Archives
Current Year

David Mamie / Nicola Todeschini

Poster series for 'Le KAB de l'Usine' (2010/2011)
© FOC / Anja Schori

Poster series for 'Le KAB de l'Usine' (2010/2011)
© David Mamie / Nicola Todeschini

Poster series for 'Le KAB de l'Usine' (2010/2011)
© David Mamie / Nicola Todeschini

Poster series for 'Le KAB de l'Usine' (2010/2011)
© David Mamie / Nicola Todeschini

Poster series for 'Le KAB de l'Usine' (2010/2011)
© David Mamie / Nicola Todeschini

Poster series for 'Le KAB de l'Usine' (2010/2011)
© FOC / Anja Schori

© David Mamie / Nicola Todeschini

© David Mamie / Nicola Todeschini

© David Mamie / Nicola Todeschini

© David Mamie / Nicola Todeschini

Poster series for 'Le KAB de l'Usine' (2010/2011)
© David Mamie / Nicola Todeschini

Portrait
© BAK / Gina Folly

Overview

Category

Graphic Design

 

Work

Poster series for 'Le KAB de l'Usine', Geneva (2010/2011)

Essay

Le plus FAB pour l’Usine

David Mamie and Nicola Todeschini have worked on both individual and common projects in a shared studio since 2009. For their competition entry, they submitted a series of posters which they had designed for the concert production company 'Le KAB de l'Usine' in 2010 and 2011. 'Le KAB' has been organising appearances by Swiss and international bands at the Usine venue in Geneva, a hub of alternative culture, since 1989.

The fact that Mamie and Todeschini have been regular attendees of 'Le KAB's concerts for years may be one reason why the organising company gave them carte blanche in designing its communication materials. The budget was limited, and the flyers and small-scale postcards were therefore produced using laser printing. This economical production process, however, is supplemented in individual cases by A1 format silk-screen prints. These special editions, released ahead of certain concerts, emphasise the unique character of the artists who are appearing.

The commissions from 'Le KAB de l'Usine' presented the two graphic artists with an ideal opportunity. Free of restrictions and constraints, they have created a highly recognizable visual language whose vocabulary consists of striking typography, dynamic sequencing and a monochrome colour palette. In spite of their playful and masterly handling of the design elements, Mamie and Todeschini ensure that the significant information can be easily grasped by the reader.

Biography

Name

David Mamie

 

Born

1975

Education

Graphic Designer

 

also in

2015


Biography

Name

Nicola Todeschini

 

Born

1978

Education

Graphic Designer

Archives
Année courante

David Mamie / Nicola Todeschini

Série d'affiches pour 'Le KAB de l'Usine' (2010/2011)
© OFC / Anja Schori

Série d'affiches pour 'Le KAB de l'Usine' (2010/2011)
© David Mamie / Nicola Todeschini

Série d'affiches pour 'Le KAB de l'Usine' (2010/2011)
© David Mamie / Nicola Todeschini

Série d'affiches pour 'Le KAB de l'Usine' (2010/2011)
© David Mamie / Nicola Todeschini

Série d'affiches pour 'Le KAB de l'Usine' (2010/2011)
© David Mamie / Nicola Todeschini

Série d'affiches pour 'Le KAB de l'Usine' (2010/2011)
© OFC / Anja Schori

© David Mamie / Nicola Todeschini

© David Mamie / Nicola Todeschini

© David Mamie / Nicola Todeschini

© David Mamie / Nicola Todeschini

Série d'affiches pour 'Le KAB de l'Usine' (2010/2011)
© David Mamie / Nicola Todeschini

Portrait
© BAK / Gina Folly

Overview

Catégorie

Design graphique

 

Oeuvre

Série d'affiches pour 'Le KAB de l'Usine', Genève (2010/2011)

Essai

Le plus FAB pour l’Usine

David Mamie et Nicola Todeschini partagent depuis 2009 un atelier dans lequel ils développent leurs projets, individuels et collectifs. Ils ont présenté au concours une série d'affiches réalisées entre 2010 et 2011 pour l'organisateur de concerts 'Le KAB de l'Usine'. Depuis 1989 le 'KAB' se charge de faire venir des groupes de Suisse et du monde entier dans l'Usine genevoise, haut-lieu de la culture alternative.

Que Mamie et Todeschini assistent aux concerts du 'KAB' depuis plusieurs années explique peut-être que l'organisateur leur ait laissé carte blanche pour en élaborer la communication. Les moyens financiers sont restreints, et les dépliants ou petites affiches sont imprimés sur système laser. De temps à autre, ce mode de réalisation bon marché est toutefois complété par la sérigraphie, au format A1. Ces éditions spéciales soulignent l'originalité des artistes qui se produisent et sont distribuées à l'occasion des concerts.

Pour les deux graphistes, les commandes du 'KAB' constituent un terrain de jeu idéal. Ils créent, sans restrictions et sans inhibitions, un langage visuel reconnaissable à la typographie caractéristique, à l'ordonnancement dynamique et au vocabulaire monochrome. Le traitement ludique et assuré qu'ils réservent à tous ces éléments graphiques n'empêche pas Mamie et Todeschini de veiller à ce que les informations les plus importantes soient immédiatement intelligibles.

Biographie

Nom

David Mamie

 

Né/née

1975

Formation

Graphic Designer

 

aussi en

2015


Biographie

Nom

Nicola Todeschini

 

Né/née

1978

Formation

Graphic Designer