Archives
Current Year

Sabine Portenier / Evelyne Roth

Fashion collections ‘Croisière 11’ and ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)

Fashion collections ‘Croisière 11’ and ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© FOC / Anja Schori

Fashion collections ‘Croisière 11’ and ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© FOC / Anja Schori

Fashion collections ‘Croisière 11’ and ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© FOC / Anja Schori

Fashion collections ‘Croisière 11’ and ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© FOC / Anja Schori

Fashion collections ‘Croisière 11’ and ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)

Fashion collections ‘Croisière 11’ and ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© FOC / Anja Schori

Fashion collections ‘Croisière 11’ and ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© FOC / Anja Schori

Fashion collections ‘Croisière 11’ and ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© FOC / Anja Schori

Fashion collections ‘Croisière 11’ and ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© FOC / Anja Schori

Fashion collections ‘Croisière 11’ and ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)

Fashion collections ‘Croisière 11’ and ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© FOC / Anja Schori

Fashion collections ‘Croisière 11’ and ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© FOC / Anja Schori

Fashion collections ‘Croisière 11’ and ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© FOC / Anja Schori

Fashion collections ‘Croisière 11’ and ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© FOC / Anja Schori

Fashion collections ‘Croisière 11’ and ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© FOC / Anja Schori

Portrait

Portrait
© BAK / Gina Folly

Overview

Category

Fashion and Textile Design

 

Work

Fashion collections 'Croisière 11' and 'Croisière 12' (2011/2012)

Essay

A Declaration of Love for All Seasons

Sabine Portenier and Evelyne Roth have won the Swiss Federal Design Award 2012 for their year-round collections 'Croisière 11' and 'Croisière 12'. These collections are designed for women - with or without curves - who exude a certain self-confidence; this is fashion that is intended to convey a sense of freedom. Between them, the key items of the collections, which can readily be combined, meet the needs of all seasons. The designers feel that it is important to express a certain sensuality, but it is also important that this should not restrict the wearers of the clothes in their everyday lives. Instead, they should be able to go about their daily business with a confident, modern and timeless air.

'Croisière 11' is based on three basic cuts and consists of 25 different looks. In the design process, the first cut was always a back to front movement, like a sweeping embrace. The fabrics are placed on the body from behind, with the spine as the starting point for the composition. An embrace is also the aspiration for how it should feel to wear these clothes. Almost all the pieces have an accentuated seam at the spine, which breaks up the flat surface of the back and permits an elongation of the wearer's silhouette. Side seams are largely absent. The front and rear view are generally geometrical in shape, whereas the sides play with volumes and bring a certain energy into the design.

Experimental combinations interest the two designers more than the concept of 'seasons'. The idea is to tempt the wearer to try the so-called layered look. The collection does not contain any lined coats or jackets. By forming layers, the individual pieces from the collection act as lining or as an outer layer, always remaining visible to some degree. The materials are natural. Light cotton is combined with coarser materials, and prints, colourings and embroidery created by the designers are used to transform the light-coloured plain fabrics wherever possible.

Sabine Portenier and Evelyne Roth have travelled the globe to study different tailoring techniques, which provide the inspiration for their unique cuts. Their intention is to give more prominence to handcrafting in the future and to move towards increased in-house production. A factory is currently under construction close to their studio in Thun, with an adjoining shop for direct retail. It is to be hoped that this remarkable duo will meet with the same degree of success in the market.

Biography

Name

Sabine Portenier

 

Group name

PortenierRoth

 

Born

1971

Education

Fashion Designer

 

also in

2013 2014


Biography

Name

Evelyne Roth

 

Group name

PortenierRoth

 

Born

1978

Education

Fashion Designer

 

also in

2013 2014

Archives
Année courante

Sabine Portenier / Evelyne Roth

Collections de mode ‘Croisière 11’ et ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)

Collections de mode ‘Croisière 11’ et ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© OFC / Anja Schori

Collections de mode ‘Croisière 11’ et ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© OFC / Anja Schori

Collections de mode ‘Croisière 11’ et ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© OFC / Anja Schori

Collections de mode ‘Croisière 11’ et ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© OFC / Anja Schori

Collections de mode ‘Croisière 11’ et ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)

Collections de mode ‘Croisière 11’ et ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© OFC / Anja Schori

Collections de mode ‘Croisière 11’ et ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© OFC / Anja Schori

Collections de mode ‘Croisière 11’ et ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© OFC / Anja Schori

Collections de mode ‘Croisière 11’ et ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© OFC / Anja Schori

Collections de mode ‘Croisière 11’ et ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)

Collections de mode ‘Croisière 11’ et ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© OFC / Anja Schori

Collections de mode ‘Croisière 11’ et ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© OFC / Anja Schori

Collections de mode ‘Croisière 11’ et ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© OFC / Anja Schori

Collections de mode ‘Croisière 11’ et ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© OFC / Anja Schori

Collections de mode ‘Croisière 11’ et ‘Croisière 12’ (2011/2012)
© OFC / Anja Schori

Portrait

Portrait
© BAK / Gina Folly

Overview

Catégorie

Design de mode et de textile

 

Oeuvre

Collections de mode 'Croisière 11' et 'Croisière 12' (2011/2012)

Essai

Une aisance sensuelle en toute saison

Ce sont 'Croisière 11' et 'Croisière 12' qui ont valu à Sabine Portenier et Evelyne Roth un Prix fédéral de design. La collection, qui couvre l'année entière, a été développée pour des femmes avec ou sans rondeurs, plutôt naturelles et décontractées.  Quelques-uns de ses éléments essentiels se portent en toute saison et se combinent aisément, à l'image du sentiment de liberté qu'elle veut transmettre. S'il importe aux deux stylistes d'exprimer une certaine sensualité, celles qui portent les vêtements ne se sentiront pas pour autant empruntées; au contraire, moderne et intemporelle tout à la fois, c'est une mode qui leur permettra de se mouvoir avec assurance dans la vie quotidienne. 

Les 25 looks de 'Croisière 11' ont été développés à partir de trois coupes de base. Lors d'une première étape de travail, les tissus sont posés sur les corps d'arrière en avant, comme dans un ample mouvement d'enlacement - l'effet est voulu et doit se maintenir une fois la pièce achevée. Ainsi la colonne vertébrale constitue-t-elle le point de départ des créations, qui toutes ont à cet endroit une couture accentuée rompant l'aplat dorsal et allongeant la silhouette, tandis qu'il n'y a presque pas de coutures latérales. Le devant et le derrière présentent le plus souvent des formes géométriques, les côtés jouent avec les volumes et dynamisent la coupe.

Les deux stylistes s'intéressent davantage au jeu des combinaisons qu'à l'idée de saisonnalité, de sorte que la porteuse de leurs vêtements est invitée à faire usage des superpositions. La collection ne comporte pas de vestes ou de manteaux doublés, ce sont les couches qui font office de doublure ou d'enveloppe, mais leurs diverses composantes restent toutes visibles d'une manière ou d'une autre. Les matières sont naturelles, un coton léger s'associe à des éléments plus grossiers, des tissus unis clairs se voient retouchés d'impressions, de teintures et de broderies, si possible de leur propre main.

Sabine Portenier et Evelyne Roth ont collecté des techniques de couture un peu partout dans le monde, qu'elles appliquent dans leurs coupes très particulières. Elles désirent donner plus de poids à l'aspect manuel de leur métier et produire plus, à l'avenir, par leurs propres moyens. Tout près de leur atelier à Thoune, une manufacture se met en place, à laquelle s'adjoindra un magasin de vente directe.  On souhaite à ce duo remarquable d'être couronné de succès sur le marché aussi!

Biographie

Nom

Sabine Portenier

 

Collectif

PortenierRoth

 

Né/née

1971

Formation

Fashion Designer

 

aussi en

2013 2014


Biographie

Nom

Evelyne Roth

 

Collectif

PortenierRoth

 

Né/née

1978

Formation

Fashion Designer

 

aussi en

2013 2014