Archives
Current Year

Sabine Portenier / Evelyne Roth

Fashion collections ‘Croisière 11’ and ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)

Fashion collections ‘Croisière 11’ and ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© FOC / Anja Schori

Fashion collections ‘Croisière 11’ and ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© FOC / Anja Schori

Fashion collections ‘Croisière 11’ and ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© FOC / Anja Schori

Fashion collections ‘Croisière 11’ and ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© FOC / Anja Schori

Fashion collections ‘Croisière 11’ and ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)

Fashion collections ‘Croisière 11’ and ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© FOC / Anja Schori

Fashion collections ‘Croisière 11’ and ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© FOC / Anja Schori

Fashion collections ‘Croisière 11’ and ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© FOC / Anja Schori

Fashion collections ‘Croisière 11’ and ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© FOC / Anja Schori

Fashion collections ‘Croisière 11’ and ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)

Fashion collections ‘Croisière 11’ and ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© FOC / Anja Schori

Fashion collections ‘Croisière 11’ and ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© FOC / Anja Schori

Fashion collections ‘Croisière 11’ and ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© FOC / Anja Schori

Fashion collections ‘Croisière 11’ and ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© FOC / Anja Schori

Fashion collections ‘Croisière 11’ and ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© FOC / Anja Schori

Portrait

Portrait
© BAK / Gina Folly

Overview

Category

Fashion and Textile Design

 

Work

Fashion collections 'Croisière 11' and 'Croisière 12' (2011/2012)

Essay

A Declaration of Love for All Seasons

Sabine Portenier and Evelyne Roth have won the Swiss Federal Design Award 2012 for their year-round collections 'Croisière 11' and 'Croisière 12'. These collections are designed for women - with or without curves - who exude a certain self-confidence; this is fashion that is intended to convey a sense of freedom. Between them, the key items of the collections, which can readily be combined, meet the needs of all seasons. The designers feel that it is important to express a certain sensuality, but it is also important that this should not restrict the wearers of the clothes in their everyday lives. Instead, they should be able to go about their daily business with a confident, modern and timeless air.

'Croisière 11' is based on three basic cuts and consists of 25 different looks. In the design process, the first cut was always a back to front movement, like a sweeping embrace. The fabrics are placed on the body from behind, with the spine as the starting point for the composition. An embrace is also the aspiration for how it should feel to wear these clothes. Almost all the pieces have an accentuated seam at the spine, which breaks up the flat surface of the back and permits an elongation of the wearer's silhouette. Side seams are largely absent. The front and rear view are generally geometrical in shape, whereas the sides play with volumes and bring a certain energy into the design.

Experimental combinations interest the two designers more than the concept of 'seasons'. The idea is to tempt the wearer to try the so-called layered look. The collection does not contain any lined coats or jackets. By forming layers, the individual pieces from the collection act as lining or as an outer layer, always remaining visible to some degree. The materials are natural. Light cotton is combined with coarser materials, and prints, colourings and embroidery created by the designers are used to transform the light-coloured plain fabrics wherever possible.

Sabine Portenier and Evelyne Roth have travelled the globe to study different tailoring techniques, which provide the inspiration for their unique cuts. Their intention is to give more prominence to handcrafting in the future and to move towards increased in-house production. A factory is currently under construction close to their studio in Thun, with an adjoining shop for direct retail. It is to be hoped that this remarkable duo will meet with the same degree of success in the market.

Biography

Name

Sabine Portenier

 

Group name

PortenierRoth

 

Born

1971

Education

Fashion Designer

 

also in

2013 2014


Biography

Name

Evelyne Roth

 

Group name

PortenierRoth

 

Born

1978

Education

Fashion Designer

 

also in

2013 2014

Archiv
laufendes Jahr

Sabine Portenier / Evelyne Roth

Modekollektionen ‘Croisière 11’ und ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)

Modekollektionen ‘Croisière 11’ und ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© BAK / Anja Schori

Modekollektionen ‘Croisière 11’ und ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© BAK / Anja Schori

Modekollektionen ‘Croisière 11’ und ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© BAK / Anja Schori

Modekollektionen ‘Croisière 11’ und ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© BAK / Anja Schori

Modekollektionen ‘Croisière 11’ und ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)

Modekollektionen ‘Croisière 11’ und ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© BAK / Anja Schori

Modekollektionen ‘Croisière 11’ und ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© BAK / Anja Schori

Modekollektionen ‘Croisière 11’ und ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© BAK / Anja Schori

Modekollektionen ‘Croisière 11’ und ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© BAK / Anja Schori

Modekollektionen ‘Croisière 11’ und ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)

Modekollektionen ‘Croisière 11’ und ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© BAK / Anja Schori

Modekollektionen ‘Croisière 11’ und ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© BAK / Anja Schori

Modekollektionen ‘Croisière 11’ und ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© BAK / Anja Schori

Modekollektionen ‘Croisière 11’ und ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© BAK / Anja Schori

Modekollektionen ‘Croisière 11’ und ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© BAK / Anja Schori

Portrait

Portrait
© BAK / Gina Folly

Overview

Kategorie

Mode- und Textildesign

 

Werk

Modekollektionen 'Croisière 11' und 'Croisière 12' (2011/2012)

Essay

Eine ganzjährige Liebeserklärung

Sabine Portenier und Evelyne Roth haben mit den Ganzjahreskollektionen 'Croisière 11' und 'Croisière 12' den Eidgenössischen Preis für Design 2012 gewonnen. Diese Kollektionen wurde für Frauen mit und ohne Kurven entworfen, die eine gewisse Selbstverständlichkeit ausstrahlen; sie stehen für Mode, die ein Gefühl von Freiheit vermitteln soll. Einzelne Hauptelemente der Kollektionen sind für jede Saison geeignet und lassen sich problemlos miteinander kombinieren. Für die Designerinnen ist der Ausdruck von Sinnlichkeit wichtig, dieser soll die Trägerinnen im Alltag jedoch nicht einschränken. Vielmehr sollen diese selbstbewusst, modern und zeitlos anmutend durch den Tag gehen können.

'Croisière 11' baut auf drei Grundschnitten und besteht aus 25 verschiedenen Looks. Der erste Schritt bei den Entwürfen war jeweils eine Bewegung von hinten nach vorne, ähnlich einer festen Umarmung. Die Stoffe werden von hinten auf die Körper gelegt. So wird das Rückgrat zum Ausgangspunkt der Kreationen. Die Umarmung soll auch das Traggefühl der Kleidungsstücke ausmachen. Nahezu allen Stücken ist gemein, dass sie an der Wirbelsäule eine Naht haben, die akzentuiert wird und somit die Flächigkeit am Rücken bricht. Dies erwirkt eine Verlängerung der Silhouette der Trägerin. Auf Seitennähte wird weitgehend verzichtet. Die Vorder- und Rückansicht ist meist in geometrischen Formen gehalten, die Seiten spielen mit Volumen und bringen Schwung in den Entwurf.

Das Spiel mit unterschiedlichen Kombinationsmöglichkeiten interessiert die beiden Modedesignerinnen mehr als der Saisonbegriff. Die Trägerin soll dazu verführt werden, den sogenannten Schichtenlook zu nutzen. In der Kollektion gibt es keine gefütterten Mäntel oder Jacken. Die einzelnen Kollektionsteile funktionieren in den Schichten als Futter oder als Hülle, bleiben aber stets auf irgendeine Art sichtbar. Die Materialität ist natürlich. Leichte Baumwolle wird mit groben Materialien kombiniert, helle, unifarbene Stoffe werden nach Möglichkeit in Eigenregie mit Druck, Färbung und Stickerei umgestaltet.

Sabine Portenier und Evelyne Roth haben rund um den Globus Techniken aus der Schneiderkunst zusammengetragen und setzen diese in ihren einzigartigen Schnitten um. Sie möchten dem Handwerk in Zukunft mehr Gewicht beimessen und vermehrt auf Eigenproduktion zurückgreifen. Ganz in der Nähe ihres Ateliers in Thun ist eine Manufaktur im Aufbau, an die ein Laden für den Direktverkauf angrenzen wird. Möge diesem bemerkenswerten Duo auch auf der Plattform des Marktes viel Erfolg beschieden sein.

Biografie

Name

Sabine Portenier

 

Gruppenname

PortenierRoth

 

Geboren

1971

Ausbildung

Fashion Designer

 

auch im Jahr

2013 2014


Biografie

Name

Evelyne Roth

 

Gruppenname

PortenierRoth

 

Geboren

1978

Ausbildung

Fashion Designer

 

auch im Jahr

2013 2014