Archives
Current Year

Nicolas Le Moigne

© FOC / Studio Roth&Maerchy

Shelving system ‘Alps Express’
© FOC / Anja Schori

Shelving system ‘Alps Express’
© FOC / Anja Schori

Shelving system ‘Alps Express’
© Nicolas Le Moigne

Shelving system ‘Alps Express’
© Nicolas Le Moigne

Shelving system ‘Alps Express’
© Nicolas Le Moigne

Shelving system ‘Alps Express’
© Nicolas Le Moigne

Shelving system ‘Alps Express’
© Nicolas Le Moigne

Shelving system ‘Alps Express’
© Nicolas Le Moigne

Shelving system ‘Alps Express’
© Nicolas Le Moigne

Shelving system ‘Alps Express’
© Nicolas Le Moigne

Portrait
© BAK / Gina Folly

Overview

Category

Products and objects

 

Work

'Alps Express', shelving system

Essay

Lifeblood and Metal

The germ of the idea for the 'Alps Express' shelving system was planted when Lausanne graphic designer Demian Conrad had the idea of bringing out a line of objects designed exclusively by Swiss designers. Conrad's first project for his Dadadum label of products was a collaboration with product designer Nicolas Le Moigne. The two quickly discovered their shared interest in ‘good old' Swiss furniture designs by figures like Willy Guhl, Max Bill and Ueli Berger and by manufacturers like Vitra, Lehni and Wogg. Conrad and Le Moigne quickly agreed that the storage system should be simple to produce and should permit a variety of functions.

Early on in the creation process, Nicolas Le Moigne had the idea of an article of furniture constructed from only one material which would permit different configurations by means of folding. A module had to be developed that would ensure the necessary robustness and stability through simple horizontal and vertical folds. In his search for the correct proportions, the designer quickly progressed to 3D models constructed from cardboard and adhesive tape, which were also used to test the fold system. The designer chose Schätti metalwork in the canton of Glarus as best suited to ensure effective production. After the first prototypes had been assessed, the final decisions on materials, production and colour could be taken.

This is the second time that Nicolas Le Moigne has won the Swiss Federal Design Award, having previously won it in 2008. He has made a name for himself in the Swiss design scene over the past few years, and new products designed by him regularly appear in the Swiss specialist press. Some of his designs have been in production for a number of years and enjoy considerable popularity. In addition to the completed 'Alps Express' shelving system, Le Moigne submitted a detailed informational brochure on the product's design process to be judged in the second round of the selection process. This brochure reflects the designer's talent and shows the lifeblood that went into 'Alps Express'.

Resources

Shelving system ‘Alps Express’ (sketch)

Shelving system ‘Alps Express’ (sketch)

Shelving system ‘Alps Express’ (model)

Shelving system ‘Alps Express’ (model)

Shelving system ‘Alps Express’ (model)

Shelving system ‘Alps Express’ (prototype)

Biography

Name

Nicolas Le Moigne

 

Born

1979

Education

designer HES en design industriel

 

also in

2008

Archiv
laufendes Jahr

Nicolas Le Moigne

© BAK / Studio Roth&Maerchy

Regalsystem ‘Alps Express’
© BAK / Anja Schori

Regalsystem ‘Alps Express’
© BAK / Anja Schori

Regalsystem ‘Alps Express’
© Nicolas Le Moigne

Regalsystem ‘Alps Express’
© Nicolas Le Moigne

Regalsystem ‘Alps Express’
© Nicolas Le Moigne

Regalsystem ‘Alps Express’
© Nicolas Le Moigne

Regalsystem ‘Alps Express’
© Nicolas Le Moigne

Regalsystem ‘Alps Express’
© Nicolas Le Moigne

Regalsystem ‘Alps Express’
© Nicolas Le Moigne

Regalsystem ‘Alps Express’
© Nicolas Le Moigne

Portrait
© BAK / Gina Folly

Overview

Kategorie

Produkte und Objekte

 

Werk

'Alps Express', Regalsystem

Essay

Herzblut und Metall

Ausgangslage für die Realisation des Regalsystems 'Alps Express' war die Idee des Lausanner Grafikdesigners Demian Conrad, eine Edition von Objekten ausschliesslich mit Schweizer Designschaffenden herauszugeben. Die erste Zusammenarbeit für Conrads Label Dadadum entstand mit dem Produktdesigner Nicolas Le Moigne. Die beiden entdeckten schnell ein gemeinsames Interesse - das 'gute alte' Schweizer Möbeldesign von Willy Guhl, Max Bill oder Ueli Berger sowie von Herstellern wie Vitra, Lehni oder Wogg. Conrad und Le Moigne einigten sich schnell darüber, dass es ein Aufbewahrungssystem sein sollte, das einfach zu produzieren war und verschiedene Funktionen ermöglichte.

Schon früh im Entstehungsprozess hatte Nicolas Le Moigne ein Möbelstück im Kopf, das aus nur einem Material besteht und durch Faltungen die unterschiedlichen Einstellungen zulässt. Es musste ein Modul gefunden werden, das mit einfachen horizontalen und vertikalen Faltungen die nötige Robustheit und Stabilität bietet. Schnell ging der Designer zu 3-D-Modellen aus Karton und Klebestreifen über, um die richtigen Proportionen zu finden und um das Faltsystem zu testen. Für die effektive Produktion entschied sich der Gestalter für die Metallwarenfabrik Schätti im Kanton Glarus. In Anbetracht der ersten Prototypen konnten nun auch die letzten Entscheide zu Material, Produktion und Farbe gefällt werden.

Nach 2008 gewinnt Nicolas Le Moigne bereits zum zweiten Mal den Eidgenössischen Preis für Design. Er hat sich in der Schweizer Designszene der letzten Jahre einen Namen gemacht und ist immer wieder mit neuen Produkten in der Fachpresse vertreten. Einige seiner Entwürfe sind bereits seit mehreren Jahren in Produktion und erfreuen sich grosser Beliebtheit. Für die Jurierung der zweiten Runde des Eidgenössischen Preises für Design brachte Le Moigne neben dem fertigen Regal 'Alps Express' eine detaillierte Informationsbroschüre zum Entstehungsprozess mit. Darin widerspiegelt sich das Talent des Designers und man spürt das Herzblut, das in dieser gestalterischen Arbeit steckt.

Resources

Regalsystem ‘Alps Express’ (Skizze)

Regalsystem ‘Alps Express’ (Skizze)

Regalsystem ‘Alps Express’ (Modell)

Regalsystem ‘Alps Express’ (Modell)

Regalsystem ‘Alps Express’ (Modell)

Regalsystem ‘Alps Express’ (Prototyp)

Biografie

Name

Nicolas Le Moigne

 

Geboren

1979

Ausbildung

designer HES en design industriel

 

auch im Jahr

2008