Archives
Current Year

Noha Mokhtar

Photo research ‘Al Fassad / La Corruption’

Photo research ‘Al Fassad / La Corruption’
© FOC / Anja Schori

Photo research ‘Al Fassad / La Corruption’
© FOC / Anja Schori

Photo research ‘Al Fassad / La Corruption’
© FOC / Anja Schori

Photo research ‘Al Fassad / La Corruption’
© FOC / Anja Schori

Photo research ‘Al Fassad / La Corruption’
© FOC / Anja Schori

Photo research ‘Al Fassad / La Corruption’
© FOC / Anja Schori

Photo research ‘Al Fassad / La Corruption’
© FOC / Anja Schori

Photo research ‘Al Fassad / La Corruption’
© FOC / Anja Schori

Photo research ‘Al Fassad / La Corruption’

Photo research ‘Al Fassad / La Corruption’
© Noha Mokhtar

Photo research ‘Al Fassad / La Corruption’
© Noha Mokhtar

Photo research ‘Al Fassad / La Corruption’
© Noha Mokhtar

Photo research ‘Al Fassad / La Corruption’
© Noha Mokhtar

Photo research ‘Al Fassad / La Corruption’
© Noha Mokhtar

Photo research ‘Al Fassad / La Corruption’

Photo research ‘Al Fassad / La Corruption’
© Noha Mokhtar

Photo research ‘Al Fassad / La Corruption’
© Noha Mokhtar

Photo research ‘Al Fassad / La Corruption’
© Noha Mokhtar

Photo research ‘Al Fassad / La Corruption’
© Noha Mokhtar

Photo research ‘Al Fassad / La Corruption’
© Noha Mokhtar

Photo research ‘Al Fassad / La Corruption’
© Noha Mokhtar

Photo research ‘Al Fassad / La Corruption’
© Noha Mokhtar

"El Hob wal Melh / Amour et sel", die Videoarbeit von Noha Mokhar

"El Hob wal Melh / Amour et sel", die Videoarbeit von Noha Mokhar
© Noha Mokhtar

"El Hob wal Melh / Amour et sel", die Videoarbeit von Noha Mokhar
© Noha Mokhtar

Portrait

Portrait
© BAK / Gina Folly

Overview

Category

Photography

 

Work

Photo research 'Al Fassad / La Corruption'
Video 'El Hob wal Melh / Amour et sel'

Essay

An Intelligent Puzzle

Noha Mokhtar, a young native of Lausanne, has won the Swiss Federal Design Award 2012 for two projects: with the video work 'El Hob wal Melh / Amour et sel' and the photographic series 'Al Fassad / La Corruption'. The two projects also served as her graduation project - she graduated from the ECAL as a visual designer in 2011.

The video project was based on two observations: the television stands in the centre of every Arab living room - which is also the most important room in the house and the room where one receives guests and displays ones wealth. A great deal of care is generally taken with the interior decor of this salon. Every last detail of the grand furnishings and decorations is composed, in such a way that one is forced to ask whether anyone can actually live in such a room or whether it is simply a showcase.

The camera is trained on a scene showing on the television screen. An Arabian soap opera with historical and political overtones is showing. Subtitles help the viewer to understand the drama. A woman and a man are playing a scene in a grand, opulent space. The camera leaves the television, swinging to the right; the picture slowly changes from a fictional living room to the real living room in which the camera is located. The soundtrack and the subtitles continue as the camera slowly pans 360 degrees to show the furnishings of the room. This causes the line between reality and documentary to become blurred; it is easy to forget that the protagonists are not actually standing behind the camera, and that the scene is still simply showing on the TV.

In the photograph series 'Al Fassad / La Corruption', Noha Mokhtar looks at the interiors and exteriors of Egyptian society - its ornaments and façades - observing how Egypt presents itself to the outside world. The photographer juxtaposes film sets, new palace building sites and ruins in Cairo. However, this is not purely a documentary project: she mixes views of architecture with artistic pictorial compositions assembled from fabrics and patterns, with almost sculptural Kleenex boxes and plastic stucco. Both works give us a glimpse of an aspect of the Middle East usually hidden from us, and reveal that Noha Mokhtar knows how to assemble an intelligent puzzle.

Biography

Name

Noha Mokhtar

 

Born

1987

Education

Photographer


 

Home page

www.nohamokhtar.ch

Archiv
laufendes Jahr

Noha Mokhtar

Fotoserie ‘Al Fassad / La Corruption’

Fotoserie ‘Al Fassad / La Corruption’
© BAK / Anja Schori

Fotoserie ‘Al Fassad / La Corruption’
© BAK / Anja Schori

Fotoserie ‘Al Fassad / La Corruption’
© BAK / Anja Schori

Fotoserie ‘Al Fassad / La Corruption’
© BAK / Anja Schori

Fotoserie ‘Al Fassad / La Corruption’
© BAK / Anja Schori

Fotoserie ‘Al Fassad / La Corruption’
© BAK / Anja Schori

Fotoserie ‘Al Fassad / La Corruption’
© BAK / Anja Schori

Fotoserie ‘Al Fassad / La Corruption’
© BAK / Anja Schori

Fotoserie ‘Al Fassad / La Corruption’

Fotoserie ‘Al Fassad / La Corruption’
© Noha Mokhtar

Fotoserie ‘Al Fassad / La Corruption’
© Noha Mokhtar

Fotoserie ‘Al Fassad / La Corruption’
© Noha Mokhtar

Fotoserie ‘Al Fassad / La Corruption’
© Noha Mokhtar

Fotoserie ‘Al Fassad / La Corruption’
© Noha Mokhtar

Fotoserie ‘Al Fassad / La Corruption’

Fotoserie ‘Al Fassad / La Corruption’
© Noha Mokhtar

Fotoserie ‘Al Fassad / La Corruption’
© Noha Mokhtar

Fotoserie ‘Al Fassad / La Corruption’
© Noha Mokhtar

Fotoserie ‘Al Fassad / La Corruption’
© Noha Mokhtar

Fotoserie ‘Al Fassad / La Corruption’
© Noha Mokhtar

Fotoserie ‘Al Fassad / La Corruption’
© Noha Mokhtar

Fotoserie ‘Al Fassad / La Corruption’
© Noha Mokhtar

"El Hob wal Melh / Amour et sel", die Videoarbeit von Noha Mokhar

"El Hob wal Melh / Amour et sel", die Videoarbeit von Noha Mokhar
© Noha Mokhtar

"El Hob wal Melh / Amour et sel", die Videoarbeit von Noha Mokhar
© Noha Mokhtar

Portrait

Portrait
© BAK / Gina Folly

Overview

Kategorie

Fotografie

 

Werk

Fotoserie 'Al Fassad / La Corruption'
Videoarbeit 'El Hob wal Melh / Amour et sel'

Essay

Ein intelligentes Puzzle

Die junge Lausannerin Noha Mokhtar hat mit zwei Arbeiten den Eidgenössischen Preis für Design 2012 gewonnen: mit der Videoarbeit 'El Hob wal Melh / Amour et sel' und der Fotoserie 'Al Fassad / La Corruption'. Die beiden Projekte waren zugleich ihre Diplomarbeit, mit der sie 2011 an der ECAL als visuelle Gestalterin abgeschlossen hat.

Ausgangspunkt für die Videoarbeit waren zwei Beobachtungen: Der Fernseher steht im Zentrum jedes arabischen Wohnzimmers, und das Wohnzimmer selbst ist der wichtigste Raum des Hauses. Dort werden Gäste empfangen, und man stellt seinen Reichtum zur Schau. Der Inneneinrichtung dieser Salons wird meist sehr viel Aufmerksamkeit geschenkt. Bis ins letzte Detail sind die prunkvollen Möbel und Dekorationen durchkomponiert, und zwar auf eine Weise, dass man sich fragen muss, ob in diesen Räumen überhaupt gelebt wird oder ob sie blosse Inszenierung sind. 

Die Kamera ist auf eine Fernsehszene gerichtet, in der eine arabische Soap-Opera mit historisch-politischem Hintergrund läuft. Untertitel helfen dem Betrachter, das Drama zu verstehen, welches sich gerade zwischen einer Frau und einem Mann in einem opulenten Repräsentationsraum abspielt. Die Kamera schwenkt nach rechts vom Fernseher weg, und langsam wechselt das Bild vom fiktiven in das reale Wohnzimmer, in dem die Kamera steht. Der Ton und die Untertitel laufen weiter, und das Bild zeigt in einer langsamen 360-Grad-Drehung die Inneneinrichtung des Raumes. Die Grenzen zwischen Realität und Dokumentation verwischen sich, und man vergisst leicht, dass die Protagonisten nicht hinter der tatsächlichen Kamera stehen, sondern dass sich die Szene noch immer im Fernsehen abspielt. 

In der Fotoserie 'Al Fassad / La Corruption' setzt sich Noha Mokhtar mit dem Innen und Aussen, mit dem Ornament und der Fassade der ägyptischen Gesellschaft auseinander, indem sie beobachtet, wie sich das Land nach aussen präsentiert. Die Fotografin stellt Filmkulissen, Baustellen von neuen Palästen und Ruinen in Kairo einander gegenüber. Es handelt sich aber nicht um eine rein dokumentarische Arbeit. Die Fotografin mischt architektonische Ansichten mit künstlerischen Bildkompositionen von Stoffen und Mustern, nahezu skulpturalen Kleenex-Boxen und Stuckaturen aus Plastik. Noha Mokhtar versteht es, in beiden Arbeiten ein intelligentes Puzzle zusammenzufügen und einen uns wenig bekannten Blick auf den mittleren Osten zu eröffnen.

Biografie

Name

Noha Mokhtar

 

Geboren

1987

Ausbildung

Photographer


 

Webseite

www.nohamokhtar.ch