Archives
Current Year

Ludovic Balland

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2011

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2011
© Ludovic Balland

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2011
© Ludovic Balland

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2011
© Ludovic Balland

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2011
© FOC / Anja Schori

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2011
© FOC / Anja Schori

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2011
© FOC / Anja Schori

Warschau im Umbau

Warschau im Umbau
© FOC / Anja Schori

Warschau im Umbau
© Ludovic Balland

Warschau im Umbau
© Ludovic Balland

Warschau im Umbau
© Ludovic Balland

Warschau im Umbau
© Ludovic Balland

Warschau im Umbau
© Ludovic Balland

Warschau im Umbau
© Ludovic Balland

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2009

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2009
© FOC / Anja Schori

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2009
© FOC / Anja Schori

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2009
© FOC / Anja Schori

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2009
© FOC / Anja Schori

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2009
© Ludovic Balland

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2009
© Ludovic Balland

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2009
© Ludovic Balland

Portrait

Portrait
© BAK / Gina Folly

Overview

Category

Graphic Design

 

Work

'Warszawa w budowie' (Warsaw under construction)

Essay

The Unique Craftsman

Ludovic Balland was awarded the Swiss Federal Design Award for his implementation of a visual communication concept for the art festival held annually by the Museum of Modern Art in Warsaw in 2009 and 2011. A variety of exhibitions, lectures and performances took place under the overall title of 'Warszawa w budowie' (Warsaw under Construction) - a reference to transformations in Warsaw's public areas. His communication strategy made use of a number of media: inserts, posters, billboards, flyers and the programme.

Balland's inspiration and key theme was that of change. The museum building is still under construction, whilst the city itself is experiencing a major upheaval. The intention was to make these two dynamics apparent as part of the visual profile and to reinforce the visual identity of the museum within the city, as well as telling a story about the situation.

To bring together the museum, the city and the festival, Balland decided to use a characteristic typeface based on the script used all over Warsaw for signage and traffic signals. The festivals of 2009 and 2011 retained their own distinct profiles.

Balland incorporated the planned new Museum of Modern Art building by the architect Christian Kerez into his graphic design for his first implementation for the concept. By projecting views of interior spaces (in the case of the lowercase lettering) and façades (in the case of the uppercase lettering) onto the letters, he turns them into witnesses to history. At the same time, his dynamic implementation brings together two languages - Polish and English - in a way that is effective in terms of design and context.

In his second design, an architectonic perspective was added to the script. The corner element provides a background for all the lettering and makes the script highly recognizable, thus ensuring that even in the newspaper inserts it stands out from the crowd.
Ludovic Balland has once more proved the quality of his work. With great sensitivity, he thoroughly thinks through the project entrusted to him, develops a compelling concept and implements it adeptly and with attention to detail.

Biography

Name

Ludovic Balland

 

Born

1973

Education

Graphic designer

 

also in

2003 2011


 

Home page

www.ludovic-balland.ch

Archiv
laufendes Jahr

Ludovic Balland

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2011

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2011
© Ludovic Balland

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2011
© Ludovic Balland

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2011
© Ludovic Balland

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2011
© BAK / Anja Schori

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2011
© BAK / Anja Schori

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2011
© BAK / Anja Schori

Warschau im Umbau

Warschau im Umbau
© BAK / Anja Schori

Warschau im Umbau
© Ludovic Balland

Warschau im Umbau
© Ludovic Balland

Warschau im Umbau
© Ludovic Balland

Warschau im Umbau
© Ludovic Balland

Warschau im Umbau
© Ludovic Balland

Warschau im Umbau
© Ludovic Balland

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2009

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2009
© BAK / Anja Schori

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2009
© BAK / Anja Schori

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2009
© BAK / Anja Schori

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2009
© BAK / Anja Schori

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2009
© Ludovic Balland

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2009
© Ludovic Balland

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2009
© Ludovic Balland

Portrait

Portrait
© BAK / Gina Folly

Overview

Kategorie

Grafikdesign

 

Werk

'Warszawa w budowie' (Warschau im Umbau)

Essay

Der einzigartige Handwerker

Ludovic Balland hat mit der Umsetzung einer visuellen Kommunikation für zwei Ausgaben (2009/2011) eines Kunstfestivals in Polen den Eidgenössischen Preis für Design gewonnen. Die Veranstaltung wird jährlich vom Museum of Modern Art in Warschau organisiert. Unter dem Titel 'Warszawa w budowie' (Warschau im Umbau) fanden verschiedene Ausstellungen, Vorträge und Performances statt, die auf die Transformationen im öffentlichen Raum Bezug nahmen. Die Kommunikation umfasste unterschiedliche Medien wie Inserate, Plakate, Billboards, Flyer und ein Programmheft.

Für die visuelle Umsetzung hat sich Balland vom Thema des Wandels inspirieren lassen. Einerseits ist der Museumsbau selbst noch in der Entstehung begriffen, andererseits erlebt die ganze Stadt einen starken Umbruch. Diese beiden Aspekte sollten im Erscheinungsbild sichtbar werden und die visuelle Identität des Museums innerhalb der Stadt stärken sowie über ihren Zustand erzählen.

Um einen Bogen zwischen Museum, Stadt und Festival zu spannen, hat Balland sich dafür entschieden, eine charakteristische Schrift zu wählen. Als Basis diente die Schrift, die in Warschau überall für die Signalisation und Schilder gebraucht wird. Die beiden Erscheinungsbilder des Festivals von 2009 und 2011 bleiben unabhängig.

Für die erste Umsetzung hat Balland den geplanten Neubau des Museum of Modern Art vom Architekten Christian Kerez in seine grafische Gestaltung miteinbezogen. Wie Zeitzeugen dienen die Buchstaben als Projektionsflächen für die Ansichten von Innenräumen (Kleinbuchstaben) und Fassaden (Grossbuchstaben). Gleichzeitig werden sich in einer dynamischen Umsetzung die polnische und englische Sprache gestalterisch und inhaltlich gegenübergestellt.

Für seinen zweiten Entwurf wird die Schrift um eine architektonische Perspektive erweitert. Das Eckelement dient jedem Buchstaben als Hintergrund, und das Schriftbild bekommt einen starken Wiedererkennungswert. Selbst Zeitungsinserate stechen so aus der Masse heraus.

Einmal mehr hat Ludovic Balland die hohe Qualität seines Handwerks unter Beweis gestellt. Mit viel Einfühlungsvermögen denkt er sich in die ihm anvertrauten Projekte ein, entwickelt ein stimmiges Konzept und setzt es mit Akribie und Geschick um.

Biografie

Name

Ludovic Balland

 

Geboren

1973

Ausbildung

Graphic designer

 

auch im Jahr

2003 2011