d'exposition. Travaux effectués sur mandat, ils relèvent du domaine culturel et reflètent la démarche polyvalente de ce graphiste.

La 'Arnhem Mode Biennale' a confié à Laurenz Brunner la responsabilité de reconfigurer et d'uniformiser tous les éléments de communication, de l'image de marque à la présentation en ligne. Le concept a été développé autour du nom d' 'Amber', une personnification fictive et comme un homonyme abrégé de 'Arnhem Mode Biennale'.

La réalisation de l'identité visuelle de la Kunst Halle de Saint-Gall, elle, n'est pas centrée sur une femme, mais sur une spécialité de la ville: la saucisse de Saint-Gall. Dans une approche ludique, mais exempte de platitude, la saucisse apparaît depuis 2007 sur les affiches, les dépliants et les invitations. Sur ces dernières, le verso grand format fait chaque fois office de surface publicitaire, mise en scène par Laurenz Brunner et gratuitement offerte aux institutions, associations et entreprises locales.

Pour 'Casco - Office for Art, Design and Theory' à Utrecht, le graphiste a développé une série de publications et une police de caractères en collaboration avec Julia Born. Le jury du concours 'Les plus beaux livres de Suisse' lui a décerné en 2008 un prix pour l'usage talentueux qu'il fait de la typographie et des différents matériaux - ainsi que, plus récemment, pour la publication de la 'Arnhem Mode Biennale'.

On attend avec impatience les réactions à 'Unfolded', le catalogue d'exposition des deux photographes Maurice Scheltens et Lisbeth Abbenes. Le catalogue contient des rendus d'images tridimensionnels, réalisés en parallèle à l'exposition, qui proposent sur celle-ci des points de vue et des perspectives insolites, une façon d'approfondir le thème principal des deux photographes: comment passer de l'espace à la surface.

Après avoir terminé ses études à Londres (Central Saint Martins) et à Amsterdam (Gerrit Rietveld Academie), Laurenz Brunner vit et travaille aujourd'hui à Amsterdam, Berlin et Zurich. Son travail reflète les différentes traditions graphiques de la Suisse, de l'Angleterre et de la Hollande, non seulement par la diversité des mandats, mais aussi dans leur mise en œuvre très maîtrisée.

Biographie

Nom

Laurenz Brunner

 

Né/née

1980

Formation

Grafikdesigner

 

aussi en

2006