Archives
Current Year

David Mamie / Nicola Todeschini

Poster series for 'Le KAB de l'Usine' (2010/2011)
© FOC / Anja Schori

Poster series for 'Le KAB de l'Usine' (2010/2011)
© David Mamie / Nicola Todeschini

Poster series for 'Le KAB de l'Usine' (2010/2011)
© David Mamie / Nicola Todeschini

Poster series for 'Le KAB de l'Usine' (2010/2011)
© David Mamie / Nicola Todeschini

Poster series for 'Le KAB de l'Usine' (2010/2011)
© David Mamie / Nicola Todeschini

Poster series for 'Le KAB de l'Usine' (2010/2011)
© FOC / Anja Schori

© David Mamie / Nicola Todeschini

© David Mamie / Nicola Todeschini

© David Mamie / Nicola Todeschini

© David Mamie / Nicola Todeschini

Poster series for 'Le KAB de l'Usine' (2010/2011)
© David Mamie / Nicola Todeschini

Portrait
© BAK / Gina Folly

Overview

Category

Graphic Design

 

Work

Poster series for 'Le KAB de l'Usine', Geneva (2010/2011)

Essay

Le plus FAB pour l’Usine

David Mamie and Nicola Todeschini have worked on both individual and common projects in a shared studio since 2009. For their competition entry, they submitted a series of posters which they had designed for the concert production company 'Le KAB de l'Usine' in 2010 and 2011. 'Le KAB' has been organising appearances by Swiss and international bands at the Usine venue in Geneva, a hub of alternative culture, since 1989.

The fact that Mamie and Todeschini have been regular attendees of 'Le KAB's concerts for years may be one reason why the organising company gave them carte blanche in designing its communication materials. The budget was limited, and the flyers and small-scale postcards were therefore produced using laser printing. This economical production process, however, is supplemented in individual cases by A1 format silk-screen prints. These special editions, released ahead of certain concerts, emphasise the unique character of the artists who are appearing.

The commissions from 'Le KAB de l'Usine' presented the two graphic artists with an ideal opportunity. Free of restrictions and constraints, they have created a highly recognizable visual language whose vocabulary consists of striking typography, dynamic sequencing and a monochrome colour palette. In spite of their playful and masterly handling of the design elements, Mamie and Todeschini ensure that the significant information can be easily grasped by the reader.

Biography

Name

David Mamie

 

Born

1975

Education

Graphic Designer

 

also in

2015


Biography

Name

Nicola Todeschini

 

Born

1978

Education

Graphic Designer

Archiv
laufendes Jahr

David Mamie / Nicola Todeschini

Plakatserie für 'Le KAB de l'Usine' (2010/2011)
© BAK / Anja Schori

Plakatserie für 'Le KAB de l'Usine' (2010/2011)
© David Mamie / Nicola Todeschini

Plakatserie für 'Le KAB de l'Usine' (2010/2011)
© David Mamie / Nicola Todeschini

Plakatserie für 'Le KAB de l'Usine' (2010/2011)
© David Mamie / Nicola Todeschini

Plakatserie für 'Le KAB de l'Usine' (2010/2011)
© David Mamie / Nicola Todeschini

Plakatserie für 'Le KAB de l'Usine' (2010/2011)
© BAK / Anja Schori

© David Mamie / Nicola Todeschini

© David Mamie / Nicola Todeschini

© David Mamie / Nicola Todeschini

© David Mamie / Nicola Todeschini

Plakatserie für 'Le KAB de l'Usine' (2010/2011)
© David Mamie / Nicola Todeschini

Portrait
© BAK / Gina Folly

Overview

Kategorie

Grafikdesign

 

Werk

Plakatserie für 'Le KAB de l'Usine', Genf (2010/2011)

Essay

Le plus FAB pour l’Usine

David Mamie und Nicola Todeschini teilen seit 2009 ein Atelier, in dem sie sowohl an individuellen wie auch gemeinsamen Projekten arbeiten. In den Wettbewerb eingereicht haben sie eine Plakatserie, die sie von 2010 bis 2011 für den Konzertveranstalter 'Le KAB de l'Usine' gestaltet haben. Seit 1989 organisiert 'Le KAB' Auftritte von internationalen und Schweizer Bands in der Genfer Usine, einer Hochburg für alternative Kultur.

Dass Mamie und Todeschini die Konzerte von 'Le KAB' seit mehreren Jahren besuchen, ist vielleicht mit ein Grund, weshalb sie vom Veranstalter für die Gestaltung der Kommunikation eine Carte blanche erhielten. Die finanziellen Mittel sind beschränkt, und die Flyer und Kleinplakate werden jeweils im Laserdruckverfahren hergestellt. Diese kostengünstige Umsetzung wird jedoch vereinzelt durch Siebdrucke im Format A1 ergänzt. Diese Sondereditionen unterstreichen die Einzigartigkeit der auftretenden Künstlerinnen und Künstler und werden anlässlich der Konzerte vertrieben.

Für die beiden Grafiker sind die Aufträge von 'Le KAB de l'Usine' ein ideales Spielfeld. Ohne Einschränkungen und Hemmungen schaffen sie eine wiedererkennbare visuelle Sprache, deren Vokabular aus markanter Typografie, dynamischer Sequenzierung und monochromer Farbwahl besteht. Trotz dieses spielerischen und selbstsicheren Umgangs mit den gestalterischen Elementen sorgen Mamie und Todeschini dafür, dass die wesentlichen Informationen rasch erfasst werden können.

Biografie

Name

David Mamie

 

Geboren

1975

Ausbildung

Graphic Designer

 

auch im Jahr

2015


Biografie

Name

Nicola Todeschini

 

Geboren

1978

Ausbildung

Graphic Designer