Archives
Current Year

Ludovic Balland

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2011

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2011
© Ludovic Balland

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2011
© Ludovic Balland

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2011
© Ludovic Balland

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2011
© FOC / Anja Schori

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2011
© FOC / Anja Schori

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2011
© FOC / Anja Schori

Warschau im Umbau

Warschau im Umbau
© FOC / Anja Schori

Warschau im Umbau
© Ludovic Balland

Warschau im Umbau
© Ludovic Balland

Warschau im Umbau
© Ludovic Balland

Warschau im Umbau
© Ludovic Balland

Warschau im Umbau
© Ludovic Balland

Warschau im Umbau
© Ludovic Balland

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2009

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2009
© FOC / Anja Schori

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2009
© FOC / Anja Schori

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2009
© FOC / Anja Schori

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2009
© FOC / Anja Schori

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2009
© Ludovic Balland

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2009
© Ludovic Balland

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2009
© Ludovic Balland

Portrait

Portrait
© BAK / Gina Folly

Overview

Category

Graphic Design

 

Work

'Warszawa w budowie' (Warsaw under construction)

Essay

The Unique Craftsman

Ludovic Balland was awarded the Swiss Federal Design Award for his implementation of a visual communication concept for the art festival held annually by the Museum of Modern Art in Warsaw in 2009 and 2011. A variety of exhibitions, lectures and performances took place under the overall title of 'Warszawa w budowie' (Warsaw under Construction) - a reference to transformations in Warsaw's public areas. His communication strategy made use of a number of media: inserts, posters, billboards, flyers and the programme.

Balland's inspiration and key theme was that of change. The museum building is still under construction, whilst the city itself is experiencing a major upheaval. The intention was to make these two dynamics apparent as part of the visual profile and to reinforce the visual identity of the museum within the city, as well as telling a story about the situation.

To bring together the museum, the city and the festival, Balland decided to use a characteristic typeface based on the script used all over Warsaw for signage and traffic signals. The festivals of 2009 and 2011 retained their own distinct profiles.

Balland incorporated the planned new Museum of Modern Art building by the architect Christian Kerez into his graphic design for his first implementation for the concept. By projecting views of interior spaces (in the case of the lowercase lettering) and façades (in the case of the uppercase lettering) onto the letters, he turns them into witnesses to history. At the same time, his dynamic implementation brings together two languages - Polish and English - in a way that is effective in terms of design and context.

In his second design, an architectonic perspective was added to the script. The corner element provides a background for all the lettering and makes the script highly recognizable, thus ensuring that even in the newspaper inserts it stands out from the crowd.
Ludovic Balland has once more proved the quality of his work. With great sensitivity, he thoroughly thinks through the project entrusted to him, develops a compelling concept and implements it adeptly and with attention to detail.

Biography

Name

Ludovic Balland

 

Born

1973

Education

Graphic designer

 

also in

2003 2011


 

Home page

www.ludovic-balland.ch

Archives
Année courante

Ludovic Balland

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2011

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2011
© Ludovic Balland

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2011
© Ludovic Balland

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2011
© Ludovic Balland

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2011
© OFC / Anja Schori

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2011
© OFC / Anja Schori

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2011
© OFC / Anja Schori

Warschau im Umbau

Warschau im Umbau
© OFC / Anja Schori

Warschau im Umbau
© Ludovic Balland

Warschau im Umbau
© Ludovic Balland

Warschau im Umbau
© Ludovic Balland

Warschau im Umbau
© Ludovic Balland

Warschau im Umbau
© Ludovic Balland

Warschau im Umbau
© Ludovic Balland

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2009

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2009
© OFC / Anja Schori

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2009
© OFC / Anja Schori

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2009
© OFC / Anja Schori

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2009
© OFC / Anja Schori

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2009
© Ludovic Balland

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2009
© Ludovic Balland

‘Warsaw im Umbau‘ Festival 2009
© Ludovic Balland

Portrait

Portrait
© BAK / Gina Folly

Overview

Catégorie

Design graphique

 

Oeuvre

'Warszawa w budowie' (Varsovie en rénovation)

Essai

Un singulier artisan

Un Prix fédéral de design est attribué à Ludovic Balland pour avoir réalisé la communication visuelle de deux éditions (2009/2011) d'un festival d'art organisé tous les ans par le Museum of Modern Art de Varsovie. Sous le titre 'Warszawa w budowie' (Varsovie en rénovation) ont eu lieu diverses expositions, conférences et performances en relation avec les mutations de l'espace public. La communication se composait de différents médias: annonces publicitaires, affiches, panneaux, prospectus et programme.
Le concept visuel de Ludovic Balland s'est inspiré du thème de la transformation: d'une part, le bâtiment du musée est lui-même en construction, d'autre part, la ville entière subit de profonds bouleversements. Il fallait que transparaissent ces deux aspects pour affermir l'identité visuelle du musée dans la ville tout en reflétant sa situation.

Pour établir un lien entre le musée, la ville et le festival, Ludovic Balland a décidé de choisir une police de caractères originale, inspirée de la police utilisée par Varsovie pour sa signalisation et ses panneaux. Les deux identités visuelles du festival, celle de 2009 et celle de 2011, sont traitées séparément.

Pour la première, Ludovic Balland a intégré le projet du nouveau 'Museum of Modern Art', dessiné par l'architecte Christian Kerez, dans sa conception graphique. Semblables à des témoins de leur époque, les lettres servent d'écran où sont projetées les vues des espaces intérieurs (minuscules) et des façades (majuscules). En même temps, la réalisation dynamique fait se côtoyer l'anglais et le polonais dans la forme et l'énoncé.

Pour son second projet, les caractères se complètent d'une dimension architectonique. L'élément d'angle sert de fond à chaque lettre, conférant à la composition typographique une forte valeur de reconnaissance. Même les annonces placées dans les journaux se distinguent de la masse et sautent aux yeux.

Une fois de plus, Ludovic Balland fait la preuve de l'excellence de son savoir-faire. Sa faculté d'empathie lui permet de s'engager dans les projets qui lui sont confiés, de développer des concepts adaptés et de les mettre en œuvre avec précision et talent.

Biographie

Nom

Ludovic Balland

 

Né/née

1973

Formation

Graphic designer

 

aussi en

2003 2011